We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Swartberg Country Manor
Ranked #2 of 9 Hotels in Oudtshoorn
Certificate of Excellence
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
368 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 167 helpful votes
“Beautiful location”
Reviewed 23 July 2014

This is a bit off the beaten track up in the hills, but it is worth the journey. It is very quiet out here and the views of the mountains and agricultural valley are fantastic.
The accommodation is comfortable and there is a lounge, with TV, where a roaring fire was lit in the evening. It was pretty chilly up here on the winter night we were there, the wind was whistling round the building. I don't really understand why they don't have central heating!
Bedrooms were well equipped, spacious and comfortable
The evening meal in the restaurant was pretty good, with local specialities, such as fillet of Ostrich and Karoo lamb chops on the menu. Not sure what veggies would do. The restaurant doesn't take payment by card (although the hotel does), so you need some cash.
There is only wifi in the restaurant.
Breakfast was buffet style, which seems to be unusual in these parts, but was fine.

Room Tip: Not all rooms have a bath, so if you want one ask.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 23RUN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

178 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    115
    42
    13
    4
    4
See reviews for
33
98
6
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
George, South Africa
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 16 April 2014

To reach this lovely guest house on a very hot Karoo day, was a total delight for seven weary cyclists. The warm welcome, cool swimming pool and cold refreshments soon revived our guests. The rooms are extremely well appointed and even the bicycles had comfortable accommodation on the spacious verandah of the main house. The evening braai, on a perfect evening, with the mighty Swartberg looming close to us, was a fitting end to a good day.
Breakfast, buffet style, always suits groups and we were able to get an early start the next day.

Room Tip: Rooms in the main house, where we stayed on this occasion , are very comfortable and as the groups w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank outeniquatours
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 March 2014

We spent 4 nights at the Swartberg Country Manor and found the location ideal for exploring the surrounding country side. The staff where exceptional with there service and help in all matters, the food was very good perhaps the menu could be varied after 4 nights with basically the same options. overall a very pleasant stay and all 7 of our party agreed that we would use the venue again.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tinman1200GS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tienen, Belgium
Level 5 Contributor
81 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 January 2014

the good:
-friendly helpful staff/owner
-great location (remote but that does not bother us)
-best ostrich i have eaten!
-decent menu
the not so good:
-rooms arguably are not comparable to other 4 star lodges; they are a bit lower standard, clean though
-guys, please something about your house wines; both red and white are undrinkable for the experienced wine lover!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Zeefie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Klerksdorp, North-West, South Africa
Level 6 Contributor
116 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 September 2013

We love our stay at Swartberg Country Manor. Tertius was our host and he told us many stories about Outshoorn and it surroundings. It was very cold when we stay there, but the room was equip with a electric blanket, heater and a lovely duvet. The room was comfortable and tastefully decorated. The breakfast was a real treat with warm homemade bread - what a treat - and all the other breakfast food. The restaurant on the farm is a real cuisine winner - tasty food made with love. If you want a lovely stay in the mountains - Swartberg Manor is your answer!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Charlotte P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tertius M, General Manager at Swartberg Country Manor, responded to this review, 29 September 2013
Thank you so much. We are happy your had a great stay. We loved having you here. Hope that you visit soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam
Level 6 Contributor
171 reviews
119 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 126 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 September 2013

What a beautiful mountainview, what a great location. Great views all over the place and especially from the deck next to the restaurant. My room was just fine, with a comfortable bed and a very nice bathroom. Needed my worldplug to use the heater but it heated the place very quick.
Food was just fine. Very taste tapwater in this part of the country. And, tasty wine ofcourse! Wifi availabile but didn't seem to work on Iphones.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ArtistheP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tertius M, General Manager at Swartberg Country Manor, responded to this review, 9 September 2013
Thank you very much for your feedback and we are glad that you enjoyed your stay. We are currently working with our internet service provider to find a solution for the Wi-Fi connectivity for IPhone 4. It seems that the problem is with the IPhone 4 & 4S as all other Apple devises has no connectivity problems. We apologise for the inconvenience and assure you we are attending to the problem.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town, South Africa
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 April 2013

We were lucky enough to stay for 2 beautiful nights in the honeymoon suite which overlook an ostrich mom and her babies. What a special treat! The rooms are simpler yet really nice. The food both nights was excellent and the staff were sup friendly and accommodating. Nothing was ever too much. It's located perfectly close to the swarberg pass as well as the caves - awesome spot to either just relax or for someone looking for some adventure - mountain biking, hiking etc a beautiful little spot in the world

Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank TK100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tertius M, General Manager at Swartberg Country Manor, responded to this review, 16 April 2013
Thank you very much. Please come visit us again. Best Wishes, Tertius
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Oudtshoorn hotels
15.3 mi away
Hlangana Lodge
Hlangana Lodge
#1 of 9 in Oudtshoorn
485 reviews
15.9 mi away
Turnberry Boutique Hotel
Turnberry Boutique Hotel
#4 of 9 in Oudtshoorn
296 reviews
15.1 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Oudtshoorn Riempie Estate
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.0 mi away
Queens Hotel
Queens Hotel
#3 of 9 in Oudtshoorn
329 reviews
17.0 mi away
86 on Langenhoven Bed & Breakfast
15.5 mi away
La Pension Guest House
La Pension Guest House
#2 of 75 in Oudtshoorn
521 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Swartberg Country Manor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Swartberg Country Manor

Property: Swartberg Country Manor
Address: Farm Voorbedacht Matjiesrivier | Cango Valley, Oudtshoorn 01312, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Oudtshoorn
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 9 Hotels in Oudtshoorn
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Swartberg Country Manor 4*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Swartberg Country Manor is nestled on the farm "Voorbedacht" situated in the Cango Valley at the foot of the world-renowned Swartberg Pass. The picturesque panoramic view of the Swartberg Mountains will bring comfort to anyone that wants to "get away from it all" and simply soak up the peace of its tranquil surroundings.The farm was purchased in 2003 and welcomed its first guests in February 2005. The extraordinary views of the Swartberg Mountain from the veranda of the original farmhouse compelled us to create a venue where more people could share in the tranquillity and serenity of this beautiful valley."Voorbedacht" farm is a working farm, which offers our guests the unique opportunity to explore and experience the true essence of subsistence farming in the Little Karoo. Among the various agricultural products farmed, we also farm livestock such as, cattle, sheep and ostriches. Daily walks on the farm allow guests to experience the peace and serenity of this beautiful valley, while for the more "wild at heart"; mountain bikes are available to explore the more rugged terrain. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Odigeo, Booking.com, Ebookers, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Swartberg Country Manor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Swartberg Country Manor Oudtshoorn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing