We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What lovely room!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
De Poort Country Lodge
Ranked #18 of 75 Oudtshoorn B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Bristol
Level 6 Contributor
181 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
“What lovely room!”
Reviewed 29 May 2013

This was fantastic room with lovely decor. It had gorgeous king size bed with a much needed heater over the door to warm the room. There was a small kitchen so we could do a brew! Shower lovely and hot. The home cooking in the evening and for breakfast was fantastic.
We travelled as a group and one 70 year old friend stated that he had had the best nights sleep in this lodge that he had had for 25years!!

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ExplorerBristol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

56 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    42
    13
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
30
10
Solo
0
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
England
Level 6 Contributor
153 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 April 2013

Lovely cottages set in pleasant gardens. The pool was in a garden location, an excellent spot for cooling off at the end of a busy day! The thatched cottages were large, with a small balcony area.

The home-cooked food was delicious and interesting combinations, which worked well. Ostrich steaks were tender and perfectly cooked, the carrots were cooked with star anise, potatoes with rosemary, green beans with a white sauce and crispy topping.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank damselflyspotter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Staffordshire
Level 6 Contributor
389 reviews
171 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 181 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 January 2013 via mobile

Situated a few miles from Oudtshoorn, this lovely lodge has beautiful rooms, a nice bar and the food was excellent. There are lovely walks and the bird life is stunning. A lovely relaxing place to stay

Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Staffsmartin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hermanus
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 January 2013

Not too far from the caves De Poort Lodge is a very nice place to stay at. The owners are very helpful, providing copies of maps without even being asked after checking where we were heading.

Room was very spacious, comfy and clean. Of course with the traditional thatch roof there is the occasional bug, spider or ant but that's just the way it is. The view was spectacular.

Breakfast was lovely, one of the best we had on our trip. I specially liked the buffet style as you can choose what and how much of it you like. Very fresh fruit salad!

The pool was also very welcome as it was very hot on the day we visited. It could be cleaner, I believe the pump didn't work but it was still totally fine for swimming and cooling down.

All in all very repeatable experience. Love to watch the birds in the garden. Very helpful and friendly people !

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank globe_watching
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reading, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 December 2012

We came as a group of six to this gorgeous place late one evening after a stressful day and delayed journey. We were warmly welcomed and shown to the most beautiful rooms we have ever stayed in. They were clean, comfortable, and there was incredible attention to detail. Breakfast was unbelievable! And we were well looked after by the owners who helped us to plan our activites - nothing was too much trouble for them! We would come back tomorrow!

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Littleyovo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 October 2012

Nestled in the hills, his was the nicest of the hotels we visited on our holiday withe explore worldwide. a nice welcome and very comfortable, but not luxurious rooms. The breakfast and brei were also lovely. Cycling back to the hotel was a holiday highlight.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank danberney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Germany
Level 6 Contributor
87 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 April 2012

The De Poort Country Lodge is located about 15km from Oudtshoorn not far from the Cango Caves . The rooms are spacious and clean with attractive furnishings. There are a few easy walks near the lodge or you can relax by the pool and watch the colourful birds flitting in and out of the trees.. A good location if you want to stay out of Oudtshoorn but be near to the Caves and Ostrich Farms. We were given a warm welcome by the owner.
There are lots of steps up to some rooms and dining room so may not be suitable for someone with disabilities.

Room Tip: The 1st floor rooms have huge vaulted ceilings and the views from the balcony are lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JWN1942
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Oudtshoorn hotels
7.9 mi away
Hlangana Lodge
Hlangana Lodge
#1 of 9 in Oudtshoorn
484 reviews
0.7 mi away
Old Mill Country Lodge & Restaurant
8.9 mi away
La Pension Guest House
La Pension Guest House
#2 of 75 in Oudtshoorn
521 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 mi away
Buffelsdrift Game Lodge
Buffelsdrift Game Lodge
#3 of 46 in Oudtshoorn
859 reviews
9.3 mi away
Earthbound B&B
Earthbound B&B
#3 of 75 in Oudtshoorn
538 reviews
4.7 mi away
Surval Boutique Olive Estate
Surval Boutique Olive Estate
#8 of 75 in Oudtshoorn
325 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to De Poort Country Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about De Poort Country Lodge

Property: De Poort Country Lodge
Address: R328, Schoemanspoort | 15 km from Oudtshoorn en route to Cango Caves, Oudtshoorn 6620, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Oudtshoorn
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 75 B&Bs / Inns in Oudtshoorn
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — De Poort Country Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your De Poort Country Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing