We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just what we needed”
Review of De Opstal

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
De Opstal
Ranked #20 of 78 Oudtshoorn B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 13 February 2014

Spent two nights here and were not disappointed for the accommodation was very comfortable, staff most helpful and food excellent. Weather here was v.hot (reached 38c on 2nd day) so pool was most welcome. Nearby are Cango caves and of course Ostrich farms both of which are well worth visiting.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DesH14835
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (343)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

174 - 180 of 343 reviews

Reviewed 10 February 2014

We stayed here as part of of our honeymoon. We were greeted with a warm welcome by the staff who were really helpful in providing recommendations for our stay. Really lovely grounds with ostrich wandering around! The poolside was a nice place to relax after site seeing.The decor was more traditional than we had been used to on the stay but still lovely. On the evening the restaurant was closed the staff kindly offered transport to a local restaurant. Food wasn't the best but the staff were simply lovely.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BertieSJG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 January 2014 via mobile

I stayed here with my husband as part of our honeymoon trip to South Africa. We stayed in De Opstal for 2 nights as we had a long drive from Cape Town and were planning on visiting the Cango Caves (highly recommended by the way!) the following day.

On arrival there was no one to greet us which was rather disappointing as we had contacted them before hand (in an email explaining the time we would be arriving about 6:30pm) yet we had to find someone to show us to our room
Which ended up being the restaurant manager. We were shown to our room which was a pleasant and definitely quirky. The term shabby chic is a perfect description for it although to be honest it was more "shabby" rather than "chic". I'm sure some people would quite like this but personally I was quite disappointed. We were expecting some type of honeymoon welcome (bottle of wine, room upgrade) though we had nothing. I was also annoyed that the safe did not work (other guests also experienced this problem too).

We had dinner at the restaurant which was actually not as bad as some reviewers has described. There was salad, potatoes, meat, bread, sauces and some chocolate and fruit desserts too so good selection of food on offer. Though saying that I would strongly suggest you arrive early as on both nights there were two large groups and once the buffet food disappears then that's it.

The gardens are beautiful and the weather gets very warm in Oudsthoorn (reached 38 degrees on both days we stayed there). The rooms were clean and quirky and house keeping kindly offered to do our laundry. If you need a stay for one night only and are fond of quirky unusual accommodation with beautiful gardens then this is ideal. We so much wanted to visit the Cango Caves which is the only reason we stayed here although next time if I has the option, I would not choose to stay at De Opstal.

Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Doyounoah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 January 2014

We stayed for a night last week at Da Opstal - it was an extremely hot day and my husband was feeling very unwell when we arrived. The staff were so kind and accommodating and went out of their way to make him comfortable which we really appreciated. Our room was large, clean with a wonderful jacuzzi bathroom. The grounds of the Lodge are very attractive and the location is stunning.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank J26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 January 2014

This place is a hidden gem. The owners have gone to great lengths to furnish each room in the old Cape style. The staff was very friendly and helpful. Coming from Europe I found the value for money exceptional. 24 Jan 2014.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Troxbury
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 January 2014

hey there. it´s such a lovely location it´s like paradise. we arrived in the afternoon and feel like home. we were welcome with a cool beer on our so nice veranda. so many details to explore, everything is perfect arranged and perfect groomed. the room was very clean, also bathroom wonderful. we regret to stay only one night. people were so lovely, breakfast was like a dream of fruit. thank you very much to all.
by the way: frank took us to dinner by car and afterward back to the lodge. thank you frank, also for your advice and reservation at jamima's.

achim & susan

Room Tip: luxury room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank achim z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 January 2014

I write in agreement with so many of the previous reviewers. De Opstal was a real disappointment for a so called luxury lodge. Our room was reached by a walk through the attractive gardens but it was soon very obvious that it was quite close to the road. The room was clean but 'tired'. We had two light fittings that either weren't working or had the shade missing and a non working shaver point. When mentioned the receptionist looked shocked as apparently they had been working for the previous guests.
We had had a long hot journey so decided to partake of the traditional buffet BBQ in the evening rather than driving to find a restaurant. Should have really taken note of Trip Advisor reviews. The food was very
average, there was absolutely no atmosphere in the restaurant and the staff very subdued.
Breakfast was ok, fresh fruit etc, but a little shocked to find that the grilled sliced tomatoes were those left from the previous night's salad and had been griddled with the cheese and pesto still left on.
Not somewhere we would return to or recommend.

Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
3  Thank Marion S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Oudtshoorn hotels
6.6 mi away
Hlangana Lodge
Hlangana Lodge
#1 of 9 in Oudtshoorn
503 reviews
6.5 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Oudtshoorn Riempie Estate
12.6 mi away
Swartberg Country Manor
Swartberg Country Manor
#2 of 9 in Oudtshoorn
191 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.4 mi away
Gumtree Guest House
Gumtree Guest House
#4 of 78 in Oudtshoorn
568 reviews
1.9 mi away
Old Mill Country Lodge & Restaurant
12.0 mi away
De Zeekoe Guest Farm
De Zeekoe Guest Farm
#4 of 50 in Oudtshoorn
925 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to De Opstal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about De Opstal

Address: Rt 62, Oudtshoorn 6620, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Oudtshoorn
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 78 B&Bs / Inns in Oudtshoorn
Price Range: £82 - £115 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — De Opstal 3.5*
Number of rooms: 21
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers, Booking.com, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your De Opstal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
De Opstal Hotel Oudtshoorn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing