We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Place”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Rosenhof Country House
Ranked #6 of 75 Oudtshoorn B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Sheringham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
“Great Place”
Reviewed 25 March 2013

The Rosenhof is an amazing country house, the staff wonderful, can't fault this place in any way. We are going back next year. Bob and Deb from England. Regards to everyone at the Rosenhof. See you all next year.

Room Tip: All rooms of top quality
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank debandbob16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

299 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    223
    59
    13
    3
    1
See reviews for
42
204
2
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Horsham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 March 2013

We only stayed one night here on route to another destination, and did not experience dinner. However, if the breakfast was setting the standard for the quality of food and presentation, then one could only praise the meal. The cooked breakfast was extremely well cooked and tasted so good. The buffet was outstanding with such a lovely selection of foods to choose from. Amazing. The staff were very pleasant and helpful. The bedroom was spacious and nicely decorated with a good sized bathroom. All in all a nicely laid out venue and gardens, and the eating arrangement under the gazebo in the garden was very relaxing. Would stay again.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CarolineSilver10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cape town
Level Contributor
58 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 March 2013

We traveled to Oudtshoorn with some friends who were visiting Cape Town
I was not sure what to expect of Rosenhof but this country hotel far exceeded our expectations. We are very experienced well traveled people and this hotel was comparable to some of the best hotels we have stayed in anywhere
The grounds are amazing - a literal oasis in the dusty klein Karoo. I loved that the trees were labelled with little name plaques.
We booked two rooms. My husband and I stayed in one of the rooms built around the garden. The room was very big, tastefully decorated and very comfortable. Nice touches like current magazines and fresh flowers. In the bathroom there were Charlotte Rhys products to use - a high end Cape Town toiletries company. There was a little stoep (verandah) outside our room where you could sit and enjoy the garden
Our friends stayed in one of the two executive/luxury rooms - it was like a small cottage with a sitting room, bedroom and bathroom and bet of all it had its own pool. I loved that there was an exercise bike in the huge bathroom! There was plenty of fresh fruit in the room which was topped up during the day.

On the first night we decided to eat at the hotel and we met our friends in the bar of the main house for drinks. The bar is cosy and very old world tasteful - very colonial. There are sittings rooms and a small library next to the bar and doors opening onto a big verandah overlooking yet more beautiful gardens. I wish we had more than 2 nights at the hotel as I would loved to have spent time just sitting in the gardens and reading

Dinner was a 3 course meal in the dining room. Excellent food. Excellent service. Excellent wine. In fact the next night we went to one of the "top rated" restaurants in Oudtshoorn and quite honestly I wish we had eaten at the Rosenhof again.

Breakfast the next day was set in a separate little cottage and we ate on the verandah. There was an extensive buffet which included champagne - help your self - and lots of fresh fruit, home made bread and then a full choice of cooked breakfast options ranging from tarditional English to mini vegetarian quiches

Rosenhof is located at the end of Oudtshoorn toward the Cango Caves end

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CapeTownCapetown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
scotland
Level Contributor
334 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 135 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 February 2013

We stayed two nights in this beautifully appointed hotel. The grounds are beautiful and very well kept providing a very quiet and peaceful location. We were greeted with drinks and canapes in the gazebo which was a fantastic welcome. Our room which was set in the garden had a very classy country house feel with very high quality fittings. It made you immediately want to relax and unwind. There is a lovely swimming pool with comfortable loungers which we made good use of as it was very warm. In the evening we decided to have diiner there as the menu looked nice. This however was when things weren't quite up to expectations.The place was deserted, there was absolutely no atmosphere and we felt we had to speak in whispers. There was a nice bar but knowbody there. There were two adjoining dining rooms which only had a couple of tables occupied in each. I think it would have been better to sit everyone in the same room instead of spreading them out. The food was quite nice but the portions were ridiculously large. It was a set price 4 course meal but I would defy anyone to eat everything. We had two Osterich steaks each!! One would have been ample and we found it rather off putting.We love our food but less is definitely more in this case. They have the rooms spot on in this place they just need to work on the food and ambiance of the main house and it would be an unbeatable combination.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank weelassieScotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pointe aux Canonniers
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 February 2013

Nice building, Very romantic bedrooms and gardens, refined decoration, Spacious rooms, well equipped. Great breakfast, delicious food, high quality ingredient (salmon, ostrich...). Very fast and appropriate service, A highly professional team and high quality place

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bellefroid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
44 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 February 2013

This Hotel really is a green oasis in the midst of the sunbaked plain at Oudtshoorn. The accommodation was a good standard although the decor was a little too English Country House for our liking. The restaurant was very good and service excellent, and we had our first taste of Ostrich meat which was delicious. We only stayed one night on our trip, and that did not allow us much time to use the hotel facilities or discover the area. There is a good sized pool and a fitness area with sauna. when we arrived, the hotel insisted we sit down to have a welcome drink and snack before they gave us our key. A thoughtful idea but really we would have preferred to go straight to our room to freshen up after a long drive. All the rooms overlook a garden square which is well cared for.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derbyshire Dales, England
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 January 2013 via mobile

Whilst there is nothing we can put our finger on exactly as to what is wrong with Rosenhof, we enjoyed our stay there the least of all our hotels in South Africa. The room was pleasant enough and the garden quite tranquil and pleasant.

However, it feels very much like a retirement village and there is no real soul to the place.

Others have commented on good service but we did nit have this. When we arrived the lady at check in (Amanda?) was really quite unhelpful (and only interested in our 'voucher' from our agent!). We also asked for restaurant recommendation to which she said "they're all good"! Which was patently untrue and unhelpful.

We would not go back here .

Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Valiant_explorer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Oudtshoorn hotels
0.0 mi away
Hlangana Lodge
Hlangana Lodge
#1 of 9 in Oudtshoorn
478 reviews
15.2 mi away
Swartberg Country Manor
Swartberg Country Manor
#2 of 9 in Oudtshoorn
177 reviews
1.1 mi away
Turnberry Boutique Hotel
Turnberry Boutique Hotel
#4 of 9 in Oudtshoorn
293 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Queens Hotel
Queens Hotel
#3 of 9 in Oudtshoorn
326 reviews
1.6 mi away
Pictures Guest House
Pictures Guest House
#3 of 75 in Oudtshoorn
301 reviews
1.1 mi away
La Pension Guest House
La Pension Guest House
#2 of 75 in Oudtshoorn
520 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rosenhof Country House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rosenhof Country House

Property: Rosenhof Country House
Address: 264 Baron van Reede Street | corner of North Street, Oudtshoorn 6625, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Oudtshoorn
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 75 B&Bs / Inns in Oudtshoorn
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Rosenhof Country House 5*
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Rosenhof Country House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rosenhof Country House Hotel Oudtshoorn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing