We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“6 out of 5!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Rosenhof Country House
Ranked #6 of 75 Oudtshoorn B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Vienna
2 reviews
“6 out of 5!”
Reviewed 18 November 2009

My partner took me to Rosenhof, during our visit to South Africa, for my birthday. She had stayed there a few years earlier and had enjoyed Rosenhof very much. It was the perfect place in which to spend my special day. Rather than go out we spent the day relaxing by the pool, having massages and good food/wine. We were constantly supplied with chilled water. At breakfast I had been greeted with a cake, champagne and a native song from one of the staff.
We stayed at Rosenhof for 4 days in total. It is located in the middle of the ostrich area. That made for interesting sights and good eating!
I would strongly recommend Rosenhof if you are travelling along the Garden Route. The staff could not have been more attentive, nor the quality of accommodation (individual suites complemented by and a colonial style house) more comfortable. My one regret is that I failed to award Rosenhof 6 marks out of 5 in their Visitors Book. Still I can always rectify that next time!

  • Stayed December 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank robertwblues
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

302 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    225
    59
    13
    3
    2
See reviews for
43
206
2
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Belfast
Level 6 Contributor
83 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 September 2009

Well it was certainly romantic being just about the only guests (early September) and having one of the two separate executive suites. The suite was truly excellent, well-furnished in a grand traditional fashion. The bathroom was excellently equipped and the private pool area was a real pleasure, even though we had to share it quite often with a visitor, a giant tortoise. The suites back onto an area of forest and wetland so there are a lot of birds and in the evenings you get a real sense of being out in the wild, although you are of course only a few yards from the main bar/restaurant . The restaurant is for residents only and had a limited set course menu so we didn't try it. The breakfasts were fantastic - as good as anywhere else I have been in SA with the possible exception of the Fancourt in George or the Mount Nelson in Cape Town. We did have one lunch which was also very good. The staff were all very pleasant and professional. Lots of nice touches like washing your car (definitely needed after going over the Swartberg pass) and the sauna/jacuzzi was good - we did not try the spa itself.

Rosenhof is not a cheap place to stay but we felt it was good value.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BelfastTaxman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Czech Republic
Level 6 Contributor
201 reviews
80 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 August 2009

We were very pleasantly surprised. The Rosenhof Country House is real lovely oasis in the Oudtshoorn where we stopped for two nights during our Garden route trip.
We did not try the restaurant but the breakfast was probably the best from our trip! Excellent service, very friendly staff!

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jardaok
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Yorkshire
Level 6 Contributor
150 reviews
74 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 March 2009

We enjoyed all aspects of this hotel; the restaurant was particularly good.

  • Stayed February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TomNorthYorkshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 February 2009

This is a lovely place. They staff are very friendly and welcome you upon your arrival. The rooms are very nice-overlooking a quaint garden setting and very peaceful. The breakfast is served in a nice outdoor setting in the garden-the food is excellent and they serve champagne!!

  • Stayed January 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SingaporeKiwi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yorkshire
Level 5 Contributor
37 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 February 2009

We stayed here for 2 nights during December. The guesthouse is in a very peaceful setting, off a main road but once in the grounds it is lovely and quiet. There is a very nice swimming pool and outdoor area for drinks and breakfast. Also a small spa, where my daughter had a manicure.

Staff are very friendly and helpful with ideas about outings and restaurants. The rooms are airy and spacious but I would agree with the person who said that finding a plug socket was a challenge! Also hated the fact that the hairdryers are those awful things attached to the bathroom wall that you have to keep your finger on button to make it work. Surely they trust their guests enough to provide a decent one in the room.

Having said that, we had a very enjoyable stay. The breakfast is buffet style and has plenty of choice. Very pleasant sitting outside on the patio. We ate dinner in the hotel on the first night but ate out after that. The dinner was a strange affair - large dining room and helpful staff. Food was very good but there were so few people in that it felt a bit like the Marie Celeste!

We visited Cango Caves and the cheetah sanctuary - both well worth it. Go early though as it gets very hot.

All in all, I would recommend a stay at the Rosenhof to anyone who is passing through on their way along the garden route. I think 2 nights is probably enough though.

  • Liked — the setting around the lawns and the staff
  • Disliked — dreadful hairdryers in bathrooms and lack of plug points
  • Stayed December 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank kazpalms
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dorset, UK
Level 5 Contributor
97 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 February 2008

Stayed here for 2 nights in january 2008. We were very impressed with the initial welcome - we were offered a complimentary drink and canapes which we enjoyed in the gazebo whilst reading the helpful local information that the hotel had put together for us.

Our garden room was beautifully furnished and my sole criticism was a lack of plugs near a mirror. Other than that, everything was perfect and the bathroom was a particular feature. Whilst the pool area is not huge, it is very pleasant and we enjoyed the additional touches such as complimentary lemonade and watermelon to cool down.

There is a beauty therapist on site and I would thouroughly recommend a massage with her - the rates are very reasonable.

The evening meal, whilst not exceptional was pleasant and served either in the dining room or on the terrace. There were several lounge areas to sit to have coffee or drinks.

Breakfast was served in a separate area and you could sit in the gazebo. The breakfast was excellent with a good a la carte selection as well as cold buffet.

All in all we really enjoyed staying at this hotel and came away feeling pampered.

  • Liked — attention to detail
  • Disliked — lack of plugs in the room
  • Stayed January 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JB37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Oudtshoorn hotels
0.1 mi away
Hlangana Lodge
Hlangana Lodge
#1 of 9 in Oudtshoorn
485 reviews
1.1 mi away
Turnberry Boutique Hotel
Turnberry Boutique Hotel
#4 of 9 in Oudtshoorn
298 reviews
15.2 mi away
Swartberg Country Manor
Swartberg Country Manor
#2 of 9 in Oudtshoorn
178 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Queens Hotel
Queens Hotel
#3 of 9 in Oudtshoorn
329 reviews
4.2 mi away
Buffelsdrift Game Lodge
Buffelsdrift Game Lodge
#3 of 46 in Oudtshoorn
862 reviews
0.7 mi away
88 Baron van Reede Guesthouse
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rosenhof Country House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rosenhof Country House

Property: Rosenhof Country House
Address: 264 Baron van Reede Street | corner of North Street, Oudtshoorn 6625, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Oudtshoorn
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 75 B&Bs / Inns in Oudtshoorn
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Rosenhof Country House 5*
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, Expedia, Agoda, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Rosenhof Country House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rosenhof Country House Hotel Oudtshoorn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing