We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Madi-Madi Karoo Safari Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Southampton
Level Contributor
29 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Perfect!”
Reviewed 14 July 2014

This is a new venue - only opened in September 2013, so there's still some work in progress (mostly the 10km off-road drive to get to the lodge!), so 5 stars is all the more hard-earned. I'm almost lost for words to describe how wonderful the Madi Madi is! Almost!!
First the accommodation; there are only 6 cottages - so it's exclusive; we stayed in one of the river-front ones and it was the height of luxury with stunning views! Do check out the pictures on their website - they barely do the place justice! http://www.madi-madi.co.za/
The team that run Madi Madi really do make you feel like part of their family for your stay! Rupert & Natasha became like BFFs just after a couple of days! And George not only produced wonderful food for us, but was a knowledgeable, friendly and helpful about all things safari (and shopping!) as every other member of the team. Our teenagers sill haven't stopped talking about George and his food!
Talking of the food - the meals are a communal affair with everyone joining around a farmhouse style table to sample wonderfully prepared dishes - something for everyone - George lays on a great spread! Very informal, very relaxed!
The safari drives are great adventure - Rupert is extremely knowledgeable (and jeez! What an off-roader he is!!!) and what we loved the most is that he (and his team) have the interests of the animals and their habitat at the top of his priorities His passion for this wonderful environment comes through in everything he does - it made us feel privileged to share the experience with him.
I could go on for pages! But just go visit! See for yourself!!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GCM1961
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Natasha12013, Manager at Madi-Madi Karoo Safari Lodge, responded to this review, 23 July 2014
Hi Gerri,

Thank you so very much for the wonderful review and for taking the time to write it. We enjoyed having you and your family here so much and we look forward to seeing you again soon in the near future!
We certainly felt like you became BFF's to us too! We had such a ball.

We miss the boys and their very interesting views on all subjects.

Kind regards,
Natasha and the whole team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

175 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    143
    26
    5
    0
    1
See reviews for
35
116
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Wilderness, South Africa
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2014

I had the opportunity to spend my 40th birthday at Madi Madi a few weeks ago. By doing my 'home work', I knew to expect a great break but nothing can prepare you for the specialness of this Lodge. The rooms are beautiful, comfortable and a haven. All décor in the lodge and rooms have been but together with so much care and detail. They arranged a riverside surprise pick nick for my birthday and it was an experience that I will not forget. The staff is amazing and I have to commend Natasha...she is a breath of fresh air and an asset to the Lodge. She went the extra mile to make our stay extra special and even baked a cake for my birthday. The food is of the best quality. I can recommend this Lodge with confidence and will definitely return soon.

Room Tip: definitely recommend one of the riverside cottages.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Antoinette S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Natasha12013, Manager at Madi-Madi Karoo Safari Lodge, responded to this review, 1 July 2014
Hi Antoinette,

Thank you for the beautiful review that you have taken the time to write. We really appreciate all guest comments. It was such a pleasure to have you and the Captain here with us. Making your birthday special was the least we could do. We enjoyed your company here with us so much. I am so pleased that it was a magical experience for you and we hope to see you again soon!

Kind regards,
Natasha
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gelsenkirchen, Germany
2 reviews
Reviewed 11 June 2014

We enjoyed our stay in Madi-Madi lodge so much. It was really wonderful. One evening they arranged a bbq on a mountain only for us. Watching the sun going down we enjoyed the fantastic food. It's so romantic and amazing in Madi-Madi.
The service and attention was excellent even though they were nearly invisible.
During the safari we saw a lot of animals in the wild and not like they were living in a zoo. Madi-Madi in not like other safari lodges - it's a very special place to stay.
Overall it was the best time we had in South Africa.
Thanks to all of you - Natasha, Stefan, George and the rest.
Christopher & Nicole

Room Tip: You can do horse riding as "fitness center" and relaxing at the pool as "Spa"...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Nicole M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Natasha12013, Manager at Madi-Madi Karoo Safari Lodge, responded to this review, 20 June 2014
Hi Chris,

Thank you very much for you kind review. It makes me very happy to hear you enjoyed your stay here in our little piece of paradise as much as you did. The outside mountain bbq was indeed alot of fun!

Thank you again for your kind words, we really appreciate the time you took to write a review for us.
We look forward to seeing you soon in the near future.

Kind regards,
Natasha
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stellenbosch, South Africa
2 reviews
Reviewed 3 June 2014

We had a lovely 5-day stay at this lodge in the beautiful and tranquil Klein Karoo. The staff were super friendly, very professional and had all the warmth that you would expect from the countryside. The food was fantastic! If you enjoy chatting the evening away with the hosts, knowledgeable safari guides, and other guests, you can enjoy your meals in the homely atmosphere of the lodge (in front of a hearth that seems to have an ever burning fire!). However, for people like us who also enjoy a bit of privacy, the kitchen was more than willing to serve our meal on our private patio. There are a number of activities to enjoy and which offer ways to explore the beautiful surrounds. Personally, we suggest taking the canoe out on the river and doing the horseback safari - without the noise of engines these are much better ways to stalk wild animals and to feel much closer to nature. We can recommend a long stay - take a day or two to wind down properly in a place where luxuries abound!

Room Tip: The executive suites are a bit more expensive, but offer a bit more privacy since they are located a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AndreSuleen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Natasha12013, Manager at Madi-Madi Karoo Safari Lodge, responded to this review, 8 June 2014
Hi Andre,

Thank you very much for your review. We really appreciate the time guests take to write something about our little piece of paradise.
I am very happy that you had the chance to unwind here with us, this is certainly what this property specialize in. The horse ride is indeed one of our best features and I am pleased to hear that you also had that experience.

We look forward to seeing you again in the near future.

Kind regards,
Natasha
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town Central, South Africa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 May 2014

Excellent lodge, great accomodation & fantastic food from chef Bernie. Most relaxing place ever- going back next year. Found it very difficult to leave, a weekend is definitely too short. The service and attention to detail is excellent. Madi-Madi is what I would call "not too commercial".

Selwyn & Lucinda Cox

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
2 Thank selwyn c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Natasha12013, Manager at Madi-Madi Karoo Safari Lodge, responded to this review, 13 May 2014
Hi Selwyn and Lucinda,

Thank you very much for your great review. I am extremely pleased that you could share with us this special place that Madi-Madi is. It is never easy to say goodbye, but at least in this case we said farewell, and see you next time.
We look forward to having you back here with us in the near future.

Kind regards,
Natasha
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
96 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 April 2014

We travelled to Madi-Madi mid-April. The lodge is set in the middle of a magnificent setting with beautiful karoo landscape and mountains surrounding it. The lodge is right in front of a dam. There is absolutely nothing else for miles, so it is very tranquil, quiet and relaxing. You definitely will be able to experience a complete break-away coming here.

The chalets are beautifully decorated, and very spacious. Each chalet has a view of the dam in front, and are well spaced from eachother to allow for complete quiet and privacy.

On the day which we arrived, there was a guest chef (Gert) working at the lodge. He was quick to offer us some lunch, which was a delicious salad, which we ate on the patio of our lodge. Unfortunately, the plates etc. were only cleared again the following day - nearly 24 hours later. We thought that this was just an oversight, but sadly it was an indication of things to come...

Gert made us a lovely dinner that night. Dinners are served in a central lodge area where they encourage the guests to dine together at one long table. We opted to rather sit alone at a more private table.

The next morning, the other chef (Bernie) returned. Breakfast was utterly awful. The two bowls of fruit (one of berries and one of sliced peaches) were evidently quite old, as the fruit had that "fizzy" taste to it, which only happens once fermentation had begun. The cooked part of the breakfast was just as bad - grey poached eggs, which were stringy and basically spread all over the plate with a smash of bacon and onion and tomato on the side. The eggs tasted so revolting, that i didn't even finish my food.

We then had tea after breakfast on the patio outside, and once again, the cups were only cleared at the end of the day, after we pointed them out to the manager.

For lunch, you have the option of a snack platter or a picnic basket. We chose the picnic basket. They set up a blanket and cushions on the lawn (wherever you'd like). The picnic basket was very disappointing though. it included: a garden salad, a fruit salad, a packet of nuts (mostly peanuts which didn't taste fresh), a small packet of dried fruit, a few pieces of cheese and some biscuits and two boxes of ceres fruit juice. i would have expected perhaps some condiments to go with the cheese, perhaps some cold meat, and maybe something a little exciting added to the salad like grilled chicken. Not impressed.

We opted to go on a sunset cruise from the dam down a smallish river. It was a great way to see the lodge and a few animals, and was a very relaxing couple of hours. Unfortunately, the drinks which were supposed to be included in the cruise, only included a few alcoholic options - there was not even one bottle of water! The snacks on the cruise were also very disappointing.

Dinner that night was a big improvement, and the braai which was offered was delicious.

I am pleased to note that the breakfast the following morning was a massive improvement on the day before. We opted for omelettes. Although very oily, they were at least edible this time.

Overall, i would say that Madi-Madi has the potential to be one of those "hidden gems". it is a lovely place in amazing surroundings. With proper management and attention to detail, it will be incredible.

The

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SH27380
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Natasha12013, Manager at Madi-Madi Karoo Safari Lodge, responded to this review, 4 May 2014
Thank you very much for your review. We take our guest opinions very serious.
I am terribly disappointed that you did not have an exceptional experience. This is something that I will immediately look into and correct. This is not the standard that we practice at.
I hope that we will see you again in the future and you will leave feeling warm and relaxed and well taken care of.

Kind regards,
Natasha
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town Central, South Africa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 15 April 2014

My husband and I spent our first weekend away from the kids at madi madi, and we couldn't have chosen a better destination. It was entirely worth the long drive!
The room was superb, the food exquisite, the staff absolutely what you want from guest house type accomodation.

Every part of our stay was magical.

Don't miss out on the wonderful horseback safari, which is anything but a boring old horse trail, and have at least 1 picnic lunch on the lawn.

My favorite SA destination thus far!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Leila S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Natasha12013, Manager at Madi-Madi Karoo Safari Lodge, responded to this review, 19 April 2014
Hi Leila!

Thank you for the wonderful review. It was such a pleasure to have you both here with us. I am extremely pleased to hear that you enjoyed the horse ride and I completely agree, it is anything but a boring horse trail.
I will ensure that when you come back that Denamiet are ready and waiting for you.
The picnic baskets for lunch is something different that I am pleased guests are enjoying for the different and special experience they offer.
We look forward to seeing you again soon in the future.
Kind regards,
Natasha
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Oudtshoorn hotels
16.0 mi away
Hlangana Lodge
Hlangana Lodge
#1 of 9 in Oudtshoorn
477 reviews
15.7 mi away
Buffelsdrift Game Lodge
Buffelsdrift Game Lodge
#3 of 46 in Oudtshoorn
844 reviews
15.9 mi away
Riverside Lodge
Riverside Lodge
#2 of 46 in Oudtshoorn
308 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.2 mi away
De Zeekoe Guest Farm
De Zeekoe Guest Farm
#4 of 46 in Oudtshoorn
886 reviews
10.9 mi away
Zwartberg View Mountain Lodge
18.2 mi away
Le Petit Karoo Ranch
Le Petit Karoo Ranch
#12 of 75 in Oudtshoorn
187 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Madi-Madi Karoo Safari Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Madi-Madi Karoo Safari Lodge

Property: Madi-Madi Karoo Safari Lodge
Address: Kammanasie Mountains | Off N12, Dysselsdorp, Route 62, Oudtshoorn 6620, South Africa
Phone Number:
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Oudtshoorn
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 46 Speciality Lodging in Oudtshoorn
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:5 star — Madi-Madi Karoo Safari Lodge 5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated outside of Oudtshoorn off the Route 62 this elegant and luxury 5000 ha game lodge offers guests unique accommodation experience with the cottages overlooking the 13km stretch of Kammanassie river. Activities on the reserve includes bush drives (game viewing), horseback safaris, sunset river cruises, bush walks and stargazing evenings. Madi-Madi offers exquisite nature and wildlife. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Traveltool, S.L.U. so you can book your Madi-Madi Karoo Safari Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing