We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lively Hotel”
Review of Queens Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Queens Hotel
Ranked #3 of 9 Hotels in Oudtshoorn
Reviewed 12 August 2013

Lovely historic hotel, restaurant food probably the best we have had in SA so far. Close to the Cango caves and the Garden route. Free wifi, reminded us of many historic hotels we have enjoyed in Europe.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Caledontravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (350)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

238 - 244 of 350 reviews

Reviewed 12 August 2013

Stayed here for one night when traveling onto the Garden Route. The hotel had a very nice and traditional feel to it, something I always like. The rooms were nice and well furnished with the only criticisms being the bed was slightly too hard and not particularly comfortable and the rooms were cold and I could not get my heating to work.

The service was good and I enjoyed eating in the restaurant and the breakfast was also excellent.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Martia_C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2013

We spent a few days at this Hotel a couple of years ago and the experience was outstanding.
This applies particularly to the staff and the table.
Last weekend we were once again touring the area and as it was a Sunday and close to lunch-time we decided to see if the Hotel served a Sunday lunch.
We were surprised to be told a bit shortly by front desk that,not only was the Hotel not serving lunch,but that the upstairs restaurant was also closed as the Hotel was "empty".
We were redirected to the attached Cafe Brule` for our lunch.
The food was cold,the selection very small in buffet form and the facilities only just satisfactory.We were in fact surprised that such an excellent Hotel had such an unusual policy as part of their operation.The staff on duty were once again excellent,but weighing my plate of food to calculate my bill seemed a rather quaint way of doing things?Hopefully the upstairs restaurant (which is excellent) will be open on our next visit!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank constantsailor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2013

We were doing a winter road trip through the Karoo. We arrived in Oudtshoorn late in the afternoon and decided to look for a place to stay. The Queens hotel is very well situated. The rooms were very clean and the staff were very helpful and friendly. We were starving and decided to have dinner very early as soon as the Colony restaurant opened at 6pm . We were wined and dined in style.They have a wonderful bar with a roaring wood fire right next to the dining room. The Karoo lamb I had was made to perfection. Very good Quality food at this hotel. We were very impressed can we can highly recommend it.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Hilton K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2013

An excellent hotel situated in the heart of oudtshoorn service all round is excellent. Try the colony restaurant in the hotel great food great wine list.
Central location all shops with in walking distnce

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank russel123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2013

Yes and Queen Elizabeth 2 stayed here as a young girl with her parents and sister.
Room was spotless and beautifully furnished. The info on how to take a shower gave a us a laugh.
The hotel is built and furnished in the old English style.There was a lovely sitting room and the dining room and bar were very elegant.
We had dinner and breakfast and the food and service were excellent.
I only wish we could have stayed for another night.

Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank HollyFan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2013

stayed here for 2 nights as part of our 2 week tour of the cape region.excellent colonial style hotel.All positive regarding staff,comfort,food and location.If in this area again I would return to this hotel without hesitation.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jockhaggis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Oudtshoorn hotels
1.0 mi away
Hlangana Lodge
Hlangana Lodge
#1 of 9 in Oudtshoorn
505 reviews
0.1 mi away
Turnberry Boutique Hotel
Turnberry Boutique Hotel
#4 of 9 in Oudtshoorn
306 reviews
1.2 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Oudtshoorn Riempie Estate
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Oudtshoorn Inn Hotel and Conferencing Centre
1.0 mi away
86 on Langenhoven Bed & Breakfast
16.0 mi away
Swartberg Country Manor
Swartberg Country Manor
#2 of 9 in Oudtshoorn
192 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Queens Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Queens Hotel

Address: 5 Baron van Reede Street, Oudtshoorn 6625, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Oudtshoorn
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 9 Hotels in Oudtshoorn
Price Range: £71 - £108 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Queens Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Colonial elegance, modern convenience The Queen's Hotel is an oasis of colonial elegance and wired modern convenience in the heart of Oudtshoorn - the capital of the beautiful semi-arid Klein Karoo. Finished in 1880, this grand dame of South African hoteliery has recently been restored to her full original beauty and continues to offer sumptuous accommodation, service and dining that is reminiscent of a bygone era but driven by dynamic modern hotel management. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Queens Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Queens Hotel Oudtshoorn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing