We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“DISASTER, worst place we stayed in!!!”
Review of De Opstal

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
De Opstal
Ranked #21 of 75 Oudtshoorn B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Warsaw, Poland
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“DISASTER, worst place we stayed in!!!”
Reviewed 17 May 2011

We had booked to stay for 1 night during our honeymoon at this ostrich farm. Upon arrival we were shown to our bedroom, which was dark, old fashioned & dusty. We were then informed that there were only 2 more people staying in the resort that night and the restaurant/bar would be closed. The gave us a time for taking us into Oudtshoorn and made a reservation for us at a restaurant in town otherwise we'd have gone hungry. I enquired about a trip of the farm the following morning and was told by the lady in reception that the owner was away and no one was available to show us around. I was extremely dissappointed with this as it was the major reason we booked here in the first place. I was told that we could go to another large ostrich farm instead (and pay)!!
The following morning, we went for breakfast, it was buffet style and my husband picked up a jug of warmed milk and it had obviously had been warmed several times over the previous days as it had developed a crust on the top of it. Everything in the restaurant, from the yoghurt to the napkins for the cutlery was decorated with a flower. Even the toast came wrapped in a napkin with you've guessed it decorated with "a flower".
We went to reception to check out after breakfast and I mentioned to the receptionist that the owners must be very religious but I said it was too much to impose on people, (beside our bed was a book on 7 ways to know God & around the property there were crucifixes everywhere from the cloudy pool to dated breakfast lounge) and she replied it's what they like. I belive an owners personal faith/feelings and tastes should not be overpowering to guests.
We left Oudtshoorn not one bit happy & this place was the low point of our honeymoon. It does not deserve the 4 star rating that it has in some brochures.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank kcn26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

335 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    144
    108
    50
    29
    4
See reviews for
42
216
4
9
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sandhurst, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
160 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 May 2011

Went intending to stay only for one night. Was easily seduced into staying for two nights despite having already paid for a room elsewhere on the second night. Would easily do it again. Service was superb but at the same time non intrusive.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JockBerks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northleach, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 April 2011

A real find between Outdshorn and the Cango Caves, De Opstal is remarkable for the peaceful atmosphere created by its gardens and the suites dotted throughout. The pool and restaurant add more dimensions to make for a really relaxing and comfortable stay

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AlanR_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yorkshire
Level 6 Contributor
105 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 188 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 March 2011

We stayed for 2 nights. Immediately on arrival we were made to feel very welcome, and nothing was too much trouble for the staff. The room was very good, farmhouse style with plenty of character and a stable door. The grounds are beautiful to walk round. We ate in the hotel restaurant the first night and the food was good. The hot cooked breakfasts were very good. Location is ok if you intend to eat in the restaurant every night, as it is a few miles out of town.
A decent swimming pool which a frog seemed to like just as I was about to go in.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lynnandbarry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buntingford
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 5 February 2011

We had a very comfortable stay enjoying the beautiful gardens and accommodation. The surrounding area is very relaxing. One regret was that we had only booked for one night and would have liked to stay longer. We enjoyed the evening meal and breakfast served in the rustic restaurant. The staff were very welcoming and attentive. One of the highlights was a tour of the owners ostrich farm.
Altogether a memorable stopover during our journey along the Garden Route last November. We would love to return for a longer stay.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HPSingers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Switzerland
Level 6 Contributor
367 reviews
123 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1,352 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 January 2011

De Opstal is a charming farmhouse with beautifully decorated rooms in the old stables or dairy. Beautiful kept gardens and swimming pool area. Good restaurant with only good service when Mrs De Bod is there herself. The first evening the staff was very unfriendly and couldn’t care less about the guests, however, the next morning when the boss was there herself, you smelt rubber! A bit too much of the religious connotations. After all holidaymakers are there to relay and not to be baptised! Everything said and done, good value and we will most probably return when in Oudtshoorn.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Frequenttraveler031
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dutch Alps
Level 6 Contributor
91 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 January 2011

We stayed 2 nights at the Opstal during our travel through SA. The place is an absolute marvel and much bigger than expected. The room was really super and nice decorated. We felt at home! Thanks for the great staff, especially Ilonka who always was in a good mood and offered to help in any way possible.
Oudtshoorn as a town isn't that much of a thrill, but indeed there are some interesting features to visit in the surroundings. The ostrich farm can be reached on foot within 10 minutes or so. We made a long walk from the Opstal through the farmlands behind it and enjoyed every minute of it.
The romantic atmosphere of the Opstal felt very very good. The restaurant however was a bit of a disappointment, too dark and too unpersonal. The food was OK, not more than that.
But....... we will certainly come back with pleasure.

Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank veldhuizen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Oudtshoorn hotels
6.6 mi away
Hlangana Lodge
Hlangana Lodge
#1 of 9 in Oudtshoorn
489 reviews
3.3 mi away
Surval Boutique Olive Estate
Surval Boutique Olive Estate
#7 of 75 in Oudtshoorn
330 reviews
0.6 mi away
Die Fonteine
Die Fonteine
#20 of 75 in Oudtshoorn
118 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
The Thorntree Country House
The Thorntree Country House
#32 of 75 in Oudtshoorn
106 reviews
6.5 mi away
Rosenhof Country House
Rosenhof Country House
#6 of 75 in Oudtshoorn
303 reviews
0.6 mi away
Berluda Farmhouse & Cottages
Berluda Farmhouse & Cottages
#5 of 46 in Oudtshoorn
287 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to De Opstal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about De Opstal

Property: De Opstal
Address: Rt 62, Oudtshoorn 6620, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Oudtshoorn
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 75 B&Bs / Inns in Oudtshoorn
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — De Opstal 3.5*
Number of rooms: 21
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your De Opstal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
De Opstal Hotel Oudtshoorn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing