We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fell in love with this place!”
Review of Hlangana Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hlangana Lodge
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Oudtshoorn
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 1 January 2007

My husband and I stayed two nights here in December 2006 as part of our tour of Cape Town, the Winelands and Route 62. It was lovely. The garden and pool area was gorgeous, the rooms were spacious and spotlessly clean and the breakfasts were very good. The staff were amongst the most helpful and friendly we met on our trip. There were excellent restaurants within walking distance (Jemima's in particular). Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: December 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank Frenchay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (492)
There are newer reviews for Hlangana Lodge
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

337 - 343 of 492 reviews

A TripAdvisor Member
England
110
Reviewed 5 November 2004

My wife, Suzie, and I have recently stayed with you at Hlangana for 6 days and write to compliment you on your lodge and the organization From England, studying the brochures and web sites, we had some difficulty in deciding where to stay in Oudtshoorn /George/ Kynysa/ Plettenburg and decided to stay with you for two nights and then stay at one of the other towns.

However, we visited the other towns on our way to Oudtshoorn and were unimpressed with them compared to your town. We, therefore, decided to stay with you for some extra days and visit George etc which was very easy. We think that Oudtshoorn is very underestimated by most people and travel guides as they talk about only the Ostrich Farms and the Caves - these are excellent but there is also the museum, the Ostrich Palaces, some very good shops and charming people but most of all the wonderful restaurants (we ate at 5 of them in 6 days!) .

Your lodge is in the very best position of all the accommodation and very, very well organised - our only comment is that it took 5 days for our postcards to be sent when we left them at reception) - of particular mention was your receptionist, Amey (?) and her colleague who couldn't have been more helpful and charming - also your breakfasts, the standard of cleaning, the lovely garden etc were very creditable.



Please use us as a reference - we hope to see you again before too long.

Richard and Suzie George

England

  • Stayed: January 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
Thank Ari1900
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
2  Thank Lala H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Sjoerd W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank nan s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Pitu C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Oudtshoorn hotels
0.2 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Oudtshoorn Riempie Estate
1.0 mi away
Turnberry Boutique Hotel
Turnberry Boutique Hotel
#4 of 9 in Oudtshoorn
304 reviews
15.3 mi away
Swartberg Country Manor
Swartberg Country Manor
#2 of 9 in Oudtshoorn
185 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Queens Hotel
Queens Hotel
#3 of 9 in Oudtshoorn
343 reviews
1.9 mi away
86 on Langenhoven Bed & Breakfast
8.4 mi away
Old Mill Country Lodge & Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hlangana Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hlangana Lodge

Address: 51 North Street, Oudtshoorn 6625, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Oudtshoorn
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Oudtshoorn
Price Range: £52 - £104 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hlangana Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to one of the finest small luxury guesthouses in South Africa, and the best choice for your stay in Oudtshoorn. Hlangana Lodge offers a pleasant relaxing atmosphere while guests are treated to the highest standard of luxury and service. The lodge is perfectly situated to serve as a haven from where one can explore Oudtshoorn and the surrounding countryside. AA awards finalist as best luxury lodge in South Africa 2010. Golden award for tourism, value for money, Madrid Spain 2010. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hlangana Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hlangana Hotel Oudtshoorn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing