We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Honeymoon ”

Buffelsdrift Game Lodge - Activities
Ranked #1 of 1 Fun & Games in Oudtshoorn
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Buffelsdrift Game Lodge is situated only 6.5km outside Oudtshoorn en route to the Cango Caves. At the Lodge you will find pristine Bushveld, lush vegetation and a 5ha dam with hippos and more than 217 bird species. We offer luxury air-conditioned tented en-suite accommodation with an excellent A la Carte Restaurant. Trained guides will escort guests on a bush safari (game drive) in an open game viewing vehicle, with a refreshment stop at one of the lookout points. More than 20 species of animals can be seen on the bush safaris, some of which are buffalo, rhino, giraffe and many more. Other activities consist of horseback safaris and elephant excursions (feeding, walking and riding). An unique bush veld experience in the heart of the Klein Karoo.
Cape Town, South Africa
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Honeymoon ”
Reviewed 16 May 2014 via mobile

Tented rooms are fantastic and very comfortable. Sitting on our deck tanning with the hippos right in front of us was a real treat.
The game drive was enjoyable and the sunset amazing. Game ranger was not as knowledgable as we would have liked and knew less at times than us.
Staff and restaurant are not on an equal standard as the tented rooms. Retraining and redesign of the menu is need we felt.
But for the experience we enjoyed out stay.

Helpful?
Thank Local_cpt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

110 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    67
    29
    9
    2
    3
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Wagga
Level 6 Contributor
157 reviews
39 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Loved the Elephants”
Reviewed 15 May 2014

Our group of friends had the most enjoyable morning feeding the elephants and interacting with them. The elephants were happy and well cared for. The experience was one of the best in Africa. I would recommend the experience to all.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Greg S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
535 reviews
97 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 180 helpful votes
“Walking with Elephants”
Reviewed 7 May 2014

A must if you want to experience Africa! Feed the elephants, sit on them and savour the experience. This is a very professionally run resort and set on the banks of a dam stocked with Hippo and other local animals. You do not feel that you are in a resort of sorts or in fact a"Disney" theme park with all the activities available.

The staff were very knowledgable and warm. We had a magnificent lunch in the restaurant over looking the water which was superb local fare and well priced. ideal for a stop over although we were on a day visit but worth every cent!

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Spithead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cockermouth, England, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Elephant experience”
Reviewed 29 April 2014

Highlight of our trip to SA was seeing the children walk off into the bush on the back of the elephants and being able to interact with them after they returned from their safari walk. Really relaxed and friendly - I was moved just to be able to touch them but to have a 'trunk cuddle' was something else!
We didn't stay here but it looks pretty nice. Service at the bar was slow, but being able to watch out over the lake (with hippos) made up for it.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Fellgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surrey
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Lovely Safari Taster”
Reviewed 28 February 2014

We stopped here for lunch then booked the afternoon safari. Our lunch was served on the terrace overlooking the watering hole, and was excellent value, with lovely views. The safari was a very relaxed affair and our driver was extremely informative and very keen to give us the best experience possible with sightings of giraffe, kudu, springbok, and a drink on the top of the area with far reaching views. Recommended

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank surreylady50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Buffelsdrift Game Lodge - Activities also viewed

Oudtshoorn, Western Cape
Oudtshoorn, Western Cape
 
Oudtshoorn, Western Cape
 

Been to Buffelsdrift Game Lodge - Activities? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing