We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The Caves”
Review of The Cango Caves

The Cango Caves
Ranked #2 of 29 things to do in Oudtshoorn
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Though damaged through shortsighted tourism schemes in the 1960s, these caves are still worth a visit for their eerie dark tunnels and stunning limestone formations.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
173 reviews
65 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“The Caves”
Reviewed 5 May 2014

It was amazing seeing the natural caves and the way it is formed. I found the tour very commercial, so maybe opt for the adventure tour if you are looking forward to something more natural. The tour guide was excellent and did a really good job.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank RionaArjoon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,815 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,620
    927
    230
    30
    8
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
1 review
“Adventure tour”
Reviewed 3 May 2014 via mobile

What an adventure!! An experience we will never forget. My husband and I were both a bit stressed at times but the tour guide was very reassuring. A must do!!

Helpful?
Thank anellee2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne
Level Contributor
26 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Must see!”
Reviewed 2 May 2014

Been to visit the caves about 10 years ago, so I was keen to see how my children would like it. The entrance and reception area has been renovated and improved for wheel chair access. There is a lovely restaurant and souvenir shop now, as well as a rest area and sufficient bathrooms for public use. Besides the caves, which are breathtaking in itself (despite the rather modern look of the recent renovations) there is a very informative and interesting interactive centre. One can see a short film about the caves and more importantly, footage on the other parts of the caves that are not open to the public. There is also an educational exhi it of caves, their development and contents that must be seen.

All things considered, a very pleasant and informative afternoon spent at the caves with the children, who, unsurprisingly enjoyed the experience!! Well worth the entrance fee too.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank FairyLightFoot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
39 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Pretty neat”
Reviewed 1 May 2014

Guide was great! Had a pretty good time exploring. Will have to google to recall all that the guide explained to us.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Kym V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ipswich, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Spectacular.”
Reviewed 1 May 2014

I love caves and have visited many. Cango caves are up at the top of my list.
Our guide was very knowledgeable and pleasant. He gave us a lot of information and was not phased when questions were asked.
The stalagmites and stalactites were amazing and should be seen to be believed.
We didn't do the more extreme part of the tour. Being pensioners, we thought it beyond our capabilities but I would have loved to have done it when I was younger.
As well as going into the caves there was a film showing on a continuous loop explaining about the caves' formation and early explorers. There was also a museum, cafeteria and shop, all housed in a clean, modern building.
There are a lot of steps so not recommended for people with mobility problems but the film show, cafeteria and museum etc. are all accessible.
The tour lasts about an hour, longer for the extreme tour so if one of your party is disabled, they should find plenty to interest them in the building complex.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Eileen K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Cango Caves also viewed

Oudtshoorn, Western Cape
Oudtshoorn, Western Cape
 
Oudtshoorn, Western Cape
 

Been to The Cango Caves? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing