We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Swartberg Country Manor
Nearby Hotels
US$69
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Queens Hotel(Oudtshoorn)
US$68
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$76
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$74
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
86 on Langenhoven Bed & Breakfast(Oudtshoorn)(Great Value!)
US$60
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$54
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$150
Booking.com
View Deal
Hlangana Lodge(Oudtshoorn)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (230)
Filter reviews
230 results
Traveller rating
154
55
13
4
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
154
55
13
4
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviewspatatswartberg mountainsswartberg passcango cavesmanagement teamrelaxing breakperfect roomstunning mountain viewsmountain bikesclean swimming poolsmall hotellovely restaurantwine listfarm stayduty managerfantastic locationoff the beaten track
Filter
Updating list...
155 - 160 of 230 reviews
Reviewed 22 February 2010

We were so looking forward to our stay here, we were booked in for 3 nights at the end of Januart.The scenery at this hotel is simply stunning but as for the rest I don't know where to start.
We had travelled 5 very hot hours to get to the hotel. When we arrived we were not offered a drink of any kind, not even a glass of cold water.
We were shown to our room at about 4pm , the room was very nice ,however there was no fridge, safe or tv, the hotel is supposed to be 4 star and we had all these facilities in every other place that we stayed in during our 3 week tour of SA.
I tried to have a cold shower shortly after we got to our room, no water!!!!! I went to reception to tell that we had no water only to be told that the water was off as they were repairing a leak and that they hoped to have the water on by 6.30pm. Nothing was said to us about this when we checked in. Not a good start to our stay here!
Because the hotel is so far from town we had little choice but to eat at their restaurant, the choice of meals was very small, I had the ostrich and my wife, the chicken. There was no menu as such so we didn't know the prices.
My ostrich was ok but a bit on the tough side, however my wife's chicken was very under done and very pink in parts, needless to say she didn't eat it. Breakfast the following days was ok and it was very pleasant to sit in the warm sun on their deck with the wonderful views, this was probably the highlight of our stay.
As I said before we were both very much looking forward to our stay here, we wanted some time to rest after several days of touring the Garden Route, sadly because of our experience here we only stayed one night.

  • Stayed: January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank TorchyPyrford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2009

What a special evening we had! WOW, from the moment we arrived at the Manor, we were personally welcomed by Colleen and her team, made us feel right a home! We were then taken to our Honeymoon Suite, (this was for our 6th aniversary) and we were taken by surprise! An old little 'bakehouse' was renovated to be our suite, overlooking fields with ostriches, figs trees and the Swartberg! STUNNING, STUNNING! We could sit on our little deck, overlooking the fields, drinking sparkling wine. ANd then we went for the most amazing dinner in Patat, their restaurant. Everything about the meal was special and so tasty, all fresh ingredients! Thank you so very much! On our way home, we were seen off, until we drove away! This is truly an amazing venue, very romantic and peaceful, exactly what we needed! All thumbs up! :-)

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HMRossouw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2009

My wife and I stayed at Swartberg Country Manor for two nights as part of our honeymoon. We were welcomed by Jan, the owner, who immediately made us feel at home. The atmosphere is very relaxed and friendly.

This guest house is a hidden gem. It is situated in the shadow of the Swartberg mountains - with majestic panoramic views and away from any hustle and bustle yet it is within easy driving distance of many attractions - the Cango Caves, the magnificently-beautiful Swartberg pass, and Oudtshoorn. The manor also offer star gazing and adventure tours (4x4 trails).

The guest house has a main Manor House, as well as separate chalets, and a restaurant (Patat). We stayed in the main Manor House, which was elegantly furnished, and very comfortable. The rooms were spacious and very clean, with bathrooms en suite.

The restaurant was amazing. We had our breakfasts and suppers there. The home cooked meals were 5 star and fantastic value for money. There is a good selection of well chosen wines also at reasonable prices. We had amazing service from the staff who could not do enough for us.

If we are in that area again we would definitely stay there again, and we would highly recommend it to anyone who is looking for a relaxing break, or place to stay overnight.

  • Stayed: April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tris1911
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 November 2008

We stayed here for one night as a stop-over and that is probably all I would recommend it for.

As a previous person has written the accommodation is so far out of Oudtshoorn that we didn't really have an option to travel for dinner so we agreed to eat in the restaurant. That turned out to be a big mistake. We sat down in a nice building and ordered our wine, however that is all we had the option of!! It was a set menu which we were not told about and you had better hope you like Ostrich as you won't get a choice of anything else. My ostrich steak was lovely however my boyfriend's was so tough it could have bounced. Our only other option was to have ostrich mince instead. The dessert was nice however the custard was made from powder and there were lumps in it.

Besides the food everything else was lovely, our room had been allocated wrong so we told the manager and he very nicely moved us in to the honeymoon suite, which was superb. The place does have spectacular views and is a good travelling distance to the Swartberg Pass and Cango Caves

  • Stayed: October 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank Claire M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2008

Spent a couple of nights here at this very comfortable guest lodge off the beaten track. Beautiful location with stunning mountain views. A real highlight was an after dinner star star gazing tutorial courtesy of Rudi, one of the the Manor staff. Accommodation was clean and well presented and food was homecooked and in plentiful portions. Considerably better than your average UK bed and breakfast!

  • Stayed: May 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank WearytravellerOxford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews