We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (197)
Filter reviews
197 results
Traveller rating
157
30
8
1
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
157
30
8
1
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews friendly animals cape mountain game drives staying nights off road fish eagles malva pudding romantic getaway mossel bay beautiful setting huge bathroom breakfast and dinner fantastic stay beautiful room western cape warm welcome springbok
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 197 reviews
Reviewed 3 March 2018

Very disappointing stay. First of all it’s miles away up a dirt road without even a hint that you are going in the right direction, particularly unsettling once the SatNav has given up. Even when you reach the gate there’s still several kilometres of rough track until one reaches the lodges.
I have to say that it must have been beautiful when the lake was full but the 29 months of drought has more than taken it’s toll on the valley and the wildlife within it. Apparently 75% of the animal stock has died since the drought started. Knowing this the Madi Madi are still running twice daily trips out (one at 3.00pm, the other at 6.00am) to see the local wildlife, charging SAR500 for the privilege knowing that the only thing one is likely to see are a few Springbok and four lonely female Meerkats at ‘Meerkat Manor’ - terrible and embarrassing. The problem extends beyond there being no river/lake. No rain means the plants have died, no plants means starvation for the wildlife. There used to be 15 Ibex but now there are only 3… One young couple had paid to go out on both trips and seen not-a-lot. There are a few horses running around on the dry bed of the lake which gives a bit of atmosphere and if you enjoy going off road on some fairly hair raising steep tracks then this part is good fun, just don’t expect much else and you won’t be disappointed. We met other people who had also done the ‘safari’ element of a SA tour, they had gone to bigger places and had much more success. I just think it was unfair of Madi Madi not to pre warn guests of the dire situation in their particular valley.

Away from the habitat and on to the accommodation; the lodges are very well presented with lots of space and good facilities. I particularly liked the large dressing area and the huge bathroom. The standard of comfort and cleanliness is also very good. As one is approx 9Km away from the main road there is little alternative but to eat on site. The food was served as a help yourself buffet and the choice was limited. What did come as a surprise was that guests were expected to eat at a large communal table, OK if you are into that but not so good if you prefer to eat your dinner as a couple.

I understand that the owners are trying to keep the place going under very challenging circumstances but we guests shouldn’t be made to pay a high price for their business risks. Madi Madi is a sister resort to the Botlierskop Private Game Reserve just outside Mossel Bay. When (and if) the water returns one can only assume that the animal population will have to be restocked from there and I’m not sure about this as I didn’t feel the terrain was suitable for giraffe in the first place…

To sum up: if you want to be in the wilderness, enjoy the quiet, look at the stars with zero light pollution and enjoy the desolation then try and get a reduced rate!!

Date of stay: February 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank BlomSKI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 February 2018

We had an excellent stay at Madi Madi and really enjoyed 2 nights at this nice place. The suites are so nice furnished and the bathroom is really wonderful. Unfortunately the river is presently dry due to the dramatic draught in this region. However, we observed giraffes and spring bocks and had really fun in this place. Additionally we made the horse tour with a nice guide and were only in a group of 3 persons. We got a lot of information from the staff and additionally spend some hours at the really nice pool. The animals living at the lodge (spring bocks, turtles, black bocks etc.) are really interesting to observe, one bock is really naughty and always tries to play with the guests. We enjoyed our stay and would visit Madi Madi again.

Room tip: There are only 6 rooms in this hotel and we think that all are at the same level as ours was.
Date of stay: February 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anja Cornelia S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 November 2017

Overall a disappointing experience. Despite the beautiful setting/ views and nice rooms the following were noted and experienced:
- Overpriced
- Required to pay for drinking water
- Average quality meals and service
- Formal hiking routes could only be done with a guide
- Faulty gate at the entrance of the lodge
- No adaptor for the hairdryer was provided in the room

Date of stay: November 2017
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank Glossop2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 November 2017

Our bungalow was spacious, well laid out and comfortable. Most of the food was excellent though a couple of things we had were overcooked. All the staff both in the lodge and on game drives were friendly and easy to get on with. The game drives with Marku and Cherise were very educational and very interesting. And the meerkats and Springboks are very friendly and adorable. All in all a lovely stay

Room tip: We stayed in thee first bungalow on the right as you enter (I think it’s room 1) and it was excellent.
Date of stay: October 2017
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Steve R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Botlierskop, Marketing at Madi-Madi Karoo Safari Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 25 November 2017

Good Morning,

Thank you for sharing your Madi-Madi experience. We are glad you enjoyed your stay at Madi. Your feedback, positive or negative is very important to improve our service.

Kind regards,
Madi-Madi Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 October 2017

Follow your directions very closely and do not rely on the GPS co-ordinates (we spent 2 hrs driving around on dirt roads which kept taking us to an unused back entrance)!
We arrived in the dark to a very warm welcome and a late dinner.
The morning also brought the surprise that there is no river - a 23 month drought has reduced it to one muddy waterhole. No river cruises as advertised but springbok walking across the dried river bed.
Breakfast was memorable. Not only was the food excellent but we had meerkats for company. Not tame enough to touch they are used to being fed and will climb over you and take food from your fingers (be careful they don't get your finger as well!).

Date of stay: September 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank John A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Botlierskop, Marketing at Madi-Madi Karoo Safari Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 20 October 2017

Good Day John,

Thank you for sharing your Madi-Madi Experience. We are glad you enjoyed your stay at Madi-Madi... Hopefully it will rain soon.

Thanks again for your time writing this wonderful review.
We hope to see you again in the near future.

Kind regards,
Alison

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews