We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful place”
Review of De Opstal

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
De Opstal
Ranked #21 of 75 Oudtshoorn B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Holmfirth, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Beautiful place”
Reviewed 15 March 2014

We stayed for 1 night in early March as part of our honeymoon trip. We were welcomed on arrival and shown to our room which was more like a villa, it was huge! We had a huge bathroom too with jacuzzi bath. The furniture both in the room and restaurant is quirky but really suits the place and there are lovely finishing touches everywhere. The gardens were in full bloom and provided a beautiful setting for the lovely pool area which has plenty of beds. There are 2 ostriches wondering the gardens too. We had dinner which was fantastic. I loved my ostrich curry. Breakfast was great too. Lots of choice. The place is 10k outside Oudtshoorn but very near an Ostrich farm. Would highly recommend.

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank TheTooks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

333 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    143
    107
    50
    29
    4
See reviews for
42
214
4
9
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 March 2014

We travelled 5 hours from cape town to arrive at the de opstlal hot and tired. We were welcomed by name on arrival and shown straight to our room, which was like something out of a movie it was so pretty and quaint.The gentleman on the desk, whos name I am sorry to say I have forgotten ,then offered us a drink and should us where we could move our car closer to the room, we couldnt have been made to feel more welcome exactly what we needed.We spent a very relaxing afternoon by the pool in the beautiful grounds with a couple of ostriches wondering about. Unfortunately the hotel restaurant was not open for dinner when we stayed ,and this is the only negative aspect of our stay, the service, the grounds the accommodation was all fantastic, we just wished we had stayed longer

Room Tip: rooms 20 and 21 have fantastic views over the pool and gardens
See more room tips
Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank caseyjones1703
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warrington, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
405 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 184 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 March 2014

What a true delight. The De Opstal Country Lodge proved to be the most delightful and relaxing stay in the Ostrich district of South Africa. The extensive grounds are beautifully maintained and include a wonderful pool area and abound with visual delights. The rooms are well appointed and very comfortable and the relaxing atmosphere created by the hosts and the staff make this a special place. The dining room and bar are lovely and the breakfast outstanding.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Geoff M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheshire
Level 6 Contributor
160 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 March 2014

Stayed 6 nights for our 4th stay at this lovely property. Great staff - always very welcoming. Lovely rooms - quirky Karoo style, with all modern amenities. Excellent pool and garden. Breakfasts, particularly the fruit choice, are excellent. Dinners - sometimes buffet, sometimes a la carte - good choice and quality. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: Each room is individual - check out the website which shows pictures of every room
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RODNEYANDPAT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
surrey
Level 6 Contributor
82 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 March 2014

We stayed here as part of a garden route tour, the room was spacious and clean although possibly not as good as some of the other accommodation we stayed at. The hot water in the bathroom was a bit hit and miss

Both the dinner and breakfast is served in the main dining room, there was a reasonable choice for both and the food was of a reasonable quality – the ostrich pate was fantastic and there was a good choice of desert, however one of the yogurts for breakfast had clearly been out for a few days as had an acidic taste
Overall was a good stay and would return if in the area

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mm29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tadley, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 March 2014

What a great place. The staff just couldn't do enough for you and all so courteous and friendly. The rooms were large and clean with air con.
The restaurant was large and self service but excellent quality.
Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Steve D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
119 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 March 2014

Quaint, quirky and delightful.
Breakfast a little haphazard and limited.
Evening buffet style meal with varied choice.
Room 4 well appointed and air conditioned.
Beautiful extensive gardens with pool.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 323HELE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Oudtshoorn hotels
6.6 mi away
Hlangana Lodge
Hlangana Lodge
#1 of 9 in Oudtshoorn
485 reviews
3.3 mi away
Surval Boutique Olive Estate
Surval Boutique Olive Estate
#7 of 75 in Oudtshoorn
326 reviews
1.0 mi away
Altes Landhaus Country Lodge
Altes Landhaus Country Lodge
#12 of 75 in Oudtshoorn
191 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
The Thorntree Country House
The Thorntree Country House
#31 of 75 in Oudtshoorn
105 reviews
1.4 mi away
De Poort Country Lodge
De Poort Country Lodge
#18 of 75 in Oudtshoorn
56 reviews
0.6 mi away
Die Fonteine
Die Fonteine
#20 of 75 in Oudtshoorn
118 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to De Opstal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about De Opstal

Property: De Opstal
Address: Rt 62, Oudtshoorn 6620, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Oudtshoorn
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 75 B&Bs / Inns in Oudtshoorn
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — De Opstal 3.5*
Number of rooms: 21
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your De Opstal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
De Opstal Hotel Oudtshoorn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing