We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“This hotel was our biggest disappointment in South Africa”
2 of 5 bubbles Review of De Opstal

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
De Opstal
Ranked #22 of 74 Oudtshoorn B&B and Inns
Rossendale
Level Contributor
18 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“This hotel was our biggest disappointment in South Africa”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 December 2010

Our greeting from someone who had worked in London for two years was very weak. We had booked a double room. Only three of the 21 'suites' were occupied and we were given a twin. It was very cold and the heater/air conditioner didn't work so we had to send for maintenance who got it to go on, but it wouldn't go off and made a racket all night. There was a wood burner in the tiny sitting area so the maintenance man lit that, once the 2 birds trapped in it had been released, and then the room and all our stuff smelled of smoke all night.

The food was awful and served by a patronising waitress who responded to every thank you with 'it's my pleasure' but it obviously wasn't. With a decent room, good food and reasonable staff it would have been super! The grounds were fabulous in the most beautiful setting.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JeannieDRossendale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

325 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    142
    102
    48
    29
    4
See reviews for
40
208
4
9
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Stockport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
64 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2010

There are wonderful hotels all over the world but De Opstal is very special and quite unique. We stayed for only two nights as part of a special trip to celebrate our 39th wedding anniversary. We just wished that we could have stayed for longer. Set in beautiful gardens which offer a haven of tranquility De Opstal has obviously been created with love and passion for its location and a genuine desire to make every visitor happy. Matilda's guiding hand is obvious in everything you see and experience and her warm and sincere welcome was very special. The bedrooms and bathrooms successfully combine traditional charm and modern sophisticated facilities. The evening meals were excellent and it was lovely to see our ostrich steaks being freshly prepared in front of us on an open fire. Breakfasts were a feast of fresh fruit and traditional cooking and set you up for the day. When we left we felt like we were leaving family and friends and we look forward to returning one day in the future.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ColinandJoan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kirkcudbright, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 July 2010

Spent only one night here but wish it was more. We were captivated by the old world charm of the place, a Cape Dutch farm converted into a beautiful country lodge. Our three rooms were in the original farmhouse and were very tastefully modernised retaining much of the original wood work but adding first class modern facilities eg in the bathroom suites. The staff were all excellent and the owner, Albertus de Bod took us on a tour of his Ostrich farm the next morning where amongst other things we saw young ostrich chicks hatching from their eggs. Our youngest child was captivated. Overall a superb 24 hour stay - one of the highlights of our 10 days in South Africa.

Ivor Waddell
Kirkcudbright
Scotland

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank iwaddell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guildford, England
Level Contributor
46 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 April 2010

We were recommended this lovely lodge by someone we met on our travels in South Africa. Wow! This is such a wonderful place to stay. On arrival we were told they had upgraded our room to Room 15 which is huge! There are indoor and outdoor fireplaces, comfy sofas with cushions everywhere - we had our own terrace with outdoor fridge and coffee/tea making facilities. The service was out of this world, we felt like we were staying in a 5-star hotel. Our washing was done daily for no extra charge and we were offered drinks and lunch by the pool even though, strictly speaking the lodge doesn't offer lunches. Maritza was a truly attentive member of staff offering advice on where to eat and visit in town-she also chatted with us and other guests regularly during our 3-day stay. The breakfasts were lovely, particularly all the choices of fruits, yoghurts and cereals.
During the day we had the pool area to ourselves as most guests seemed to just stop for one night. Would recommend Jemimas for lunch and/or dinner in town and a 2-hour game drive at nearby Bufflesdrift to satisfy those who want to see some African wildlife.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Privatefly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
uk
Level Contributor
27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 April 2010

What a fabulous place. The rooms were huge and well furnished. lovely grounds with nice pool. Restaurant great,(do try the ostrich steak) which was superb. The guided tour of the ostrich farm by Albertus was a real eye opener (on a monday you actually see the eggs hatching.) The cango caves are only a 10 minute drive and well worth a visit.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank uktiger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stamford Bridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
342 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 188 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 March 2010

My wife and I agree from previous reviewers that De Opstal is the place to be when you visit "Klein Karoo" and Oudtshoorn. We loved the "old boer style" of the rooms and the surrounding property, pool, restaurant etc. and could not find fault with it. The best way I can describe this place is like going back in time, from the homely furniture to the open fires both inside and outside your room this place is fantastic.
The owners Matilda who helped me especially with a tick bite (picked up whilst taking pictures of flowers along the Garden Route), and Albertus (who showed us their non-commercialised Ostrich Farm) were wonderful and so friendly and the staff are all so informative on places to see and do to ensure you get the most from the area.
The bathroom was fantastic and modern, with a walk-in shower and spa bath, and I tell you, Room 15 is huge !
We arrived late from a game reserve north of Port Elizabeth but just in time to sip a bottle of local Sauvignon Blanc as an aperitif before we had dinner in the huge restaurant. Why travel all the way to Oudtshoorn when can have the best meal here, and cheap!!
The Ostrich steak, Springbok stew and the other game was excellent and I would recommend this. The food was good & plentiful and served by lovely, friendly welcoming staff. Breakfast was excellent with eggs cooked to order and an excellent buffet of hot and cold foods which more than set you up for the day.
We stayed for 3 nights and would certainly have no hesitation in returning to De Opstal.
Baie dankie, Matilda & Albertus.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank René R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Krakow
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 March 2010

A great welcome, a lovely room and Matilda (owner) was very friendly and helpful. We enjoyed our stay, but a few tips to make this better than just good: ordering food 4 hours before dinner and then waiting 45 minutes for it to be served is not OK. Food lacked something to make it special - our salad starter was the same as the side salad on the main course, too long waiting, choice limited, service medium.
We would go back as we had a great time, simple.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RomekLubaczewski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Oudtshoorn hotels
6.6 mi away
Hlangana Lodge
Hlangana Lodge
#1 of 9 in Oudtshoorn
4.5 of 5 bubbles 466 reviews
7.5 mi away
Turnberry Boutique Hotel
Turnberry Boutique Hotel
#3 of 9 in Oudtshoorn
4.0 of 5 bubbles 289 reviews
1.0 mi away
Altes Landhaus Country Lodge
Altes Landhaus Country Lodge
#12 of 74 in Oudtshoorn
4.5 of 5 bubbles 189 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.5 mi away
La Pension Guest House
La Pension Guest House
#3 of 74 in Oudtshoorn
5.0 of 5 bubbles 508 reviews
0.5 mi away
Le Petit Karoo Ranch
Le Petit Karoo Ranch
#13 of 74 in Oudtshoorn
4.5 of 5 bubbles 175 reviews
12.0 mi away
De Zeekoe Guest Farm
De Zeekoe Guest Farm
#5 of 47 in Oudtshoorn
4.5 of 5 bubbles 862 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to De Opstal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about De Opstal

Property: De Opstal
Address: Rt 62, Oudtshoorn 6620, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Oudtshoorn
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 74 B&Bs / Inns in Oudtshoorn
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — De Opstal 3.5*
Number of rooms: 21
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your De Opstal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
De Opstal Hotel Oudtshoorn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing