We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great staff and relaxing location.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Protea Hotel by Marriott Oudtshoorn Riempie Estate
Ranked #6 of 9 Hotels in Oudtshoorn
Perth
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great staff and relaxing location.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 July 2014

We stayed this Protea Hotel On 9th July, while driving the Garden Route. It's set on large quiet estate, with traditional African Rondawels. We were given the honeymoon suite, which was large and very comfortable and also very much appreciated. So thanks!

The staff were all very friendly, helpful and willing to share their local knowledge with us tourist.

Special thanks to Audrey our waitress, who took time to tell us about The Swartberg Pass and encouraging us to do the round trip to Prince Albert through The Pass. It was definitely worth it as the views and scenery breath taking.

The food was also great, thanks Anna and Sophie. Everything was very fresh, delicious and well Presented.

A most welcoming place to stay, that have a home away from home Feel.

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Work2play366
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PHRiempie, Public Relations Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott Oudtshoorn Riempie Estate, responded to this review, 30 August 2014
Good day,

Thank you for taking the time to post an review and thank you for staying at the Protea Hotel Riempie Estate and for sharing your valuable positive feedback with us.

We are delighted to see that you enjoyed your time with us. :) :)
We've acknowledged your compliments to Audrey and Anna and they are very pleased. :)

It is feedback like yours which always makes all efforts truly worthwhile.

We all are looking forward to welcoming you back again to the Riempie Hotel in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

150 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    26
    48
    56
    10
    10
See reviews for
34
59
9
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 July 2014 via mobile

Dear All we once again only used this establishment as a stop over. Its not as modern as one would expect but not bad at all. Except for the cold and the old air conditioning units that did not help much. I would recommend an upgrade in the near future. Personal opinion im not a fan of a bath/shower unit rather furnish the unit with one or the other.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank AnnyB2BS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PHRiempie, Guest Relations Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott Oudtshoorn Riempie Estate, responded to this review, 10 July 2014
Good day Anny,

Thank you for staying at the Protea Hotel Riempie Estate and for sharing your experience with us.

Being that this was not your first stopover at our Hotel, we very happy that the first time was enjoyable enough to return.

We truly regret not having been able to meet your expectations, and hope that you will return YET again and we would be able to prove to you, that we can do much better than what you recently have experienced with us. We are in the process of updating all our Air-conditioning units.

We do have rooms which only have a shower and next time we will gladly accommodate you in one of those.

Take care and see you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 June 2014

We visited this place as tourists from India on 21st April 2014. We were on our sightseeing tour of Garden Route and this was our first halt. The place is very quite and the layout of the hotel is very impressive. They have cute little swimming pool near the restaurant. The rooms are very comfortable with very rustic feel. You can park your vehicle right in front of your room!!. The food served was very delicious and fresh. All the vegetables and fruits are grown in house!! and so the juices were very fresh and tasty. They also have a small Ostrich farm inside.The location being very central its easy to travel to Congo caves and other sightseeing places en route to George. Really good service, location for the money paid!! Highly recommended.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chitleymilind16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PHRiempie, Guest Relations Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott Oudtshoorn Riempie Estate, responded to this review, 8 July 2014
Good day
Thank you for staying at the Protea Hotel Riempie Estate and for sharing your valuable feedback with us.

We are delighted to see that you thoroughly enjoyed your time with us. It is feedback like yours which always makes all efforts truly worthwhile.

We see you met Lomo and Linda and family (the ostriches). =)

Did you notice our swimming pool is shape in the form of an Ostrich Egg?

We happy you enjoyed your WHOLE stay, from the location, your room, the food and Oudtshoorn itself.

Please be assured that we do look forward to a continued relationship with you, and we all are looking forward to welcoming you back to the Riempies Hotel in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Struisbaai, South Africa
Level Contributor
78 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 June 2014

I normally stay here on business, but this time it was for a leasure. As always, we were greated very friendly. The Rondawel is well equiped with a small fridge, tea & coffe making facilities, TV with satelite channels and hairdryer. A very welcome heating panel on the wall was swithed on when we got to our room (thanks).
Dinner was very good, offering local specialities like Ostrich Steak.
A really lovely touch was that due to a dog show, they allowed dog owners to stay in the hotel with their dogs and they were allowed into a seperat venue for dinner. I just wish all Protea Hotels were pet-friendly!!!
Breakfast as usual a buffet spread and very good.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sandy v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PHRiempie, Guest Relations Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott Oudtshoorn Riempie Estate, responded to this review, 8 July 2014
Good day Sandy,

Thank you for staying at the Protea Hotel Riempie Estate and for sharing your valuable feedback with us. We greatly appreciate any comments made by you, and this time with regards to the amazing stay you had with us in particular. Reviews as yours are reviews we always strive for.

Two of the Three Protea Hotel Principles – Exceeding GUESTS expectation and Best GUEST service.

The dog show is an annual occurrence in Oudtshoorn and for the last six (6) years we’ve been accommodating the dog show attenders. This was the first time we allocated a separate dinner venue for them.. to test the waters for the coming years. It worked. =)

Thank you for the good review. =)

Hope to see you soon (business and or leisure)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town, South Africa
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 May 2014 via mobile

We were looking for a solid, clean and central place to explore Oudtshoorn and the Protea hotel was perfect. It's not a top end resort or hotel but it is very decent and perfect for a few nights stay. The staff are very friendly and I had a few request which they were more than willing to arrange for us. I really have no complaints as it met my needs and surprised me by being so accommodating.

Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Richard W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PHRiempie, Guest Relations Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott Oudtshoorn Riempie Estate, responded to this review, 29 May 2014
Good day Mr Richard,

Thank you for staying at the Protea Hotel Riempie Estate and for sharing your valuable feedback with us. Our main aim, being guest satisfaction and quality delivery, we do take our guests and their wellbeing very seriously and always hope to meet and exceed our guests expectations.

We are delighted to see that you enjoyed your time with us. It is feedback like yours which always makes all efforts truly worthwhile.

We all are looking forward to welcoming you back again to the Riempie Hotel in the near future.

Kind Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Zealand
Level Contributor
63 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 April 2014 via mobile

Well situated hotel in Oudtshoorn (between the town and Cango caves / Cango wildlife ranch) with nice grounds and a few Ostriches for the added close-up experience, the complimentary reception drink on arrival was un-expected touch.

Suggest booking the Rondavel, this traditional round building with thatched roof is a full authentic African experience. The Rondavel was quite large inside, 2 well sized beds and an en-suite with all the usual trimmings in the room. The room and ensuite were clean, tidy and well equipped.

WiFi was free (passcode available from reception), staff were friendly and accommodating. Nice pool area too, there are plenty of lawns for kids to run about on. Breakfast was of a standard quality.

Oudtshoorn is home to the SANDF Infantry School, if you listen closely at 8am each morning you can hear the SA national anthem being played by the army band for morning reveille.

Stayed March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank flyingdutchdude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PHRiempie, Guest Relations Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott Oudtshoorn Riempie Estate, responded to this review, 29 May 2014
Good day, :)


Thank you for choosing to stay at the Protea Hotel Riempie Estate and for sharing your valuable feedback with us. We greatly appreciate any comments made by you, and this time with regards to the amazing stay you had with us in particular.

Riempie Hotel prides itself with guests like you having the feeling of being at home while away from home. Our main aim being guest satisfaction and quality delivery, we do take our guests and their well-being very seriously and always hope to meet and exceed our guests’ expectations.

We very happy that you managed to hear the SA national anthem being played by the army band for every morning reveille. It's a real South African Touch.

We've noticed that you met Lomo and Linda (the ostriches) our own family, next time you stay with us come and collect a few corn kernels at Reception, hold you hand out and experience them feeding from your open palm. :)

We all are looking forward to welcoming you back again to the Riempie Hotel.

Kind Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Essex, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
47 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 February 2014

Some rooms are individual African style grass roofed huts, in a picturesque setting. Other accomodation is behind the huts in barrack style blocks. I was in the latter. Dinner is served in a separate building, neccesitating tramped accross badly lit grounds between room and dining room. My room was dark and bably in need of updating and refurbishment. Dinner is buffet style: I was not impressed with either the quality or the choice of food. Meat was tough and overcooked,vegatables were cold. I would not want revisit this hotel

Room Tip: Ask for round hut close to a well lit path.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank GOINGTOURING
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PHRiempie, Guest Relations Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott Oudtshoorn Riempie Estate, responded to this review, 29 May 2014
Good day

Thank you for staying at the Protea Hotel Riempie Estate and for sharing your valuable feedback with us.

Our main aim, being guest satisfaction and quality delivery, we do take our guests and their wellbeing very seriously and always hope to meet and exceed our guests expectations.

We truly regret not having been able to meet your expectations, and though we are not able to undo the negative impression received, we would highly appreciate if you would give us another chance to prove to you, that we can do much better than what you recently have experienced with us.

Kind Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Oudtshoorn hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Oudtshoorn hotels
0.2 mi away
Hlangana Lodge
Hlangana Lodge
#1 of 9 in Oudtshoorn
4.5 of 5 bubbles 466 reviews
1.1 mi away
Turnberry Boutique Hotel
Turnberry Boutique Hotel
#3 of 9 in Oudtshoorn
4.0 of 5 bubbles 289 reviews
0.7 mi away
Oudtshoorn Inn Hotel and Conferencing Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.1 mi away
Swartberg Country Manor
Swartberg Country Manor
#2 of 9 in Oudtshoorn
4.5 of 5 bubbles 165 reviews
1.2 mi away
Queens Hotel
Queens Hotel
#4 of 9 in Oudtshoorn
4.0 of 5 bubbles 311 reviews
0.8 mi away
88 Baron van Reede Guesthouse
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Protea Hotel by Marriott Oudtshoorn Riempie Estate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Protea Hotel by Marriott Oudtshoorn Riempie Estate

Property: Protea Hotel by Marriott Oudtshoorn Riempie Estate
Address: Baron Van Reede Street, Oudtshoorn 6620, South Africa (Formerly Protea Hotel Riempie Estate)
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Oudtshoorn
Amenities:
Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 9 Hotels in Oudtshoorn
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Protea Hotel by Marriott Oudtshoorn Riempie Estate 3*
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Protea Hotel Riempie Estate - A Cosy country atmosphere in a tranquil setting. Situated in a farm-like setting on the outskirts of Oudtshoorn, the Protea Hotel Riempie Estate is a charming hotel with well-appointed thatched rondavels, only 20 minutes away from the Cango Caves and moments away from the crocodile and ostrich farms for which Oudtshoorn is famed. Dine in the excellent restaurant and enjoy the best in country fare and hospitality. There are many facilities nearby; golf, squash, tennis, bowls and a gym. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Marriott, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Protea Hotel by Marriott Oudtshoorn Riempie Estate reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Protea Hotel Oudtshoorn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing