We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely location”
Review of Hlangana Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hlangana Lodge
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Oudtshoorn
Certificate of Excellence
Guernsey, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Lovely location”
Reviewed 3 October 2013

The Hlangana Lodge was a little difficult to find but we had a friendly police escort to help us find the lodge. The welcome was warm and the staff very helpful. Rooms were large, clean, and well appointed. Breakfast was good and plenty. A very relaxing location. Wish we could have stayed more than one night. We would highly recommend the Hlangana Lodge

Room Tip: Stay more than one night
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chris848
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

485 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    304
    147
    28
    6
    0
See reviews for
113
268
8
19
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level 6 Contributor
171 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 August 2013

The lodge is an excellent property located close to the city centre and cango wildlife ranch. Even though we arrived quite early, we received a very warm welcome. After being greeted with hot chocolate on the wintery day, we were able to leave the luggage at the hotel and proceed for sight-seeing.

Once back, we were escorted to our room and were in for a pleasant surprise when we realised we had been upgraded to a superior room. The spacious room had a separate living area, private patio and a Jacuzzi. The comfortable rooms are well furnished with glass doors overlooking the gardens.

The staff was wonderful and very helpful. The cosy and tranquil hotel has a great location and lovely rooms. Btw, don’t be surprised if you see a chubby cat who looks like Garfield roaming around in the gardens!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Swathi999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 August 2013

Wonderful setting in picturesque scenery. Elegant setting with luxury accommodation. Friendly and obliging staff, even after I pranged their front gate! Breakfast was of high standard. An enjoyable stay. Thoroughly recommend .

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Willysom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town And Belgium
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 14 August 2013

A huge thank you to Angelique and her team at Hlangana Lodge in Oudtshoorn - you have no idea , but Andy and myself didnt want to leave that day - fell inlove with the serenity and tranquility of Hlangana Lodge
Each one of you plays a role and it comes together at the end where you get feedback from your guests !!
loved the cleanliness and peace and quiet although close to main road , but you hardly hear any traffic
Loved our stay indeed !!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 32Misha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2013

Clean, comfortable, relaxed, good service and great breakfast. Business stay. Huge bathroom and spa bath which might be great for holiday guests. The decor needs an update, although I should mention that this a personal opinion and taste. They are trying to maintain an African theme. Great proximity to town for business. Staff super friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TheDomingos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2013

to the ladies at Hlangana Lodge, thank you for your hospitality and always making us feel at home. this is the third time we visited the lodge and still the same experience. Angelique, Chantelle and Anja, well done guys. Also to the staff, keep it up. We will be back soon.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Charmelle B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Immenstaad, Germany
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 June 2013

we stay only one night at hlangana but it was a very pleasant stay. Very friendly people, a helpful staff and a beautiful garden let us feel happy. For other restaurants its a 5-10 minutes walk and to "downtown" we need 20 minutes per feed. The breakfast includes a big variety, including ostrich sausage. Try it. mmmh.

Thank you for a wonderful stay

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ArminundGabi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Oudtshoorn hotels
0.2 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Oudtshoorn Riempie Estate
1.0 mi away
Turnberry Boutique Hotel
Turnberry Boutique Hotel
#4 of 9 in Oudtshoorn
298 reviews
15.3 mi away
Swartberg Country Manor
Swartberg Country Manor
#2 of 9 in Oudtshoorn
178 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Queens Hotel
Queens Hotel
#3 of 9 in Oudtshoorn
329 reviews
1.9 mi away
86 on Langenhoven Bed & Breakfast
0.8 mi away
Riverside Lodge
Riverside Lodge
#2 of 46 in Oudtshoorn
311 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hlangana Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hlangana Lodge

Property: Hlangana Lodge
Address: 51 North Street, Oudtshoorn 6625, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Oudtshoorn
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Oudtshoorn
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Hlangana Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to one of the finest small luxury guesthouses in South Africa, and the best choice for your stay in Oudtshoorn. Hlangana Lodge offers a pleasant relaxing atmosphere while guests are treated to the highest standard of luxury and service. The lodge is perfectly situated to serve as a haven from where one can explore Oudtshoorn and the surrounding countryside. AA awards finalist as best luxury lodge in South Africa 2010. Golden award for tourism, value for money, Madrid Spain 2010. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hlangana Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hlangana Hotel Oudtshoorn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing