We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enjoyable Breakaway”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Swartberg Country Manor
Ranked #2 of 9 Hotels in Oudtshoorn
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 30 October 2012

We had a very enjoyable overnight stay. The staff were particularly friendly and helpful. We had an exceptional meal in the evening with great service even though they had a table of 22 to serve at the same time. The location is stunning and we went on the walk to the waterfall which was beautiful and very unspoilt. The rooms were quite small but had everything you needed. We would definitely return.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank StanfordRiverLodge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (185)
There are newer reviews for Swartberg Country Manor
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

107 - 113 of 185 reviews

Reviewed 25 September 2012

We stayed here because I found their Tranquility Special online, which offered us the opportunity to stay in a place we otherwise couldn't justify i.t.o. expense. Reading the other reviews before we left, I asked the manager upfront about the 'issues' and was satisfied that I knew what to expect. However, our expectations were surpassed.
I think you need to realise that there are different levels of accommodation. Ours was 'luxury', which perhaps is better than that which others have complained about. They are 'in the process' of having aircon's fitted, they say. Our room didn't need one, maybe because of the season.


PRO's
The area is unsurpassed. We went in Spring (late Sep) and the temps were between 15 and 25degree's C. The farm is huge and one can walk/cycle around it. Or just sit outside and catch the breathtaking mountain scenery. Very peaceful - this is why we want to return.
Very friendly service. Our host practically ran out the door to meet as and show us to the room, very friendly, chatty and giggly. Perhaps it helped that I made personal contact before we arrived.

Room was part of a large guest house. Shared lounge w/ TV and fireplace.
Superb dinner. Tertius the GM had personally chef'd the evening (Sunday eve). Ostrich fillet is tasty, tender and filling. Obviously the menu changes all the time.

CON's
Breakfasts were only 'OK'. Their offering also changed each day, and I was surprised that our second morning only offered egg and sausage (no bacon, omlette etc). Check beforehand so you know what to expect, and they know what you expect.
If you have noisy neighbours, you will hear them. Some folk had migrated with their wine bottle from the restaurant to the lounge. Fortunately we were not yet trying to sleep. This will also depend on what accommodation you stay in. Ask them beforehand.
The worst con was the water pressure. I love strong showers, but after fighting the first morning with a stingy hot tap, wound up opting for a hot bath - which was great.

Room Tip: Ask them before you make the booking about weather temperature, aircon, and proximity to other rooms...
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Malcolm C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 March 2012

I agree with a previous reviewer who comments about the stunning location being the main selling point. We found the food OK but nothing special and the accommodation quite poor. No air conditioning is a problem. In temperatures of over 40 degrees you need more than a fan in the room especially as due to the mosquitos you can't really have a window open.

If you driving the garden route I do not think Swartberg warrants the deviation from the coast road.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Gearies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 March 2012

We spent one nt at this country manor and were pleased with our choice. Although the first room we were shown to was not to our satisfaction as we preferred 2 beds, the manager was right there to make our stay right and changed us to a perfect room with newer bath and a bit larger. My only complaint was no air conditioning and we found the room to be too warm. However, the meal was absolutely one of the best we have had in Africa so far. The taste,presentation and variety of choices for dinner for such a small hotel were exceptional. A meal at this country manor is not to be missed.

Stayed: March 2012
5  Thank travelagent2005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 February 2012

This is a stunning location, but there it stops. Service and food is really of poor quality. Rooms do not have Coffee & Tea stations, No Televisions. Clients complained about dirty rooms.

Room Tip: try to get the rooms in the self catering side
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Portapower
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tertius M, General Manager at Swartberg Country Manor, responded to this reviewResponded 7 February 2013

Thank you reviewer. Swartberg has been under new Management since 15th February 2012 and we are sorry for your experience. Best Wishes, Tertius

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 May 2011

We spent 4 nights in Swartberg Country Manor for Easter, and it was exactly what we were looking for: the location and the view are stunning, it is very quiet and relaxing, there are plenty of things to do in the area, but it has much more to offer: we were warmly welcomed by Colleen and her staff, Morne in particular. We've been really taken care of as if we were from the family, Colleen helped us so much to arrange everything, gave us very helpful pieces of advice. And we had delicious breakfasts and dinners in the restaurant "Patat", driven by Juliette who is a very nice chef and a very nice host together. All the family wants to go back there, I very much hope we will make it!

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank capefroggies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 April 2011

Me and my wife are pensioners and recently has done a tour through the small and great Karoo. We had booked a stay-over on 20th March at Swartberg Country Manor and found it a stunning experience! On arrival we were introduced to our very friendly host and manager, Colleen Smith. She suggested us to first relax with a drink on the restaurant deck before showing us our room. What a wonderful first impression to see the majestic Swartberg mountain range from here. On our request we were shown around and we were impressed by the diversity of enchanted rooms. We chose the bit less luxurious, but much more romantic 'Baking house' room, a small single standing old house, suitable for the more adventurous and romantic couples. We enjoyed the breathtaking view onto the Swartberg with some wine for the rest of the afternoon. We then had dinner on the patio outside the restaurant and although there was not a variety of choices on a menu, we found the service and food very well prepared. We noticed that groups can also be accomodated, as we met a group of happy dutch mountain bikers.
What we liked most of this manor were different aspects: the excelent personal attention, the location with beautiful views, the diversity of rooms, and very central to visit the Swartberg Pass, Meiringspoort, Cango Caves and ostrich farms near Oudtshoorn.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank florie61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Oudtshoorn hotels
15.3 mi away
Hlangana Lodge
Hlangana Lodge
#1 of 9 in Oudtshoorn
492 reviews
15.1 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Oudtshoorn Riempie Estate
15.9 mi away
Turnberry Boutique Hotel
Turnberry Boutique Hotel
#4 of 9 in Oudtshoorn
304 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.0 mi away
86 on Langenhoven Bed & Breakfast
16.0 mi away
Queens Hotel
Queens Hotel
#3 of 9 in Oudtshoorn
344 reviews
11.9 mi away
Old Mill Country Lodge & Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Swartberg Country Manor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Swartberg Country Manor

Address: Farm Voorbedacht Matjiesrivier | Cango Valley, Oudtshoorn 01312, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Oudtshoorn
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 9 Hotels in Oudtshoorn
Price Range: £100 - £109 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Swartberg Country Manor 4*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Swartberg Country Manor is nestled on the farm "Voorbedacht" situated in the Cango Valley at the foot of the world-renowned Swartberg Pass. The picturesque panoramic view of the Swartberg Mountains will bring comfort to anyone that wants to "get away from it all" and simply soak up the peace of its tranquil surroundings.The farm was purchased in 2003 and welcomed its first guests in February 2005. The extraordinary views of the Swartberg Mountain from the veranda of the original farmhouse compelled us to create a venue where more people could share in the tranquillity and serenity of this beautiful valley."Voorbedacht" farm is a working farm, which offers our guests the unique opportunity to explore and experience the true essence of subsistence farming in the Little Karoo. Among the various agricultural products farmed, we also farm livestock such as, cattle, sheep and ostriches. Daily walks on the farm allow guests to experience the peace and serenity of this beautiful valley, while for the more "wild at heart"; mountain bikes are available to explore the more rugged terrain. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Swartberg Country Manor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Swartberg Country Manor Oudtshoorn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing