We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A budget hotel in the right place”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Protea Hotel by Marriott Oudtshoorn Riempie Estate
Ranked #5 of 9 Hotels in Oudtshoorn
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level 6 Contributor
251 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
“A budget hotel in the right place”
Reviewed 14 April 2013

Cute hotel and liked by most of my tourists. One day only.Staff helpful and alwyas there for you. Food is average, but it is hotel food. Plenty of restaurants in the area.Can be noisy, as you have roosters at 02h30, Osriches barking and the balloon flying over at 05h00. Value for money.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pzan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

159 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    30
    49
    58
    11
    11
See reviews for
38
61
9
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cape Town
Level 6 Contributor
134 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 April 2013

As explained by other reviewers, this is a combination of Protea Group standards with a country styled rondavel village layout. Everything about the hotel is OK, but not exceptional. Clean rooms with the usual trimmings etc..

The lush grass is an oasis in this dryish part of the world, and you constantly feel the pull to simply relax and unwind.

Good for a night or two, a safe option when you're unsure of other options in the area, and well situated for seeing the surrounds.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Judge404
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 24 March 2013

We stayed there for only one night but wish to return one day soon! Its situated a stone throw away from the Cango Caves, Ostrich Farm and the Cango Wildlife Range.

As you enter, there is lush green grass, the Rondevals are spaced out very well, the staff are friendly, they checked us in timeously. The room was very neat and comfy, the facilities such as the pool area and jungle gym are prime for kids!

Will recommend to anyone who wants to experience the attractions in Oudtshoorn :)

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank loveone82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 March 2013 via mobile

An overnight stay with our two small kids. Booking in was easy and a pleasure via email and telephone. Cute rondavel next to pool. TV reception was a bit fuzzy though. Did inform ahead of time of our young children so the enormously high single bed and very strange and low pull out type chair for them was disappointing. Space was limited I know but we are used to two double beds at the Proteas when we stay with the kids. They then share the one. Wi-fi access was provided very promptly and we opted for room service with kids again, which was OK. Breakfast was good and staff there were very friendly. Our last concerns was that we felt we couldn't enjoy the pool with the kids with our elderly neighbour sunbathing topless and our other neighbours partied loudly till all hours and at the pool, which didn't help when getting the kids to sleep or for ourselves through the night. Nonetheless, we would try staying again sometime.

Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank peLIPPSTREU
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level 6 Contributor
160 reviews
79 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 January 2013

Staff tries hard, phoned ahead to find out about arrival time and inform about specials. Well done, but on arrival A does not know what B does and there is obvious confusion. Some staff members read instructions before their shift, others did not. Rooms are ok, room no 25 is small. Would not recommand it if you have to stay longer. Noise travells well at this place. Breakfast buffet offered a wide selcetion and was ppened in time. Well done - specially in New Years Day!

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Frogy007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gulph Mills, Pennsylvania
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 December 2012

I was a bit concerned having read some reviews but found the property clean and well appointed (coffee maker, flat screen tv, desk, etc). The "rooms" are quite interesting - I was in a larger room than my friend and found that it was quiet albeit a bit cold even with the heater on as my room had higher ceilings than most. The bed was comfortable and front staff friendly to provide an adapter for charging. The location is fine if you have a car, as I was on a tour, getting to restaurants in town required a cab. The night I stayed the hotel restaurant was closed due to the local prom that was taking place there so I had to go to a restaurant in town. The buffet breakfast was filling and had many options. I think it is a fine place to stay for an overnight -

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank philatravelgirl_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 December 2012

Stayed 2 nights, good location around Oudtshoorn local tourist attractions. Well manicured garden. Good food friendly staff always eager to help to make you very comfortable. Convenient stopover .The rooms quite pleasant a little bit tight as i had a cot too. But overall i do recommend. Value for money.cherry on top are the 2 resident Ostriches. My Son loved watching them

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lovelybeach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Oudtshoorn hotels
0.2 mi away
Hlangana Lodge
Hlangana Lodge
#1 of 9 in Oudtshoorn
485 reviews
1.1 mi away
Turnberry Boutique Hotel
Turnberry Boutique Hotel
#4 of 9 in Oudtshoorn
298 reviews
1.2 mi away
Queens Hotel
Queens Hotel
#3 of 9 in Oudtshoorn
329 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
86 on Langenhoven Bed & Breakfast
0.7 mi away
Oudtshoorn Inn Hotel and Conferencing Centre
15.1 mi away
Swartberg Country Manor
Swartberg Country Manor
#2 of 9 in Oudtshoorn
178 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Protea Hotel by Marriott Oudtshoorn Riempie Estate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Protea Hotel by Marriott Oudtshoorn Riempie Estate

Property: Protea Hotel by Marriott Oudtshoorn Riempie Estate
Address: Baron Van Reede Street, Oudtshoorn 6620, South Africa (Formerly Protea Hotel Riempie Estate)
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Oudtshoorn
Amenities:
Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 9 Hotels in Oudtshoorn
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Protea Hotel by Marriott Oudtshoorn Riempie Estate 3*
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Protea Hotel Riempie Estate - A Cosy country atmosphere in a tranquil setting. Situated in a farm-like setting on the outskirts of Oudtshoorn, the Protea Hotel Riempie Estate is a charming hotel with well-appointed thatched rondavels, only 20 minutes away from the Cango Caves and moments away from the crocodile and ostrich farms for which Oudtshoorn is famed. Dine in the excellent restaurant and enjoy the best in country fare and hospitality. There are many facilities nearby; golf, squash, tennis, bowls and a gym. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Marriott, Priceline, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Protea Hotel by Marriott Oudtshoorn Riempie Estate reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Protea Hotel Oudtshoorn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing