We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“If you are disabled, AVOID. If you are able bodied, think twice”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Protea Hotel by Marriott Oudtshoorn Riempie Estate
Ranked #6 of 9 Hotels in Oudtshoorn
Reviewed 14 September 2012

I am a wheelchair user and booked a handicapped room. I checked with the hotel before we left England and they confirmed in writing -

I have received your e-mail. We have allocated you in a room with a roll in shower.

Kind Regards

Elmarie [--]

GENERAL MANAGER

When we arrived, we discovered that the toilet / shower room door opened into the en-suite and blocked access to the toilet. The 'roll in shower' required a ninety degree turn up a step then through a glass door and was impossible to get in with a wheelchair! My wife tried without me in the chair and failed.

We complained to reception and were told the room was the only one with a roll in shower. The duty manager was not available.

After dismantling part of my (standard size) wheelchair, my wife pushed me backwards into the en-suite, closed the door and pulled me nearer the toilet. She then had to climb over me so I could use the toilet. The sink was just reachable but despite trying very hard, there was no way to get in the shower. After a 6 hour drive, I really needed a shower.

The next morning, we met the manager who told us she was aware of the problem and had plans to make changes to allow better access. We told her that the hotel had emailed that a roll-in shower would be provided. She told us that she had sent the email! Elmarie [--] - GENERAL MANAGER

We were not given an apology or any offer of compensation.

I also want to comment on the meals. The evening meal was a buffet. Although we were there early evening, there was only beef available, no other meat.

Breakfast was also a buffet but this time we had a good choice. Service was dreadful, The staff were misserable. We felt sorry for them.

The bedroom was cold and noisy.

Thank goodness we were there for one night only.

Never again

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank rochesterhouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ElmarieGoosen, General Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott Oudtshoorn Riempie Estate, responded to this reviewResponded 17 October 2012

Goodday Sir,

Firstly please accept my sincere apologies for any discomfort caused during your stay.

It was not my intention to do you any harm. We had a lot of disabled Guests in that room before, without any problems. I have learned out of this, that we should know what the condition of the Guest is before placing them in that room.

I will do my upmost best to better the disabled rooms.

If you should travel to South Africa again, please contact me. I would like to offer you accommodation as soon as changes to the room has been made.

Have a lovely day!

Elmarie
Protea Hotel Riempie Estate

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (161)
There are newer reviews for Protea Hotel by Marriott Oudtshoorn Riempie Estate
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

118 - 124 of 161 reviews

Reviewed 8 July 2012

The hotel is very poorly equipped and very basic.
The rooms are cold and noisy bad the guests badly controlled.
My son stayed in with my wife and I and we had to continuously ask fir towels etc. We booked online at the supposed cheapest rate - at least $40 more than advertised at the hotel.

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank travelmatt79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 May 2012

This is a bit different to a standard hotel as you stay in cute thatched rondavels .Like many other reviewers we only passed through for one night, but the staff were very friendly and the restaurant food was very good. Immaculate grounds and setting, would have no problem staying again

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kerry O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 February 2012

I spent one night here with a group, and stayed in a chalet which was perfectly acceptable. The pool is small, but OK for a dip. Food was OK (ostrich was on the menu, of course, and was apparently very good), but a bit difficult to see as the restaurant was rather dark.

Stayed: January 2012, travelled with friends
2  Thank Worldtravellerxyz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 February 2012

We usually plan our trips well in advance, but we changed our itinerary at the last minute and end up in Oudtshoorn to find a place to sleep before visiting Cango Caves next morning.

Most of the nice guesthouse were fully booked because of weddings, or too expensive just to spend a night (1500 to 2000 Rands just to sleep the four of us).

So we end up at Protea Riempie paying less than 700R for a small and outdated room, but relatively clean. Kids had fun at the playing ground while we had a little glass of wine in the "back yard".

Since there's a restaurant on site, we decided to go the easy way and dine there. The staff was very kind and the food was OK. We were not expecting much, so we were happy to save a few bucks!

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank YULRUN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 January 2012

Stayed here for 2 nights and would have liked longer. Rooms are a bit dated but clean with good air con. 20 min. walk into town. Enjoyed the restaurant and the ostrich was perfectly cooked. Very helpful staff. Peacefull setting with beautifully kept grounds. Small pool, great for cooling off after a hard day at the caves & elephant park.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank rdv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2011

Visited the hotel twice already this year and when I went again for the 3RD time I sweared to myself I'll never go there again. The menu is always the same, they have a few options to choose from, they serve their menu with fried chips and bread always. NO Rice, Pap or Pasta, bread is boring to eat it day in and day out.

Their lunch packs are just awful, they taste like they were prepared in a paraffin filled kitchen.

OH MY GOD< Their rooms have fleas , where can you expect to be bitten by a FLEA in a hotel nogal.

Their boss lady is just NOT PROFESSIONAL she doesn't have a correct way or manner to address other people especially if you're from a different race.

I'll never ever book that so called hotel again, it doesn't deserve to be called a three star hotel, it's far from being that. It hasn't got any extra activities, if you need a gym or any other thing you have to go outside the hotel and do other activities.

The place is just plain boring to be honest.

Room Tip: Most rooms have broken Aircons and fleas.
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
4  Thank fezeka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Oudtshoorn hotels
0.2 mi away
Hlangana Lodge
Hlangana Lodge
#1 of 9 in Oudtshoorn
492 reviews
1.1 mi away
Turnberry Boutique Hotel
Turnberry Boutique Hotel
#4 of 9 in Oudtshoorn
304 reviews
2.1 mi away
86 on Langenhoven Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Queens Hotel
Queens Hotel
#3 of 9 in Oudtshoorn
344 reviews
15.1 mi away
Swartberg Country Manor
Swartberg Country Manor
#2 of 9 in Oudtshoorn
185 reviews
0.7 mi away
Oudtshoorn Inn Hotel and Conferencing Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Protea Hotel by Marriott Oudtshoorn Riempie Estate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Protea Hotel by Marriott Oudtshoorn Riempie Estate

Address: Baron Van Reede Street, Oudtshoorn 6620, South Africa (Formerly Protea Hotel Riempie Estate)
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Oudtshoorn
Amenities:
Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 9 Hotels in Oudtshoorn
Price Range: £52 - £86 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Protea Hotel by Marriott Oudtshoorn Riempie Estate 3*
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Protea Hotel Riempie Estate - A Cosy country atmosphere in a tranquil setting. Situated in a farm-like setting on the outskirts of Oudtshoorn, the Protea Hotel Riempie Estate is a charming hotel with well-appointed thatched rondavels, only 20 minutes away from the Cango Caves and moments away from the crocodile and ostrich farms for which Oudtshoorn is famed. Dine in the excellent restaurant and enjoy the best in country fare and hospitality. There are many facilities nearby; golf, squash, tennis, bowls and a gym. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Booking.com, Marriott, Hotels.com, Expedia, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Protea Hotel by Marriott Oudtshoorn Riempie Estate reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Protea Hotel Oudtshoorn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing