We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely stunning stay!”
Review of Montana Guest Farm

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Montana Guest Farm
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Absolutely stunning stay!”
Reviewed 9 August 2014 via mobile

We stayed over at Montana on the 2nd of August. It was my friends birthday and Wolfgang was an incredible host. We wined and dined with him. We had so much fun. Alfred prepared the most amazing ostrich fillet for us.

Our suite was beautiful. Outside the huge cactus and breathtaking views.. it was only a pleasure to wake up to and have your morning coffee on the patio and being greeted by Jessica.. Wolfgang dog.

A lovely breakfast on the patio prepared by Alfred was enough to complete this amazing stay at Montana.

I will definitely recommend a stay at Montana Guest Farm.
Regards
Vanessa

Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Vanessa O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

117 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    75
    23
    10
    7
    2
See reviews for
16
80
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Cape Town, South Africa
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2014

Thank you Wolfgang for a wonderful stay. The room is exceptional,comfortable and warm for the Karoo winter nights. Dinner was first class with all the attention to detail.Your guest house is situated in a lovely setting with beautiful views.Recommended to all who visit this area and the Cango Caves.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mark L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg
Level Contributor
158 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 January 2014

One of my favourite areas in the whole world. The lodge has some really luxurious touches but is a little let down by bad maintenance. A very average breakfast. I didn't have dinner.
Grounds are really good for kids with plenty of space and 2 really nice swimming pools (needed in mid-summer).

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Garth J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 December 2013 via mobile

Having passed through a lot of hotels on this trip through South Africa, I know that there are only a few I will still remember ten years from now, and Montana is definitely one of them. The German owners, as previous reviewers have mentioned, are absolute characters. Very funny, gregarious and endearing. I had booked my stay on a whim the day before, and was a bit travel weary so didn't really have high (or any) expectations. It ended up turning into one of my most memorable evenings, spending most of the night eating and drinking with the owners and another German guest. We all had a fantastic evening talking travel, politics, and language (with the conversation switching from English, to French, German and back to English again!). There are few places that I have visited that have been so spontaneous and fun, and I think that it is largely down to the energy and good humour of the owners. The accommodation itself was very spacious, and the grounds are absolutely spectacular. The following day was one of the best of the trip, and this was largely due to the advice I was given over dinner on where to go, where to eat etc. They even helped me to organise a very last minute horseriding trip. This is quite simply a fantastic place for people who like to meet new people and talk the night away in a stunning setting.

Stayed December 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank EvonneMarie545
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zug, Switzerland
Level Contributor
20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 October 2013

We dropped by quite by coincidence and got the most beautiful room you could imagine (cactus room). The staff was very attentive and friendly - we immediately felt at home. The owner of the place unites all guests for a family-style dinner in the evenings, starting with a glass of sparkling wine. He really cares for his guests and he loves welcoming people from around the world. Apart from the fact that the place is simply spotless and very well looked after, it is the host's warm and welcoming presence which makes this place remarkable and simply the place to go. We had a wonderful time and would recommend it to anybody.

Room Tip: The cactus lodge is very beautiful - you even get a whirlpool in your own room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Karin6300
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 May 2013 via mobile

As soon as we arrived on a very hot day we mere met with a cool beer and quickly shown our luxury villas. Wolfgang and Dagmar were superb hosts with such a good sense of humour. Loved the outdoor dining, the chef who cooked our meal, the other guests who were all German, but spoke English in our company. Will definitely go back.

Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Zenify
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carnoustie, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 April 2013

Stayed here for a couple of nights last month and what a lovely time I had. The German owners are real characters and make you most welcome. As a lone traveller, I was pleasantly surprised at the communal dining table in the evenings - quite fun trying to recall my schoolboy German. The 'welcome drink' each evening was most welcome too and I felt genuinely at home. Food choice was limited but absolutely excellent - Ostrich one evening and Eland the other.

Room (suite) was spacious and spotlessly clean and the small swimming pool very welcome in the heat. Overall a delightful stay - highly recommended especially if you speak a little German!

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Delboy7019
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Oudtshoorn hotels
6.8 mi away
Hlangana Lodge
Hlangana Lodge
#1 of 9 in Oudtshoorn
477 reviews
12.2 mi away
De Zeekoe Guest Farm
De Zeekoe Guest Farm
#5 of 46 in Oudtshoorn
886 reviews
0.4 mi away
Berluda Farmhouse & Cottages
Berluda Farmhouse & Cottages
#4 of 46 in Oudtshoorn
278 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.7 mi away
Riverside Lodge
Riverside Lodge
#2 of 46 in Oudtshoorn
308 reviews
21.4 mi away
Rietfontein Ostrich Palace
Rietfontein Ostrich Palace
#9 of 46 in Oudtshoorn
151 reviews
13.3 mi away
Mooiplaas Guesthouse
Mooiplaas Guesthouse
#7 of 46 in Oudtshoorn
328 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Montana Guest Farm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Montana Guest Farm

Property: Montana Guest Farm
Address: | Klein Karoo, Oudtshoorn 6625, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Oudtshoorn
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 46 Speciality Lodging in Oudtshoorn
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Montana Guest Farm reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing