We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Feel like at home”
Review of De Opstal

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
De Opstal
Ranked #20 of 75 Oudtshoorn B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Montegiorgio
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Feel like at home”
Reviewed 11 April 2013

Unfortunately we stay in this hotel only one night, wish to stay longer.
everything was perfect from the warm welcome till the sad check out.
Immediately we feel like we were at home and been in this place for long time, the room was fantastic ,with attention to the smallest detail. Bathroom was spacious, clean and even with Jacuzzi. Food and services in the restaurant was perfect.
overall marvelous stay.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cunillu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

335 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    144
    108
    50
    29
    4
See reviews for
42
216
4
9
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San luis obispo, California, United States
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 April 2013

Stayed here forgone night prior to going to the caves and ostrich farm. Dinner and ambiance was outstanding but then upon returning to the room for a shower, e hot water was nowhere to be found. The same thing happened in the morning. Having a hot shower is one of life's joys and going 0/2 diminished the value associated with this place considerably. Absolutely beautiful grounds though, great food, just need some hot h20!

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TPM805
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leatherhead, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 March 2013

We stayed at De Opstal for two nights, wished we'd stayed longer. Our room was absolutely beautiful as were the grounds of the De Opstal. It was conveniently situated for visits to the Cango Caves, scenic waterfalls and drives. Oudshoorn is also famous for its Ostrich farms. If we ever get to visit again we'll definitely make it three nights to take advantage of the De Opstals beautiful grounds and swimming pool. The restaurant was good, if anything we were given too much to eat.
Really enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joan T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chester, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 March 2013

We stayed here 1 night only and really wish we had stayed for at least 2 or even 3 instead. After staying in Stellenbosch, we drove the scenic route. It's a long drive (which was helped by stopping at the Blue Cow Cafe on the way - stop there for a capuccino and home made cake or sandwich. Both were delicious and the owner was lovely) so we were really ready for a shower and a rest by the time we got to the De Opstal.

Matilda met us warmly and offered us drinks on the house - a large glass of wine and a beer - how lovely and just what we needed! We were shown to our room and we loved it instantly - it had the wow factor. Good size, beautifully decorated, modern bathroom with jacuzzi and large shower (with good quality hand and shower products)

The gardens were beautiful - fragranced rose garden below our room - and included an outdoor pool and lounge area. Check the night sky out from the garden area - the stars are so bright in this part of the world and being in this area with minimum night light made the view amazing.

We had an evening meal in the restaurant and enjoyed it. The meals are "home cooking" style rather than gourmet but they were delicious.

I would recommend this place to people looking for a quiet oasis of calm

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank w0rldtraveller68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Devizes, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
409 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 165 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 March 2013

Prior to checking in to this place we took a river cruise down the Knysna Heads which was beautiful. We also visited a working Ostrich farm

The accommodation was fantastic and was a working homestead farm. The rooms were huge and spacious and overlooked lovely gardens. The down fall was that it backed onto a main road - but towards the evening this quiet ended down. We were greeted again warmly and Marius I believe was an ex marathon runner!

Again a very rustic place and mike and bridie on their balcony had a piano! No he could 'nt play it!

Food was a little disappointing. It was a BBQ which was ok- but not the best meal I had

Fabulous place to stay

Room Tip: Choose one away from the road
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank julie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Huddersfield, England, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 February 2013

My husband and I stayed for 2 nights and wish we could have stayed longer. Words cannot describe our room. The rooms had a rustic decor and was very spacious. The bathroom had a jacuzi and a walkin shower.
We enjoyed sitting on the veranda in the evenings. The breakfasts were ok. but the evening meals were outstanding. The service by all the staff was excellent, nothing was to much trouble for them. I look forward to the day when I can return.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Catharine H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level 6 Contributor
251 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 February 2013

This hotel is situated in a very nice garden and convenient fr all the visits.Rooms are comfortable, clean and acceptable.The female touch is everywhere, but it is lacking in the food. The evening buffet is below average and the breakfast is a avoidable. You can see the chef has no imagination or a very tight budget. Group hotel and service could improve.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pzan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Oudtshoorn hotels
6.6 mi away
Hlangana Lodge
Hlangana Lodge
#1 of 9 in Oudtshoorn
489 reviews
3.3 mi away
Surval Boutique Olive Estate
Surval Boutique Olive Estate
#6 of 75 in Oudtshoorn
331 reviews
0.6 mi away
Die Fonteine
Die Fonteine
#21 of 75 in Oudtshoorn
118 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
The Thorntree Country House
The Thorntree Country House
#32 of 75 in Oudtshoorn
106 reviews
6.5 mi away
Rosenhof Country House
Rosenhof Country House
#7 of 75 in Oudtshoorn
304 reviews
0.6 mi away
Berluda Farmhouse & Cottages
Berluda Farmhouse & Cottages
#4 of 47 in Oudtshoorn
288 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to De Opstal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about De Opstal

Property: De Opstal
Address: Rt 62, Oudtshoorn 6620, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Oudtshoorn
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 75 B&Bs / Inns in Oudtshoorn
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — De Opstal 3.5*
Number of rooms: 21
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers and Odigeo so you can book your De Opstal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
De Opstal Hotel Oudtshoorn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing