We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a great experience!”
Review of Adley House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Adley House
Ranked #29 of 78 Oudtshoorn B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 6 October 2010

We arrived late afternoon and were greeted by a very friendly girl who settled us in. Our room was large and equipped with everything you might need for the stay.
The bathrooms in particular were well kept and clean.
Having tea in the garden is one of the experiences I really liked. The garden is beautiful and has two swimming pools which is so nicely hidden, a babe with a big bottom like myself can easily enjoy.
The staff is very friendly and yes ... it is all true what I've heard about the breakfast ... it is truly unbelievable!
If you like old-world charm with modern facilities where you will be well fed ... then Adley House is the place for your stay.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank zoebasson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (107)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

71 - 77 of 107 reviews

Reviewed 4 October 2010

We have stayed at Adley House in Oudtshoorn before, the owners have upgraded the rooms in the main residence, and added two beautiful rooms to the house with large bathrooms and private garden areas.
The gardens are absolutely beautiful, with trees and flowers in full bloom. The place is as beautiful, and staff as friendly as ever.
We can recommend it for sure.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Australiantravelmate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2009

I did my booking with a 50% deposit. My dates changed and I asked them to accommodate me or give my deposito or just a part of the deposit back, but they refused.
Totally disappointed!!

Stayed: September 2009, travelled as a couple
1  Thank lovetravel84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 April 2009

We stayed one night at the Adley, the main house is lovely, we were in one of the seperate rooms which was nice although not as plush as the ones in the house. The service was friendly and the gardens lovely to lounge in with a beer after a long drive. They recommended Jemimas (great restaurant), gave us directions to the caves and breakfast was good.

  • Stayed: March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AAM_London
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 November 2008

We stayed at Adley House as part of a 14 day trip to South Africa. After a long drive we were very pleased when we pulled up outside Adley House as it looked very lovely. We were taken to our room which was within the main house and was horrified at the sight of it. Dark, dingy, 1970's decor, shiny bedspreads and a tired beige bathroom. The MFI wardrobe in the corner and the terrible oil paintings made my heart sink. The amazing breakfast as according to their advertising was a very pleasant but ordinary affair in an old fashioned dining room setting. and Hilda's homemade bread turned out to be a sliced loaf. We decided to check out as I couldn't stand the though of a second night here when all the other accommodation on our trip had been so fantastic. From the other reviews it seems the annex rooms are better but I would suggest to anyone going there please don't stay in the main house it is depressing.

  • Stayed: October 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank amoroc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 March 2008

Had a two night stop at Adley House, good accommodation spacious room and an extremely large bathroom. Some rooms are in the main building while others are around the outside of a courtyard area, which is where ours was. Lots of nice outdoor space to sit and soak up the sun or read a book etc. Good breakfast which can be enjoyed in the outside seating area, weather permitting. Overall a good place to stay.

  • Stayed: February 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jillpea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 February 2007

Oudtshoorn is an interesting area with a lot to do and to see.
The Adley House was a good experience. Nice staff and a large room with an amazing bathroom (marble), very clean and quiet.
They were very helpful with restaurants and advices.
A nice garden with blooming flowers all over and some chairs to rest.

Stayed: February 2007
1  Thank travelberlin60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Oudtshoorn hotels
0.1 mi away
La Pension Guest House
La Pension Guest House
#2 of 78 in Oudtshoorn
542 reviews
0.4 mi away
Riverside Lodge
Riverside Lodge
#1 of 50 in Oudtshoorn
329 reviews
0.0 mi away
Le Roux's Guest House
Le Roux's Guest House
#18 of 78 in Oudtshoorn
129 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Karoo Sun Guesthouse
Karoo Sun Guesthouse
#15 of 78 in Oudtshoorn
107 reviews
0.1 mi away
Miles B&B Guest House
Miles B&B Guest House
#17 of 78 in Oudtshoorn
145 reviews
1.1 mi away
Rosenhof Country House
Rosenhof Country House
#6 of 78 in Oudtshoorn
316 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Adley House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Adley House

Address: 209 Jan van Riebeeck Road, Oudtshoorn 6625, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Oudtshoorn
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 78 B&Bs / Inns in Oudtshoorn
Price Range: £66 - £121 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Adley House 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in 1905 by Sidney Herbert Adley during the 'Ostrich feather Boom period' 1880 to 1914. This magnificent Sandstone Victorian Homestead is situated on an acre of land in a quiet up market residential area near to the centre of town. Rated 4 stars by the S.A. Tourism grading council, it has 14 Air Conditioned, individually decorated rooms with T.V, tea and coffee facilities, Hairdryers, bar fridge and all the necessary amenities to make your stay most pleasant. Relax at our 2 pools in our well kept English Garden. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Adley House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing