We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“fabulous”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Queens Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Queens Hotel
Ranked #4 of 9 Hotels in Oudtshoorn
Dumbarton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
116 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“fabulous”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 November 2013

lovely old hotel with some really beautiful furnishings. Receptionist took pride in arranging flowers and was most pleasant. Great place to relax and really nice swimming pool area. Staff were attentive and food was good.

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank sandra s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

311 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    79
    129
    80
    15
    8
See reviews for
62
153
16
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
235 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 November 2013

Such a lovely hotel with a bygone era feel about it. The bar and lounge area is so perfect with a feel of total relaxation. Nice garden and terrace to take breakfast. Small swimming pool in garden has a past era feel also. Please stay as you are as there are not enough olde world hotels left in such good condition. Wifi available in reception area.
Well placed in the town for good access to shops and restaurants.

Room Tip: Very few views from all directions. We had rear room and only noise was from birds from 4.30am.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bernie p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boulder, Colorado
Level Contributor
413 reviews
106 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 November 2013

Checking in was pleasant and we were greeted with a glass of wine. The facility is circa 1900 or so, with plenty of wood, very nice. The fixtures and plumbing are also of that era, however. The bar is great, with a good selection and pleasant bartender. The dining area is also very nice and the food selection were of fairly high standard. We were assigned a room which looked out directly onto a wall and when we requested another room we were told that all they had were rooms overlooking the road which would be very noisy. Our traveling companions, in those rooms confirmed that they were indeed noisy. Some rooms look into a pleasant courtyard which would have been more pleasant. The town is small and can be walked in just a few minutes. This is basically a place to stay en route to somewhere else.

Room Tip: see the description I provided. Get a room which is facing away from the road, and do not take an e...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ron W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto
Level Contributor
129 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 November 2013

A great historical early 20th century ( late 19th century?) hotel ...but rooms badly need renovations. The rooms are poorly. The plumbing is ancient. In our room some fixtures di not work. The WiFi only seems to work in the lobby area. A few brighter light bulbs would be an inexpensive good start with the improvements

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Flexecutives
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peterborough, England
Level Contributor
62 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 October 2013

This is a lovely old (by South African standards) building set in a rather featureless small town. There is a charming lounge on the first floor. At first we had a problem with noise from the air conditioning of a nearby clinic, and asked to change rooms - which was done instantly and without question. Our new room was in front by the road and could have benefited from double glazing.
After a heavy lunch of ostrich steak we wanted a snack meal, but for this we had to use the room service menu, none were available in the bar. The meal was in fact excellent.
It is a very pleasant hotel and the staff were most helpful, but it has fallen slightly behind the times in decor and facilities.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank POSH94
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane
Level Contributor
152 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 October 2013

This hotel exudes real colonial elegance from the hotel entrance to the sitting room, dinning room and decorating touches in the hallways and room. Even the lift maintains the look of a previous age with a door you open manually to get into it. I have to admit it was a little tricky negotiating the door, which opens outwards, and getting into the lift with a wheelie suitcase. But all part of the charm and slightly old-fashioned nature of the hotel. And the back of the hotel is not neglected either - the courtyard garden is beautiful. Parking at the rear of the hotel makes for security. Wifi is also available - ask at reception.
The staff are friendly and helpful - although a little slow on dinner service. I agree with some of the previous comments - at night the room was a little too dark for reading comfortably. But apart from that the room was well-appointed, comfortable and quiet.
Dinner in the restaurant was fabulous, although the dining area is a little dark. The ostrich fillet (local) was fantastic. Breakfast in the breakfast room which looks out over the courtyard was tasty. If staying in Oudtshoorn again I would stay there - it's location makes it ideal for visiting the local attractions including the Cango Caves and Cango Wildlife Ranch.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CheetahgirlBris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Preston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
254 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 131 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 October 2013

As one of our fellow travellers said! Beautiful public areas and outside spaces but rooms designed for another era suffered when space was taken from them for the en suites. And yes, it was very dark. Ate dinner, eventually, in the dining room. The food was lovely, and service was excellent when they got round to you but they were so severely understaffed they were literally running from table to table. Eating from the buffet would have been the wise choice! Breakfast was good. Only here one night as a stopover. Visit to the Cango caves was worth it. Less sure about the ostrich farm.

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Youngatheart6248
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Oudtshoorn hotels
0.1 mi away
Turnberry Boutique Hotel
Turnberry Boutique Hotel
#3 of 9 in Oudtshoorn
4.0 of 5 bubbles 289 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hlangana Lodge
Hlangana Lodge
#1 of 9 in Oudtshoorn
4.5 of 5 bubbles 466 reviews
1.2 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Oudtshoorn Riempie Estate
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Oudtshoorn Inn Hotel and Conferencing Centre
16.0 mi away
Swartberg Country Manor
Swartberg Country Manor
#2 of 9 in Oudtshoorn
4.5 of 5 bubbles 165 reviews
0.2 mi away
Gumtree Guest House
Gumtree Guest House
#5 of 74 in Oudtshoorn
5.0 of 5 bubbles 549 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Queens Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Queens Hotel

Property: Queens Hotel
Address: 5 Baron van Reede Street, Oudtshoorn 6625, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Oudtshoorn
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 9 Hotels in Oudtshoorn
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Queens Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Colonial elegance, modern convenience The Queen's Hotel is an oasis of colonial elegance and wired modern convenience in the heart of Oudtshoorn - the capital of the beautiful semi-arid Klein Karoo. Finished in 1880, this grand dame of South African hoteliery has recently been restored to her full original beauty and continues to offer sumptuous accommodation, service and dining that is reminiscent of a bygone era but driven by dynamic modern hotel management. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Queens Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Queens Hotel Oudtshoorn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing