We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A stunning experience!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Swartberg Country Manor
Ranked #2 of 9 Hotels in Oudtshoorn
Certificate of Excellence
Centurion, Gauteng
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A stunning experience!”
Reviewed 19 April 2011

Me and my wife are pensioners and recently has done a tour through the small and great Karoo. We had booked a stay-over on 20th March at Swartberg Country Manor and found it a stunning experience! On arrival we were introduced to our very friendly host and manager, Colleen Smith. She suggested us to first relax with a drink on the restaurant deck before showing us our room. What a wonderful first impression to see the majestic Swartberg mountain range from here. On our request we were shown around and we were impressed by the diversity of enchanted rooms. We chose the bit less luxurious, but much more romantic 'Baking house' room, a small single standing old house, suitable for the more adventurous and romantic couples. We enjoyed the breathtaking view onto the Swartberg with some wine for the rest of the afternoon. We then had dinner on the patio outside the restaurant and although there was not a variety of choices on a menu, we found the service and food very well prepared. We noticed that groups can also be accomodated, as we met a group of happy dutch mountain bikers.
What we liked most of this manor were different aspects: the excelent personal attention, the location with beautiful views, the diversity of rooms, and very central to visit the Swartberg Pass, Meiringspoort, Cango Caves and ostrich farms near Oudtshoorn.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank florie61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

176 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    114
    41
    13
    4
    4
See reviews for
32
98
6
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
Reviewed 13 March 2011

Perfect accomodation, very frendly host lady, beautyful area. The restaurant (esp. The volstruis steak) are DELICIOUS)
the rooms are really 4 stars worth.
If we come back, we we will stay again in this lodge!

Bart & bieke and Maurits & Willem

  • Stayed March 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bartenbieke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Isle of Lewis
Level Contributor
49 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 March 2011

We stayed at Swartsberg Country Manor for two nights and we really enjoyed it.

The host was incredibly hospitable.........came to greet us when we pulled up, invited us for a drink, took care of our bags........took every effort to make us feel welcome.

The dinner was excellent as well, with a good choice and a fine wine selection. It was really enjoyable sitting on the balcony afetr dinner, sipping wine.

The location is quite remote, but i think that makes it that extra bit special.

I wish we had a 4x4 to get up the Swartberg Pass, as the road up to it was ina bad way following teh weather..............still, getting up so far was still cool. The Kongo Caves are near by as well, and we enjoyed that. The Kango Wildlife Ranch is a must visit.................playing with the four month old tiger cubs was amazing!

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SkigerstaBear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
East London
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 January 2011

We stayed in the "Bakhuis" honeymoon suite (their top room). It is a separate small house located in a paddock with 2 ostriches and chicks resident. Lovely as this seems, their dung encourages a lot of flies, so the deck was not used very much. The room was small, no separate toilet, no wardrobe (we were there for 3 nights), no aircon, and for some reason only one armchair inside and one deckchair outside. I suppose honeymooners need to sit on each other's laps! Good bed and linen though, quite all for the tractor twice a day which transports feed to the lower paddocks. This accommodation is about 30km's outside Oudtshoorn, which kind of forces one to do dinner at Swartberg Manor. Dinner fortunately was not as per the website @R195/head. Instead it ranged from R85-R145 for the 4 items available. These were tasty, but no starters or desserts available. When we asked, their was a choice of 2 tea cakes which seem to be kept as standard for passing travellers. Breakfast was very poor for a 4 star establishment. Only a small American breakfast available. Yellow grated cheese only and no cold meat selection. They mentioned that they only served local ingredients, but there are certainly local cheeses available and some form of cold meat. We have stayed at cheaper establishments with far better fare. For peak season, they were not full - maybe for some of the reasons I have mentioned. We were frankly somewhat disappointed and would certainly rate this as more of a 3-star establishment That being said, the staff were very friendly and pleasant.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cherry S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Byfleet, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
226 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 182 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 February 2010

We were so looking forward to our stay here, we were booked in for 3 nights at the end of Januart.The scenery at this hotel is simply stunning but as for the rest I don't know where to start.
We had travelled 5 very hot hours to get to the hotel. When we arrived we were not offered a drink of any kind, not even a glass of cold water.
We were shown to our room at about 4pm , the room was very nice ,however there was no fridge, safe or tv, the hotel is supposed to be 4 star and we had all these facilities in every other place that we stayed in during our 3 week tour of SA.
I tried to have a cold shower shortly after we got to our room, no water!!!!! I went to reception to tell that we had no water only to be told that the water was off as they were repairing a leak and that they hoped to have the water on by 6.30pm. Nothing was said to us about this when we checked in. Not a good start to our stay here!
Because the hotel is so far from town we had little choice but to eat at their restaurant, the choice of meals was very small, I had the ostrich and my wife, the chicken. There was no menu as such so we didn't know the prices.
My ostrich was ok but a bit on the tough side, however my wife's chicken was very under done and very pink in parts, needless to say she didn't eat it. Breakfast the following days was ok and it was very pleasant to sit in the warm sun on their deck with the wonderful views, this was probably the highlight of our stay.
As I said before we were both very much looking forward to our stay here, we wanted some time to rest after several days of touring the Garden Route, sadly because of our experience here we only stayed one night.

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank TorchyPyrford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oudtshoorn
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 October 2009

What a special evening we had! WOW, from the moment we arrived at the Manor, we were personally welcomed by Colleen and her team, made us feel right a home! We were then taken to our Honeymoon Suite, (this was for our 6th aniversary) and we were taken by surprise! An old little 'bakehouse' was renovated to be our suite, overlooking fields with ostriches, figs trees and the Swartberg! STUNNING, STUNNING! We could sit on our little deck, overlooking the fields, drinking sparkling wine. ANd then we went for the most amazing dinner in Patat, their restaurant. Everything about the meal was special and so tasty, all fresh ingredients! Thank you so very much! On our way home, we were seen off, until we drove away! This is truly an amazing venue, very romantic and peaceful, exactly what we needed! All thumbs up! :-)

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HMRossouw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town, South Africa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 6 May 2009

My wife and I stayed at Swartberg Country Manor for two nights as part of our honeymoon. We were welcomed by Jan, the owner, who immediately made us feel at home. The atmosphere is very relaxed and friendly.

This guest house is a hidden gem. It is situated in the shadow of the Swartberg mountains - with majestic panoramic views and away from any hustle and bustle yet it is within easy driving distance of many attractions - the Cango Caves, the magnificently-beautiful Swartberg pass, and Oudtshoorn. The manor also offer star gazing and adventure tours (4x4 trails).

The guest house has a main Manor House, as well as separate chalets, and a restaurant (Patat). We stayed in the main Manor House, which was elegantly furnished, and very comfortable. The rooms were spacious and very clean, with bathrooms en suite.

The restaurant was amazing. We had our breakfasts and suppers there. The home cooked meals were 5 star and fantastic value for money. There is a good selection of well chosen wines also at reasonable prices. We had amazing service from the staff who could not do enough for us.

If we are in that area again we would definitely stay there again, and we would highly recommend it to anyone who is looking for a relaxing break, or place to stay overnight.

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tris1911
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Oudtshoorn hotels
15.2 mi away
Hlangana Lodge
Hlangana Lodge
#1 of 9 in Oudtshoorn
477 reviews
15.9 mi away
Turnberry Boutique Hotel
Turnberry Boutique Hotel
#4 of 9 in Oudtshoorn
293 reviews
16.0 mi away
Queens Hotel
Queens Hotel
#3 of 9 in Oudtshoorn
326 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.1 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Oudtshoorn Riempie Estate
17.6 mi away
De Zeekoe Guest Farm
De Zeekoe Guest Farm
#4 of 46 in Oudtshoorn
886 reviews
15.5 mi away
La Pension Guest House
La Pension Guest House
#2 of 75 in Oudtshoorn
519 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Swartberg Country Manor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Swartberg Country Manor

Property: Swartberg Country Manor
Address: Farm Voorbedacht Matjiesrivier | Cango Valley, Oudtshoorn 01312, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Oudtshoorn
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 9 Hotels in Oudtshoorn
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Swartberg Country Manor 4*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Swartberg Country Manor is nestled on the farm "Voorbedacht" situated in the Cango Valley at the foot of the world-renowned Swartberg Pass. The picturesque panoramic view of the Swartberg Mountains will bring comfort to anyone that wants to "get away from it all" and simply soak up the peace of its tranquil surroundings.The farm was purchased in 2003 and welcomed its first guests in February 2005. The extraordinary views of the Swartberg Mountain from the veranda of the original farmhouse compelled us to create a venue where more people could share in the tranquillity and serenity of this beautiful valley."Voorbedacht" farm is a working farm, which offers our guests the unique opportunity to explore and experience the true essence of subsistence farming in the Little Karoo. Among the various agricultural products farmed, we also farm livestock such as, cattle, sheep and ostriches. Daily walks on the farm allow guests to experience the peace and serenity of this beautiful valley, while for the more "wild at heart"; mountain bikes are available to explore the more rugged terrain. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Priceline, HRS, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Swartberg Country Manor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Swartberg Country Manor Oudtshoorn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing