We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful green place” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hlangana Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hlangana Lodge
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Oudtshoorn
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Wonderful green place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 March 2014

I was travelling solo within a small travel group. Our welcome at the Lodge was very friendly and a bubbly glass was offered to us. The setting is absolutely beautiful within plenty of green, lots of colourful flowers and well maintained gardens around the pool. The rooms have their own terrace with a wonderful view to the garden and pool and were very spacious and quiet. Breakfast was excellent with a good choice of meals and a very friendly service. I especially liked the outdoor seating option. The Lodge is also quite centrally located and in walking distance to some of the restaurants though not really downtown. A very lovely place to stay if you want to explore Oudtshoorn and its surroundings.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CityEveTravelling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

455 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    289
    136
    25
    5
    0
See reviews for
101
256
8
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Uk
Level Contributor
83 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 March 2014

Wow, this place is gorgeous, so pleased that we had the opportunity to stay here whilst touring around in South Africa.
My husband and I stayed here on the 1st of March for our wedding anniversary.
We were touring around the Garden Route also for my 40th birthday.
I am so happy we booked, if we had not have visited we would have missed out.. We would return here again and again.. Beautiful.
The staff are so amazing and so helpful, Chantal and Angelique were great and could not have been and more friendly they really make this place.
We were pleasantly surprised when made to feel so welcome Chantal said I have great news for you and had upgraded us to the Honeymoon suite.
This room is gorgeous with a lovely terrace at the front overlooking the lush gardens and plants with comfortable furniture to relax in and we also had a private patio and garden with lovely flowers and plants at the back of our room totally private and very relaxing.
Wonderful large room very comfortable large bed, huge bathroom, hair dryer, tea and coffee making facilities, lovely furnishings, safe, flowers in the room and so quiet and chilled out.
A lovely oasis.
We drove a few minutes into the town, great choice of restaurants and shops around, fab location.
The whole lodge and gardens where so well kept and so relaxing it was a dream to stay here.
So clean and everything you could want.
Easy to find and secure parking.
Breakfast was so lovely and the lady that served us was so helpful, plenty of choice at breakfast time you help yourself to start and then can order a full breakfast and this was so tasty.
Lovely juices and fruit, we enjoyed our eggs and bacon, cereals, toasts, etc
We had breakfast outside in the gardens taking in the sun and listening to the birds, truly beautiful.
Everything was easy and relaxing just how it should be when on holiday..
Love this place, the great gardens, lovely accommodation, the swimming pool, and the amazing staff always there to help.
We want to go back now.. Thank you to all the staff , you are amazing and should be so proud thank you for looking after us so well and the lovely flowers in our room the room upgrade and the sparkling wine you gave to us when we left for our wedding anniversary(Angelique) it means so much.
Chantal the sun did come out the next day and lasted for the rest of our trip.. Thank you...
I can totally recommend a visit here... Book up now you will not be disappointed. :) :) :) :)

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 420holiday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
54 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 February 2014

Great staff and service and comfortable if fairly standard room (air con, big bathroom, garden views). The gardens are very pretty with lots of intersting birds (eg Pied Kingfisher and Hadida) so it was a good place to stay before visiting the Cango Caves the following morning.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank seergreen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wirral
Level Contributor
50 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 February 2014

We stayed for 1 night in early February. We thought the location was closer to town, it is 1.8kms away, so more a short drive than a walk away.
The first impressions of the property are good. It has very beautiful well minted gardens which are very spacious. The initial greeting was friendly with a drink offered whilst we completed the registration details. We were then shown to our room. It was fine, but we were disappointed. We had booked a superior room with a king bed and had been placed in a family room. We had a look on the Internet, via the free wi fi, and could see is was a cheaper room than the one we had booked. We went back to reception and after a few minutes and discussions between staff we were shown the room type we had booked. We were then given the choice of which room we wanted. We choose the superior room as the difference in cost was well worth it for us. The excellent service continued with a restaurant booking being made for us as the lodge does not have a restaurant. They had a selection of menus from various restaurant for guests to look at. The restaurant was about a 10 minute walk away and we were told it was safe to walk it as it was along the main road into town. Breakfast did not disappoint and good good directions were given to an ostrich farm that we could visit on the was to our next overnight stop. We would definitely stay here again and recommend.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank D&DWirral
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Welwyn, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
416 reviews
115 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 470 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 February 2014

Hlangana certainly impresses on arrival, with lovely leafy grounds, a smiling welcome from Angelique and a much needed drink on offer (37 deg that day!).

We had booked a superior room for our two night stay, and our first impression was that it was a little austere. The second was that it - as other reviewers have remarked - somewhat in need of refurbishing. That said, it was clean and bright with a comfy wide bed - (actually twins masqerading as a king bed, it transpired). The bathroom too was in need of a new look. Our room faced the lovely garden, with two nice wicker chairs to sit in and enjoy the view.

Breakfast next day on the sunny patio was very good, with most items you might want on the buffet and freshly, well cooked, hot options.

That day, we took a look in some standard rooms, in the original block facing the pool, and were a little surprised to see that these cheaper, although slightly smaller rooms, have been redone in modern light tones with matching soft furnishings, and spruced up bathrooms. We commented on this to management and it was explained that the refurbishing project was ongoing, in low season.

Hlangana has a lot going for it. I could find fault with the slight paucity of "nice to have" room goodies, (robes, complimentary water, biscuits, face flannels etc), but these are details and Hlangana works on the comfort and ambience front. When and if we return to Oudtshoorn, this oasis of calm will be our first choice - in a standard room, if refurbishment is still in progress.

I was plesantly surprised on check out to receive a small discount on my final bill, following my comments on our superior room vs the standard rooms. Not many places would see the need to do something like that! Thank you Debbie!

Room Tip: The superior rooms are not yet refurbished (2014 plan), so decoration in smaller, standard rooms is...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank grahamee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BV171, Owner at Hlangana Lodge, responded to this review, 18 February 2014
Dear Graham,

Thank you for your honest and accurate review, my wife and I had to agree with you feedback and we immediately started on the Superior room improvements.

Please go onto our facebook page to see a photo of the honeymoon suite upgrade we did last week, the Superior rooms will all be done in the next weeks.

These upgrades include new top quality linen, king sized microfibre pillows, super-king sized duvets and just a more modern and crisp look.

We will post photo's on our facebook page to keep our guests updated on improvements.

Please feel free to contact me directly on any other suggestions, we really are open to any ideas to keep improving to meet guests requirements and modern standards.

Kind regards from Oudtshoorn,

Bert Verlinde
Hlangana Lodge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wakefield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 February 2014

Nothing much to add to previous reviews except to say that our room (No.5) was absolutely lovely, with a big bathroom that was very clean and modern. The room itself was large and comfortable, with good wifi, and fully stocked minibar.
The breakfast was excellent, and food is available via room service at all times, but limited to cold meat/cheese platter type dishes. Good restaurants within walking distance.
The stand-out feature of this hotel, though, is the staff. They are uniformly excellent- motivated, helpful and pleasant. If you have a reason to be in the area, this is the place to stay.
Only minus was a little road noise at busy times.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Neil S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
102 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 February 2014

We had a lovely overnight stay here on our way back to Johannesburg - the main room was big (the second room with two single beds was fine for the kids), the lodge was the only accommodation (of 4 other hotels we stayed at on the trip) to offer a completely stocked mini-bar. The free wi-fi was a huge advantage. And the champagne breakfast was scrummy (it even included raisin bread and banana bread!) The rooms all offer a little patio (with a small table and two chairs) overlooking the lush gardens and the salt-water pool was very pleasant. A pity there is no restaurant at the lodge, but Oudtshoorn has plenty of unique eateries to choose from (you can, however, order drinks and one or two snack-type platters from the bar).

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PurdyFamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Oudtshoorn hotels
1.0 mi away
Turnberry Boutique Hotel
Turnberry Boutique Hotel
#3 of 9 in Oudtshoorn
4.5 of 5 bubbles 284 reviews
15.2 mi away
Swartberg Country Manor
Swartberg Country Manor
#2 of 9 in Oudtshoorn
4.5 of 5 bubbles 162 reviews
0.2 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Oudtshoorn Riempie Estate
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Queens Hotel
Queens Hotel
#4 of 9 in Oudtshoorn
4.0 of 5 bubbles 302 reviews
0.9 mi away
Riverside Lodge
Riverside Lodge
#4 of 47 in Oudtshoorn
4.5 of 5 bubbles 287 reviews
5.7 mi away
De Zeekoe Guest Farm
De Zeekoe Guest Farm
#5 of 47 in Oudtshoorn
4.5 of 5 bubbles 840 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hlangana Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hlangana Lodge

Property: Hlangana Lodge
Address: 51 Norah Pott Street, Oudtshoorn 6625, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Oudtshoorn
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Oudtshoorn
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Hlangana Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to one of the finest small luxury guesthouses in South Africa, and the best choice for your stay in Oudtshoorn. Hlangana Lodge offers a pleasant relaxing atmosphere while guests are treated to the highest standard of luxury and service. The lodge is perfectly situated to serve as a haven from where one can explore Oudtshoorn and the surrounding countryside. AA awards finalist as best luxury lodge in South Africa 2010. Golden award for tourism, value for money, Madrid Spain 2010. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Hlangana Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hlangana Hotel Oudtshoorn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing