We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“beautiful house and a lovely stay” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Karoo Sun Guesthouse

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Karoo Sun Guesthouse
Ranked #16 of 77 Oudtshoorn B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Lancaster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“beautiful house and a lovely stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 January 2014

Stayed at this guesthouse before christmas for two nights. The couple that run the place are great and really made us feel at home they gave us loads of information about the local area and we had a great time seeing the meerkats. The pool was great and the room was immaculate breakfast was different both days with home made food both mornings thanks for a great stay.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank pyraht
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

95 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    78
    14
    1
    0
    2
See reviews for
13
55
4
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
210 reviews
119 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 November 2013

Stayed here for 2 nights.Neat place with Parking right in front of the house. Loved the design of the Ground floor with Well spaced and set Tables & Chairs for morning breakfast; A reading couch near the fire place & Bar Drink Options.
The rooms are on the 1st Floor & we got a lovely private corner room as it was our anniversary. The rooms is very well designed & of very good standard & quality, had fee wifi with tea/coffee facility in the room.
The Double bed was a little bit small as we booked a standard room but was cozy.
The morning breakfast was also very good - enough of a spread with essentials & options of eggs.
Hermien and her husband Reinhardt really run a great place. She gave us a print out of all places of interest with Addresses including a Map of the entire Klein Karoo area.
Lots of Good restaurants on the main road from Cango Wildlife road entering town.

Room Tip: A corner room for couples gives good privacy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Monalisa777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wateringen, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 November 2013

We loved our stay at Karoo Sun Guesthouse on our tour of the Cape and Garden Route. The place is beautiful, high standard room, great breakfast and wonderful, friendly people. We happened to be the first "swimmers" of the new season in the pool...

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Cees Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KZN,South Africa
Level Contributor
34 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 April 2013

Wonderful stay with Hermein & Reinhardt! High standard and lovely decor! Very good situated when we visited the KKNK early this month> Stay was very short but very comfortable and stylish! Will definitely return!

Room Tip: All the rooms are surely excellent but we stayed in the top one with balcony , was lovely, with good...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dancingqueen98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
england
Level Contributor
28 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 January 2013

This gem of a place is 5 star accomodation, its has been modernised to a very high standard boutique building.
The family that own it are lovely and very accomodateing, it was our Anniversary while we stayed with them and decided to have a lazey afternoon around the pool. when they came out with a bottle of Champagne and a plate of cheese & biscuites which really made our wedding anniversary one to remember.
We were only going to stay 1 night but it was such a lovely place we decided to stay 2 and was reluctant to leave then, could of stayed there for longer.
They are a lovely couple and there little son was adorable and i would say by now they have another little son because she had only 4 weeks to go when we were staying at there fantastic beautiful Guest house.

Room Tip: All the rooms are too a very high standard!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Momamia10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Oudtshoorn hotels
0.7 mi away
Turnberry Boutique Hotel
Turnberry Boutique Hotel
#3 of 9 in Oudtshoorn
4.5 of 5 bubbles 285 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hlangana Lodge
Hlangana Lodge
#1 of 9 in Oudtshoorn
4.5 of 5 bubbles 455 reviews
0.6 mi away
Gumtree Guest House
Gumtree Guest House
#5 of 77 in Oudtshoorn
5.0 of 5 bubbles 541 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Earthbound B&B
Earthbound B&B
#4 of 77 in Oudtshoorn
5.0 of 5 bubbles 513 reviews
0.8 mi away
88 Baron van Reede Guesthouse
0.3 mi away
Miles B&B Guest House
Miles B&B Guest House
#17 of 77 in Oudtshoorn
4.5 of 5 bubbles 125 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Karoo Sun Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Karoo Sun Guesthouse

Property: Karoo Sun Guesthouse
Address: 184 Park Road, Oudtshoorn 6625, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Oudtshoorn
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 77 B&Bs / Inns in Oudtshoorn
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Karoo Sun Guesthouse 3.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
If you are looking for a guest house that can offer you stylish and modern accommodation, combined with reasonable rates and excellent, competent service, then look no further! Located along the Route 62, Karoo Sun Guesthouse is situated in the town of Oudtshoorn and offers an outdoor swimming pool, garden and a sun terrace. The Cango Caves is within a 30-minute drive. The stylish rooms are decorated in contemporary style and are fitted with a satellite TV, desk and tea-and-coffee-making facilities. Each air-conditioned room has an en suite bathroom . Free WiFi is available in all the rooms. Karoo Sun Guesthouse serves breakfast daily and dinner is available upon request at an additional fee (depending on occupancy). Guests can enjoy a drink from the licensed bar and relax in the cosy lounge area or next to the swimming pool. Karoo Sun is situated within walking distance of restaurants, hospitals and shops. Surrounding towns like George, Mossel Bay and Prince Albert are just a 45 minutes' to 80 minutes' drive away. This makes Karoo Sun the ideal location from where you can undertake your day trips. The George Airport is 50 minutes' drive away and an airport shuttle can be arranged at a charge. Karoo Sun is owner-managed by Reynhardt & Hermien Brittnell. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your Karoo Sun Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing