We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really Lovely”
Review of Hlangana Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hlangana Lodge
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Oudtshoorn
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 22 July 2014

Lovely place to stay, clean and accommodating. Service was tops, from our arrival to our departure. I am glad we made the decision to stop over there for the night to break our travels to the Northern Cape.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shelly C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (492)
There are newer reviews for Hlangana Lodge
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

206 - 212 of 492 reviews

Reviewed 19 July 2014

The roughest part was checking in- we had to drag our luggage across the parking lot to the reception and then to the room for a total distance of about 30 meters. There really wasn't much to complaint about- free wifi, coffee and tea, double sinks in the bathroom, European electrical outlets (didn't see the American one) and the running air-conditioning to warm us in the cold winter. Staff was courteous, attentive and helpful.

The rooms and the lodge weren't big but worked like a clockwork. There is even a small table in the bathroom to let you put your change of clothes there. It was also a nice surprise to find hot water bottles when we turned in for the night. Laundry service is available to those who stay longer than one night and charged by the kilo. The lodge only served breakfast as part of the package but for lunch and dinner there are some of the best rated restaurants in that town on the same street few hundred meters away. We walked to our restaurant so we could drink more. However, walking in the dark in general is not advisable anywhere especially for tourists but we felt safe.

The lodge itself is not big so during the busy season some may not appreciate rubbing shoulders with fellow traveler in close quarters. However, we are extremely impressed by the thoughts that have been put into that lodge. It is clear the proprietors/management are experienced traveler themselves and know the right questions to answer. Very nicely done.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Leon_ohyeah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2014

We spent 3 nights at Lhangana Lodge. It was truly wonderful. Conveniently situated and once you have checked in, everything runs smoothly. The room was spacious and everything one possibly needed was there. Comfortable and clean. The staff are always friendly and very willing to assist. Although there is not a restaurant on site for lunch or dinner , the breakfast was fantastic . The staff were very knowledgeable about restaurants in the area and were happy to make reservations for us. Definitely a place I would recommend and go back too.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
1  Thank Ant B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2014

We had a great stay here and an awesome breakfast in the morning. An easy walk to a good local restaurant recommended by the staff. Clean, spacious rooms. Only comment would be to get their TV reception working properly and have more sport options....for guys it's nice to be able to watch a live game, but they only had one sport channel

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EktoNZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2014

We loved our stay at Hlangana Lodge. I really cannot fault the place and would strongly recommend it. Peaceful ambiance, private and relaxing. Well manicured gardens. Angelique could not do enough for us.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nigel B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2014

We staid in this lodge only one day, maybe to less, but we will forever remember about this place and experience. The service was perfect. The accommodations very clean and spaciouses with a wonderful view of the garden. Suggested to all the peaple that need relax and comfort in south Africa.

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank giorgiolongoni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2014

Hlangana Lodge is beautiful - has lovely gardens and well located. Not in the city centre but a short distance away.

The rooms are all clean, nice and convenient. Beds are comfortable as is the space provided in the room. It is nice that the room door opens into the main garden. However, bathroom amenities are okay, nothing great.

We only had one problem: Yellow water coming from our shower. They first told us to drain out the bath tub and refill and check. We did that and it was still yellow. When they came and checked they said it is normal for water in this area when there is pipe repair work. This was a little strange. After all of this, when we went to shower (with the yellow water) the water was freezing cold. It was then that they said, hot water is limited and it has all gotten over as we drained it out!! However, they did not tell us that hot water was limited in the first place.

Anyway, the staff was very very apologetic about it and apologised to us several times over and over again. Just that, in the end, no real solution was provided. This is the reason for one less * rating.

Overall Hlangana was a very nice Lodge, something different and beautiful and I would recommend staying there when in Oudtshoorn.

Room Tip: All the rooms are the same; facing the garden.
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 2013Travel_Companion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BV171, Owner at Hlangana Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 5 June 2014

Thank you for your kind review on our accommodation, gardens and helpful staff.

On the water issue, when our municipality does pipe maintenance (This can be 30km away), then there can be colouration in Oudtshoorn's water. Luckily this rarely happens, about once per year. Normally Oudtshoorn's water is some of the best quality in South Africa due to our close proximity to the mountains and is also very safe to drink. I can assure you on your next visit to us the water will be clear!

Our philosophy is to go the extra mile for our guests and assist where we can to make everyone's stay as comfortable as possible, unfortunately there are 2 things we cannot control, the colour of our water and the weather!

We do offer the following to warm up the 2014 winter:

1. We have a very good value for money 25% discount on our rates.

2. We have added cosy gas heaters in our lounge and bar areas (You can take this to your room if you'd like). And in the rooms, extra to the air-conditioners we have added warm blankets and place warm water bottles in your bed for when you return from dinner.

We have even made our cappuccino's free of charge this winter!

Warm and friendly regards from Oudtshoorn,

Bert Verlinde & staff.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Oudtshoorn hotels
0.2 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Oudtshoorn Riempie Estate
1.0 mi away
Turnberry Boutique Hotel
Turnberry Boutique Hotel
#4 of 9 in Oudtshoorn
304 reviews
15.3 mi away
Swartberg Country Manor
Swartberg Country Manor
#2 of 9 in Oudtshoorn
185 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Queens Hotel
Queens Hotel
#3 of 9 in Oudtshoorn
345 reviews
1.9 mi away
86 on Langenhoven Bed & Breakfast
5.6 mi away
De Zeekoe Guest Farm
De Zeekoe Guest Farm
#5 of 49 in Oudtshoorn
908 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hlangana Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hlangana Lodge

Address: 51 North Street, Oudtshoorn 6625, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Oudtshoorn
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Oudtshoorn
Price Range: £56 - £107 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hlangana Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to one of the finest small luxury guesthouses in South Africa, and the best choice for your stay in Oudtshoorn. Hlangana Lodge offers a pleasant relaxing atmosphere while guests are treated to the highest standard of luxury and service. The lodge is perfectly situated to serve as a haven from where one can explore Oudtshoorn and the surrounding countryside. AA awards finalist as best luxury lodge in South Africa 2010. Golden award for tourism, value for money, Madrid Spain 2010. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Hlangana Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hlangana Hotel Oudtshoorn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing