We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Peaceful” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hlangana Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hlangana Lodge
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Oudtshoorn
Certificate of Excellence
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Peaceful”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 June 2014

We had a great stay here and an awesome breakfast in the morning. An easy walk to a good local restaurant recommended by the staff. Clean, spacious rooms. Only comment would be to get their TV reception working properly and have more sport options....for guys it's nice to be able to watch a live game, but they only had one sport channel

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank EktoNZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

455 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    289
    136
    25
    5
    0
See reviews for
101
256
8
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2014

We loved our stay at Hlangana Lodge. I really cannot fault the place and would strongly recommend it. Peaceful ambiance, private and relaxing. Well manicured gardens. Angelique could not do enough for us.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nigel B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
60 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 June 2014

We staid in this lodge only one day, maybe to less, but we will forever remember about this place and experience. The service was perfect. The accommodations very clean and spaciouses with a wonderful view of the garden. Suggested to all the peaple that need relax and comfort in south Africa.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank giorgiolongoni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
156 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 June 2014

Hlangana Lodge is beautiful - has lovely gardens and well located. Not in the city centre but a short distance away.

The rooms are all clean, nice and convenient. Beds are comfortable as is the space provided in the room. It is nice that the room door opens into the main garden. However, bathroom amenities are okay, nothing great.

We only had one problem: Yellow water coming from our shower. They first told us to drain out the bath tub and refill and check. We did that and it was still yellow. When they came and checked they said it is normal for water in this area when there is pipe repair work. This was a little strange. After all of this, when we went to shower (with the yellow water) the water was freezing cold. It was then that they said, hot water is limited and it has all gotten over as we drained it out!! However, they did not tell us that hot water was limited in the first place.

Anyway, the staff was very very apologetic about it and apologised to us several times over and over again. Just that, in the end, no real solution was provided. This is the reason for one less * rating.

Overall Hlangana was a very nice Lodge, something different and beautiful and I would recommend staying there when in Oudtshoorn.

Room Tip: All the rooms are the same; facing the garden.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 2013Travel_Companion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BV171, Owner at Hlangana Lodge, responded to this review, 5 June 2014
Thank you for your kind review on our accommodation, gardens and helpful staff.

On the water issue, when our municipality does pipe maintenance (This can be 30km away), then there can be colouration in Oudtshoorn's water. Luckily this rarely happens, about once per year. Normally Oudtshoorn's water is some of the best quality in South Africa due to our close proximity to the mountains and is also very safe to drink. I can assure you on your next visit to us the water will be clear!

Our philosophy is to go the extra mile for our guests and assist where we can to make everyone's stay as comfortable as possible, unfortunately there are 2 things we cannot control, the colour of our water and the weather!

We do offer the following to warm up the 2014 winter:

1. We have a very good value for money 25% discount on our rates.

2. We have added cosy gas heaters in our lounge and bar areas (You can take this to your room if you'd like). And in the rooms, extra to the air-conditioners we have added warm blankets and place warm water bottles in your bed for when you return from dinner.

We have even made our cappuccino's free of charge this winter!

Warm and friendly regards from Oudtshoorn,

Bert Verlinde & staff.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bruxelles, Belgium
Level Contributor
38 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 May 2014 via mobile

Nice guest house with a beautiful gardner. It's a little far from the centre, quiet and with a good standard of services, good breakfast, wise advices about dinner plans. The rooms are fine even if the furniture seems to come directly from the country side in the 60's, from a European point of view. But well, this seems to be the regional style and who really love to travel having the feeling to be in the same design magazine all around the world?
Minus points in our room the bed table were ridiculous tiny, not event the place with a glass of water (see the pics of other guests).
The people running the place are professional, but a little cold compared to the average in ZA (maybe this is a place more enjoyable for groups than for couples?)

Stayed April 2014
Helpful?
Thank enea_z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sutton Coldfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 May 2014 via mobile

What a lovely hotel, with friendly staff the Lodge situated in a great location perfect for the town or visiting further afield If you are visiting the area you will not find a nicer place to stay, I wish we were here for longer.
We are already looking forward to our next trip to the area to spend more time at Hlangana Lodge.

Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Lee W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
37 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 April 2014

The gardens are large and spectacular. The gardens have a tropical cum country garden-like feel. The terraces from the rooms have beautiful views.

We stayed in the family suite right at the end. The room was quite compact but very clean and fresh smelling. The bedding was exceptional, as soft and smooth as silk. We had a good quality sleep which is the most important thing.

The breakfast was varied. Everything was fresh and very tasty. A wonderful way to start the day. The location is also ideal for all of the nearby attractions and restaurants.

There are a few things that could really put this guesthouse into a boutique hotel status. The rooms can be overhauled by a professional interior decorator to match the exquisiteness of the gardens.(I feel that this is an essential investment for this guesthouse.) If possible a little more variety with regard to television stations. The pool is overshadowed by very beautiful but large trees. This poses two problems, 1. The pool gets dirty quickly and 2. This shortens the swimming season considerably which is a shame as the pool is quite lovely.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gubby25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Oudtshoorn hotels
1.0 mi away
Turnberry Boutique Hotel
Turnberry Boutique Hotel
#3 of 9 in Oudtshoorn
4.5 of 5 bubbles 285 reviews
15.2 mi away
Swartberg Country Manor
Swartberg Country Manor
#2 of 9 in Oudtshoorn
4.5 of 5 bubbles 163 reviews
0.2 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Oudtshoorn Riempie Estate
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Queens Hotel
Queens Hotel
#4 of 9 in Oudtshoorn
4.0 of 5 bubbles 303 reviews
0.9 mi away
Riverside Lodge
Riverside Lodge
#2 of 47 in Oudtshoorn
4.5 of 5 bubbles 289 reviews
5.7 mi away
De Zeekoe Guest Farm
De Zeekoe Guest Farm
#5 of 47 in Oudtshoorn
4.5 of 5 bubbles 840 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hlangana Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hlangana Lodge

Property: Hlangana Lodge
Address: 51 Norah Pott Street, Oudtshoorn 6625, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Oudtshoorn
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Oudtshoorn
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Hlangana Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to one of the finest small luxury guesthouses in South Africa, and the best choice for your stay in Oudtshoorn. Hlangana Lodge offers a pleasant relaxing atmosphere while guests are treated to the highest standard of luxury and service. The lodge is perfectly situated to serve as a haven from where one can explore Oudtshoorn and the surrounding countryside. AA awards finalist as best luxury lodge in South Africa 2010. Golden award for tourism, value for money, Madrid Spain 2010. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Hlangana Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hlangana Hotel Oudtshoorn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing