We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hunt lived up to expectations”

Chandelier Game Lodge & Ostrich Show Farm
aisaac
Level Contributor
173 reviews
66 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Hunt lived up to expectations”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2013

Fate led us to Chandelier! My American boyfriend was looking to experience hunting in South Africa, and my friend who was arranging the hunt had to back out at the last minute, passing us on to another of his friends. Alan set up the hunt at Chandelier, and what an amazing experience. I had the pleasure of spending much of the day in the pickup (bakkie) with Gerrie, the owner of the farm, who had me in stitches much of the time. My boyfriend got lucky and shot a Kudu, and Alan shot his Eland and Rooibok. What an awesome day, and the prices were not hateful. Would love to go back and maybe stay overnight next time.

Helpful?
Thank aisaac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

57 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    24
    19
    11
    1
    2
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
antwerp
Level Contributor
84 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“reasonable attraction”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 May 2013

not one of my favourite attractions in South Africa,could quite easily have given this a miss.A bit boring,depends how interested you are in ostriches.prices in tourist shop over the top.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank jockhaggis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oakville, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“What an Experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 May 2013

Never knew there was so much information on the Ostrich. It was a very "hands on" experience. My daughter was able to ride an Ostrich which she throughly enjoyed. The guide was very informative their is absolutely nothing negative to say about this experience. Hope everyone has as good an experience as we had.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Brenda B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miami
Level Contributor
113 reviews
31 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
“Small ostrich farm”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 March 2013

This ostrich farm on the way from Oudtshoorn to Knysna is not really as organized as the bigger show farms. Its convenient location makes it worth a visit.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank ItTakesTwoToTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
153 reviews
39 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Disney comes the the Cape”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 February 2013

Oh dear. What a very silly experience. Not worth the money and the "hug an ostrich" experience was more like Disney than SA. You can see the birds in fields all around the area. Absolutely enough.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank PaulC2816
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Chandelier Game Lodge & Ostrich Show Farm also viewed

 
Oudtshoorn, Western Cape
Oudtshoorn, Western Cape
 

Been to Chandelier Game Lodge & Ostrich Show Farm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing