We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“highly recommandable”
Review of Hlangana Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hlangana Lodge
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Oudtshoorn
Certificate of Excellence
The Hague, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“highly recommandable”
Reviewed 19 June 2012

We stayed at the Hlangana Lodge and had a wonderfull stay. The gardens are a real lush and well kept. The rooms are spacious and are overlooking the gardens and swimming pool. The staff is very very helpfull and gave us very good tips about what to visit in the area. Although the lodge has no restaurant the girl at reception (Chantal, if I remember well) made us a booking at a restaurant within walking distance and we had a very nice dinner. We were very surprised the next morning to find our car washed and cleaned, after 2 weeks of travelling the car sure was dusty and needed a clean ! We really can recommend this lodge to anyone visting Oudtshoorn !

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank josue d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

473 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    300
    142
    25
    6
    0
See reviews for
110
262
8
18
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Huntsville, Alabama
Level Contributor
28 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 June 2012

Hlangana Lodge is quite attractive and very comfortable. We were only there for one night but found the staff very helpful and the room large and pleasant. They do not have an onsite restaurant but several excellent choices are located very nearby.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank callen2900
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Petersfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 May 2012

This was our second stay at Hlangana Lodge and it was every bit as good as our first. The staff are welcoming, pleasant, helpful and charming. The rooms - we only booked "standard" ones - are beautifully equipped and very comfortable, complete with air-con. On arrival the lovely garden and pool are a most pleasing sight. We had had a rental-car breakdown on our way to Oudtshoorn and had been stuck at the side of the highway waiting for the replacement for nearly three hours, in temperatures up to 37oC. A dip in the pool followed by a nice cold G & T were heaven! Although the Lodge doesn't do Dinner, the reception staff are able to advise guests on where to eat in town. The Lodge's breakfast is extensive and delicious and served by more charming, pleasant staff. We were in South Africa for a very special birthday, my husband's 70th, meeting up with one son and daughter-out-law who live in Australia and the other son and daughter-out-law from UK. Hlangana Lodge didn't disappoint any of us!

Room Tip: The "standard" room are so good, if they are available why pay more!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Christine H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Falmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 May 2012

We stayed for 2 nights whilst on the garden route tour.
It was set in relaxing sorroundings, the garden area was lovely to look out onto.
It could do with some tlc especially in the bathrooms & decore could do with tweeking.
Staff were excellant..
A real Gem & Chloe the cat made it home from home.

Room Tip: The rooms were well presented Our room was right next door to the reception but as it was quiet the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tigga47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 March 2012

We enjoyed one night at Hlangana Lodge in a superior room.

Rooms are clean and spacious. The bathrooms are really nice with a spa bath and seperate toilet.

The property has really beautiful gardens, with white roses scattered all around the bushes. The pool is quite big and my son enjoyed all the space.

Breakfast the next morning was nice, full continental offering a number of baked breads and muffins. They serve champagne at breakfast.

Nice location, just down the road from all the resturants and also not too far from the Cango Caves and Wildlife Farm.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Zubayda E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Royal Tunbridge Wells, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 March 2012

We have stayed in the Hlangana Lodge before and enjoy the setting, with its pretty gardens and small pool. The rooms are fine, maybe a little dated but only in comparison to the extremely high quality of accommodation we stayed in elsewhere on our trip to the Cape.

The staff are not very confident and, on our visit, there didn't appear to be anyone in charge but despite that, it was run fairly smoothly.

The breakfast was fine - no complaints. The pool was definitely not dirty when we stayed. We had a superior room - the bathroom is an extremely good size with a separate loo. There could be a bit more storage space. There is ample room to provide this.

The location is very good for the Cango Caves and Wildlife Ranch, both of which are worth a visit and it is about 10 minutes' safe walk to 3/4 pleasant restaurants.

It is a bit unfortunate that the Lodge now seems to cater primarily for small tour groups on one-night stays but I guess they have to make their money somehow. At least the people leave fairly early in the morning which leaves the place quiet for the rest of the day should you want to relax by the pool.

Room Tip: I think the superior rooms are slightly better than the ones by the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank TillyT1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
68 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 March 2012

We believe we had the best room at the Lodge which was large and well furnished with a large comfortable sofa and small court yard to the back. It seemed to cater for tour companies with guests staying for one night. Small pool which was quite dirty and many guests just didn't want to swim. Unfortunately no evening meals, which in hindsight, was a bonus, as we found two excellent restaurants within a fifteen minute walk, with help from reception. Our guide book boosted 'famous for it's breakfasts'. We didn't experience this.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TWLR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Oudtshoorn hotels
1.0 mi away
Turnberry Boutique Hotel
Turnberry Boutique Hotel
#3 of 9 in Oudtshoorn
4.0 of 5 bubbles 291 reviews
15.3 mi away
Swartberg Country Manor
Swartberg Country Manor
#2 of 9 in Oudtshoorn
4.5 of 5 bubbles 175 reviews
0.2 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Oudtshoorn Riempie Estate
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Queens Hotel
Queens Hotel
#4 of 9 in Oudtshoorn
4.0 of 5 bubbles 322 reviews
0.8 mi away
Riverside Lodge
Riverside Lodge
#2 of 46 in Oudtshoorn
4.5 of 5 bubbles 304 reviews
0.9 mi away
Gumtree Guest House
Gumtree Guest House
#5 of 75 in Oudtshoorn
5.0 of 5 bubbles 556 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hlangana Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hlangana Lodge

Property: Hlangana Lodge
Address: 51 Norah Pott Street, Oudtshoorn 6625, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Oudtshoorn
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Oudtshoorn
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Hlangana Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to one of the finest small luxury guesthouses in South Africa, and the best choice for your stay in Oudtshoorn. Hlangana Lodge offers a pleasant relaxing atmosphere while guests are treated to the highest standard of luxury and service. The lodge is perfectly situated to serve as a haven from where one can explore Oudtshoorn and the surrounding countryside. AA awards finalist as best luxury lodge in South Africa 2010. Golden award for tourism, value for money, Madrid Spain 2010. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HRS so you can book your Hlangana Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hlangana Hotel Oudtshoorn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing