We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A taste of the past”
Review of Queens Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Queens Hotel
Ranked #3 of 9 Hotels in Oudtshoorn
Reviewed 21 March 2014

We stayed 2 nights here as part of a Saga tour. The rooms and bathrooms are small but perfectly functional and the beds comfortable. Our room was on the side and we could see the road, however we were not bothered by traffic noise even though we had the windows open at night. The hotel has an old world charm and is keen to promote the visit of the UK royal family in 1947. There is a lovely lounge with stuffed chintzy sofas adjacent to the 1st floor dining room. Breakfast is taken in the downstairs restaurant which opens onto the small courtyard. Food is very good with plenty of choice. The pool is in an area of rather unkempt garden at the back of the hotel with only 6 loungers and no parasols. WiFi in the hotel is hopeless not only for those using ipads but also on the main computer in the lounge.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jennywrenSussex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alie K, Owner at Queens Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 March 2014

I am the new General Manager of this splendid Colonial Masterpiece. We are currently busy with the upgrading of the Hotel and have introduced various measurement to ensure minimal discomfort to our hotel guests. The complete hotel has been repainted on the outside. The pool area is up for upgrading this coming winter, (June - August) The new internet connection with uncapped access have been introduced on 3 March 2014 . I trust that the new arrangement is a huge improvement.

Regards,
Alie Killian
Director and Genral Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (374)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

232 - 238 of 374 reviews

Reviewed 19 March 2014

This Hotel dates back to the late 1800's but still offers up to date facilities and service. The bedrooms are a little dated, but clean and functional and mine looked out over the courtyard garden, which was very pleasant. My bedroom had a gas mask in a glass case positioned in the very large wardrobe! Hopefully a leave over from a bygone age! (I didn't need to use it by the way!). However, there was a problem with my airconditioning which resulted in the clothing I had left lying beneath the unit getting extremely wet, due to the leaking water. The staff, however, did take away my 6 items of clothing and within an hour I had them back dried and pressed. But beware of this, as I believe there was a problem in other rooms at the same time with the airconditioning malfunctioning. However, all in all, a lovely place to stay although the swimming pool area could do with a little TLC.

Room Tip: Ask for one overlooking the garden, as some overlook a tin roof!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jacqueline D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Henco20, Marketing at Queens Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 November 2014

Thank you for the kind review - we have had challenges with our air conditioners but most have subsequently been replaced. Hope to see you again in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 February 2014

Stayed here for 1 night, rooms nice and cosy (don't expect massive rooms as this is an old hotel).
Four of us had a fantastic meal on the balcony and a desert to die for. You can tell these are home made the ice cream was great. Can not fault our stay here. Thank you

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mikemaidstone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 February 2014

Stayed one night as part of our tour. Spent 2 worrying hours as a case had been put in an empty room which didn't help! Especially as no one apologised! As we were there on a Sunday the area was very quiet. We had a bigger room and bathroom than most and quite liked the faded charm especially in the communal rooms. Ate in the restaurant and dinner was lovely and very good value.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Barbara G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 February 2014

It doesn't seem a 4 star hotel at all! Tiny rooms, narrow beds and in the one we slept there was a disgusting smoke smell, although it is a non smoking hotel, very unfortunate. The carpets were stained. The bathroom was old fashioned but nice and clean. We had to ask for the safe box key once we were upstairs and go down again for the wifi password. The people in the front desk was not as helpfull and nice as I expected. Breakfast in the gallery was OK. The whole ambiance is delicate , simple and pleasant.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
Thank Adriana B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 January 2014

We stayed at this hotel as part of a trip around the western cape. Initial difficulty locating the parking as one way system in front of hotel means access is a little difficult by car. The room is average for a hotel of this rating, no fridge (really needed in this hot place) and only meagre rations of coffee and tea in the room. However, service and food in the restaurant have more than made up for this, the ostrich steak in port wine sauce is superb and local wines on the menu are very good value for money. Staff are attentive, pleasant and helpful.

Room Tip: Choose a room around the back, those on the front can be disturbed by traffic noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Allan J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 January 2014

A lovely old-world hotel in the centre of town. It has recently been refurbished to a very high standard. The furniture in the public rooms has been restored and reupholstered. It would compare favourably with a top notch London hotel. The service and staff were great, as was the food. The only let down was the pool which needed a good clean. Beware of the shower as there was no thermostat on the one in our room so if the water suddenly became scalding hot we could not get to the taps to turn it off! Thermostatic showers do not seem common in South Africa.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mike m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Oudtshoorn hotels
1.1 mi away
Hlangana Lodge
Hlangana Lodge
#1 of 9 in Oudtshoorn
535 reviews
0.1 mi away
Turnberry Boutique Hotel
Turnberry Boutique Hotel
#4 of 9 in Oudtshoorn
330 reviews
16 mi away
Swartberg Country Manor
Swartberg Country Manor
#2 of 9 in Oudtshoorn
220 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1 mi away
86 on Langenhoven Bed & Breakfast
1.2 mi away
Protea Hotel Oudtshoorn Riempie Estate
0.5 mi away
Oudtshoorn Inn Hotel and Conferencing Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Queens Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Queens Hotel

Address: 5 Baron van Reede Street, Oudtshoorn 6625, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Oudtshoorn
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 9 Hotels in Oudtshoorn
Price Range: £54 - £110 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Queens Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Colonial elegance, modern convenience The Queen's Hotel is an oasis of colonial elegance and wired modern convenience in the heart of Oudtshoorn - the capital of the beautiful semi-arid Klein Karoo. Finished in 1880, this grand dame of South African hoteliery has recently been restored to her full original beauty and continues to offer sumptuous accommodation, service and dining that is reminiscent of a bygone era but driven by dynamic modern hotel management. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Queens Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Queens Hotel Oudtshoorn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing