We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic and friendly”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Mooiplaas Guesthouse
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 25 June 2014

Some 10 kilometers outside Oudtshoorn (Westkaap) we stayed two nights in one of the great rooms of the Mooiplaas Guesthouse.
The very friendly André welcomed us. An very informative and nice guy.

The Guesthouse is a really 'baije mooie plaas'. We had a spacious room with a even more spacious bed. A big bathroom with seperate bath and shower, flowers in the loo (I feel sorry we had to flush them away after using the toilet) and outside a magnificent view over the countryside with in front a couple of funny ostrices. We had dinner in the restaurant and that was supurb. Food from the braai, pumpkin soup, great wine, u name it. Breakfast was both European as full English. Our second day Sabine was our guestlady, as helpfull and friendly as André. Nice people. For sure we can recommend mooiplaas as a fantastic play to stay when visiting the klein Karoo.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CentWestern
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (372)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

150 - 156 of 372 reviews

Reviewed 10 June 2014

Well run guesthouse with large, spotlessly clean, well equipped accommodation. The manager is a character and is very friendly, he was very helpful and gave us excellent advice on the best way to spend our day at Oudtshoorn. The breakfast was plentiful and the evening meal was very good, saved us having to go out and look for food after a long journey. The views to the front of the property are spectacular and the braai which was lit outside looked very inviting, unfortunately our short stay prevented us from sitting around with other guests enjoying the evening. For amateur astronomers there is a large telescope that can be used to gaze at the stars.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank OspreySwansea_Wales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2014 via mobile

We stopped off in Oudtshoorn for two nights while traveling R62.
The staff at Mooiplaas were extremely friendly and polite. They gave us a map with personalized notes on where to go and detailing important places - made things much easier.
The room was big and clean. Lovely deep bath with a huge geyser so you can actually use it.
Little kitchenette (we were self catering) was sufficient for what we needed.
Beautiful scenery all around with ostriches and a horse as a bonus for my son.

This is a really we'll kept and beautiful guesthouse, you can see that the owners and staff take pride in what they do.
Thanks Mooiplaas you lived up to your name.

Stayed: May 2014
1  Thank Hayley B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2014

We were two couples and we stayed here during a very busy time of the year - the KKNK festival. But taste and attention to great service will not disappoint. The spacious apartments (not rooms) exceeded my expectations. So did all the small attention to detail. The hot breakfast is a gourmet experience. The rooms are spacious and with all the required amenities. The guesthouse is situated on a secluded, beautiful farm with a nice garden and swimming pool. We really enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Emarie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 March 2014

Our group was greeted by Andre, settled into unique, well-appointed rooms and spent a relaxing afternoon on our porches. We had ostrich for dinner along with excellent wine. If you want to relax, this is the place. My only regret is that we spent only one night there.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
Thank SheHarvey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 February 2014

Mooiplaas was really a pleasant surprise. We wanted to stay on an ostrich farm while in the Oudtschoorn area and Mooiplaas turned out to be an excellent choice. We did not want to be in town and although we did visit, we were glad to be just ten minutes by car out of Oudtschoorn yet close to all the sights that we wanted to see.

Mooiplass was a clean and very comfortable guest house on a wide terrain of many surrounding ostrich farms with very serene scenery. However, I think it is a bit misleading to have as its prime advertising photo a shot of the Cape Dutch architecture homestead with a bunch of ostriches in the front -- as there no ostriches running around the property as we originally thought and somehow hoped. But because we had read other comments on Trip Advisor we realized that because of Avian flu in the past few years, the ostriches were not as per the photos. There were horses and donkeys though.

Knowing this, we still opted to stay on a working ostrich farm as we wanted to get a feel for the area and had planned visits to many sights nearby including ostrich show farms. On the way from Mooiplaas to Outdschoorn, one does pass so many fields with ostriches grazing -- and it is so quiet in the area, that all we had to do was stop our car by the side of the road and get many photos of ostriches in the fields who all seem actually quite eager to be photographed. The guest house does offer optional tours of their farm facility at a small fee -- which we did not opt to do mainly because of the timing of the tours and the fact that we were going to see ostrich show farms and saw sooooo many ostriches in the surrounding area.

The guest house has a very accommodating staff and all our queries were promptly answered.
Our room was actually like a small apartment with a large modern bedroom overlooking the fields and mountains in the background, a large well equipped bathroom and a living area with kitchenette. There is a terrace in front of the bedroom and an easy parking area behind the other side of the apartment.

We opted to eat at dinner at Mooiplaas as it was more convenient to do that than to drive back into Outschoorn -- especially after a long day of touring. Dinner and breakfast both were served in a great farm-house atmosphere and the food was great comfort food -- very tasty and well presented. We had the option of having ostrich BBQ steak and it was delicious. We also tried ostrich egg omelette for breakfast and it was quite a treat.

André who was the manager on duty during our stay was fantastic - giving us great tips as to local shopping, places to visit and just always being able to help out when needed.

Another nice treat was coming back to our room after dinner and finding a candle lit on our patio table with a small bottle of port and two glasses waiting for us.

We really enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank swane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 January 2014

My parents and I set off from Cape Town for a weeks trip in the Klein Karoo and along the Garden Route, never having travelled in this part of South Africa we weren't sure what to expect. After a long drive, We were greeted at Mooiplaas Guesthouse with big smiles and a glass of something yummy.
Everything about our stay was perfect, the room facilities were great, (good towels - always a good sign) After a dip in the pool, we arranged to have dinner when we arrived and it was delicious! Simple but delicious! Ben cooked a perfect Ostrich fillet on the braai!
Sabrina, the manager on duty, was extremely helpful, and dealt with all our requests and questions, arranged tickets for us to the congo caves, it was great to not have to deal with those things.
Overall, I cannot rate this guesthouse enough, it ticked all the boxes.

Room Tip: Our room was right in front of the pool and by the parking area and although we were not disturbed a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HoneyHaslemere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Oudtshoorn hotels
6.6 mi away
Hlangana Lodge
Hlangana Lodge
#1 of 9 in Oudtshoorn
536 reviews
19 mi away
Swartberg Country Manor
Swartberg Country Manor
#2 of 9 in Oudtshoorn
222 reviews
10.8 mi away
Buffelsdrift Game Lodge
Buffelsdrift Game Lodge
#4 of 52 in Oudtshoorn
1,003 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
De Zeekoe Guest Farm
De Zeekoe Guest Farm
#5 of 52 in Oudtshoorn
987 reviews
13.5 mi away
Berluda Farmhouse & Cottages
Berluda Farmhouse & Cottages
#7 of 52 in Oudtshoorn
326 reviews
5.8 mi away
Riverside Guest Lodge
Riverside Guest Lodge
#1 of 52 in Oudtshoorn
368 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mooiplaas Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mooiplaas Guesthouse

Address: Mooiplaas | Volmoed, Oudtshoorn 6620, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Oudtshoorn
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 52 Speciality Lodging in Oudtshoorn
Price Range: £76 - £122 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Mooiplaas Guesthouse 4*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mooiplaas Guesthouse is situated 10 km outside Oudtshoorn with magnificent views over the Swartberg Mountains. We do Farms tours that will give you more information about the Ostriches and the history of the Farm and Keller Family. We do serve dinner, real South African cuisine on the open fire with true Klein Karoo hospitality. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Mooiplaas Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing