We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome service!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Mooiplaas Guesthouse
Certificate of Excellence
Cape Town
Level 6 Contributor
117 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Awesome service!”
Reviewed 1 July 2013 via mobile

We checked in quite late, but André received us and organised some dinner... took it all in his stride.
The ladies working in the kitchen was also very friendly and efficient!
Overall an excellent stay!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TouristGuideAlbert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

335 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    205
    102
    21
    7
    0
See reviews for
82
177
7
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
kent
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 April 2013 via mobile

We stayed just one night at Mooiplas but wish it could have been more. We were greeted by Andre who really did make our stay. He was so funny, chatty, and a great great host who made our stay memorable. Our rooms were the new ones and were luxurious in every way. Large bed, large bath and rain shower, patio with table and chairs with a stunning view. So relaxing there. We were then invited to a braii for evening meal. This was taken in the main house and was ostrich steaks. Next morning after breakfast we went on the Ostrich farm tour where Chris our guide made sure we had all the knowledge and history of the ostrich farming industry. We saw the incubators and the babies just hatching out, it was amazing !!! We all loved this place and would certainly recommend it. Thanks Andre


Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank leboisbourdin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tenterden, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
78 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 March 2013

Having driven 5 hours to get to Mooiplaas in 40 degree heat, we longed to dive into the pool to unwind....but we found we were not housed in the main Guest House, but in the annex, down the road. Swimming costume on.....but the pool was quite disgustingly dirty, it was completely cloudy, you could not see the bottom and on climbing onto the steps, it was thick green slime, no way could anyone swim in this pool. It hadn't been cleaned for a long time. To dine at night, one had to walk back down the lane to the main building, and this in great anticipation, to have dinner on the ostrich farm. Tables were laid on the verandah of the main building outside some of the bedrooms, and unfortunately we were positioned outside the room of some very rowdy German children, who persisted in playing football and other games on the grass area beside our dining table, you could not eat in peace. Neither the parents nor the staff did anything to stop this. Having had a long journey, we then walked back to the annex to go to bed. On turning down the bed covers we found strange bugs crawling in the bedding, size of small beetles, we tried to kill them, but their hard shells would not break!! Not knowing if these were bed bugs, we decided to strip the whole bed of all bedding, and found many other bugs. As it was late at night and no staff were in the building, we decided to move the bed and to our horror the whole carpet area under the bed was alive with bugs of several different sorts. We killed them all with spray. Next morning we confronted the owner with the problems of the pool and the bugs, and she explained that the pool cleaner was needed at their house for a plumbing problem that day, but she was appalled at the bugs, and offered us a free dinner for the night before. In the beroom is a book of comments from previous guests, and some had similar experiences to ourselves.
The gentleman giving the ostrich tour was excellent, very interesting and good fun.

Room Tip: Only stay in the main Guest House, and then be prepared to be disturbed by other guests, and if poss...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Malcolm P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KarenOParkin, Public Relations Manager at Mooiplaas Guesthouse, responded to this review, 1 April 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write your comments. In the hotel business sometimes, no matter how hard we try, it is as if Mr Murphy steps in and things can go wrong. We are extremely sorry for the distress that you experienced during your stay with us. I can assure you that this is not our standard (as other reviews attest). The annex is a newly renovated farmhouse. Guests who have stayed there have enjoyed the peace and tranquility of the location whilst still enjoying all the facilities at the main guest house a few hundred metres away. There is ample parking at both locations and if guests don’t wish to walk, they are welcome to drive the short distance. The swimming pools at the guest house (at the main guest house and the new house) are cleaned daily. Unfortunately on the day of your stay, there had been a broken pipe which flooded into the pool and our gardener was occupied on the farm. I apologise for the beetles that were in your room. This has never occurred before, and all we can say is that we will ensure that it never occurs again. Since our guest house is on a farm, we do provide spray for the odd bug – for the convenience of our guests.

Our guest house is family friendly. We could have seated you at a table for inside the dining room which would have been quiet, but thought you would have enjoyed being outside better. In future, we’ll be sure to check with guests to ensure that children do not disturb other guests.

When we spoke the next morning, I was of course mortified and extremely sorry for your discomfort. We therefore did not charge you for dinner the previous night and offered you the free ostrich tour which we are glad you enjoyed.

Please accept our apologies. We cannot undo your experience. All we can do is assure you that this is not our normal standard, and to say that we will use your comments constructively to ensure that this never happens again.

Kind regards
Hanlie Keller
Owner of Mooiplaas Guest House
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
aberdeen, scotland
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 March 2013

Our tour of SA was arranged by a South African/German based company(Umfulana) who seem adept at providing excellent accommodation in spectacular locations. Mooiplaas did not dissappoint; what made it exceptional was the front of house performance of Andre - just has to be experienced! We also had the excellent osterich steaks which made the following days visit to the adjoining farm a bit strained; Chris was an excellent guide with his local knowledge and love of the country. Memorable.

Room Tip: They all seem to provide excellent views being arranged in a curve facing the Swartberg hills
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank patbarron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berlin, Germany
Level 5 Contributor
48 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 March 2013

We stayed here for one night and had a fantastic stay. The room (we had the cheapest one I think) was beautiful and all mod cons were there, even a few extras such as a hot water bottle, bookcase filled with books, large mini bar etc. There were even flower petals in the toilet, which is very Barbara Streisand!
The location is beautiful and we would have enjoyed the pool if it wasn't for a large family with lots of loud kids who monopolised it.
The wine comes in big glasses filled to the brim which makes for excellent value. Dinner on the lawn was delicious and the setting gorgeous. The service from the house manager was brilliant! Sadly we didn't get to visit the ostrich farm as I got sick, but the owner managed to arrange a doctor's appointment in no time, as well as finding us an excellent alternative accommodation for the next day as we couldn't leave.
The final touch was that they even washed our dusty car!!
Thoroughly recommended.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kookystyle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 February 2013

We stopped here for 2 nights, and were really impressed with the rooms (adjoining family suite). We had their dinner (osterich braii) one night, and the host Andre was really entertaining and the food was great value. Definitely worth joining Ben for a tour of the Osterich farm too. It is a 10min drive out of town but worth it for the experience and all the extras.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shelley C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aarschot
Level 4 Contributor
49 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 January 2013

Location, surrounding scenery, swimming pool,it all was simply beeautiful. we had dinner there in the evening and the setting was incredible and the food really tasty. it was however a tad expensive and you really have no other options as a ride into town and back is easily 30 km and the road is not well lit at night. Our room was huge and tastefully decorated and the breakfast also very good. To top things off we had there ostrich tour, which we enjoyed very much. Highly recommended !

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michalinho13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Oudtshoorn hotels
6.6 mi away
Hlangana Lodge
Hlangana Lodge
#1 of 9 in Oudtshoorn
489 reviews
1.4 mi away
De Zeekoe Guest Farm
De Zeekoe Guest Farm
#5 of 47 in Oudtshoorn
901 reviews
17.5 mi away
Rietfontein Ostrich Palace
Rietfontein Ostrich Palace
#9 of 47 in Oudtshoorn
153 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.8 mi away
Buffelsdrift Game Lodge
Buffelsdrift Game Lodge
#3 of 47 in Oudtshoorn
873 reviews
1.3 mi away
De Denne Country Guest House
De Denne Country Guest House
#13 of 47 in Oudtshoorn
215 reviews
16.0 mi away
Chandelier Game Lodge & Ostrich Show Farm
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mooiplaas Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mooiplaas Guesthouse

Property: Mooiplaas Guesthouse
Address: Mooiplaas | Volmoed, Oudtshoorn 6620, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Oudtshoorn
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 47 Speciality Lodging in Oudtshoorn
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Mooiplaas Guesthouse 4*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mooiplaas Guesthouse is situated 10 km outside Oudtshoorn with magnificent views over the Swartberg Mountains. We do Farms tours that will give you more information about the Ostriches and the history of the Farm and Keller Family. We do serve dinner, real South African cuisine on the open fire with true Klein Karoo hospitality. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Mooiplaas Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing