We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A Really Great Experience” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Queens Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Queens Hotel
Ranked #4 of 9 Hotels in Oudtshoorn
Cape Town
1 review
“A Really Great Experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 March 2014

We have stayed at this hotel before, and we will stay there again - we so enjoy its homely and personalised touches. We were again made to feel at home by warm and friendly staff and stayed in a wonderful room overlooking the garden courtyard. Oudtshoorn is a long car-trip away for us, and the Queens Hotel provides just the tonic to remedy the stress of travel.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Basil G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alie K, General Manager at Queens Hotel, responded to this review, 21 April 2014
Basil,

Hope to see you again soon.

Regards,

Alie Killian
Director & General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

304 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    74
    127
    80
    15
    8
See reviews for
61
150
15
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
94 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 March 2014

I wonder if they have always served such bad food?
Tiger prawn tempura was a thick doughy mix that was simply undeniable. The poor tiger prawn inside the mix was cooked to a mulch.
We requested the rack of lamb to be for rare to med and pink, but arrived overcooked and tasteless. You did, in fact, need the meat knife supplied to cut into it.
All horrible except for the Stellenbosch wine at R210.
The waitress asked if everything was okay as all the food was left on the plate, so I explained and all she said was that she would inform the chef.

Just go for a drink to see the interior of this lovely old building.

Room Tip: Don't bother
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ruthven65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alie K, General Manager at Queens Hotel, responded to this review, 21 April 2014
It is a pity that you did not complained about the quality of the food as soon as you found it unacceptable. The chef would have talked to you and if necessary, replaced whatever it was that you did not liked. This is after all protocol. I found this comment about the food very strange, as we always get good feedback. Just read the review of 23 February 2014 of a very satisfied guest.

regards,

Alie Killian
Director & General manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Torrance, California
Level Contributor
56 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 March 2014

The Queen's hotel is a little bit outdated but in a kind of nice way. They have a fairly formal Lounge on the first floor (second floor, for us Americans) furnished with cushy sofas and chairs. They will be happy to serve you tea in the afternoon... but charged us for it, even though our information about the hotel said "Teas and coffees included." We ate dinner in their restaurant, which was nice but breakfast in the courtyard the next morning was truly lovely! The staff who served our dinner and breakfast were great but the staff at the front desk didn't seem like they were interested (texting/ talking on the phone while I waited).

Room Tip: Choose a room in the back of the hotel because it is on THE main street!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LizaBragg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Henco20, Marketing at Queens Hotel, responded to this review, 15 November 2014
We are glad you enjoyed your stay and enjoyed the meals and service - we have addressed the issue you raised and be sure that will not happen again. Hopefully we will see you soon again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sussex
Level Contributor
69 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 March 2014

We stayed 2 nights here as part of a Saga tour. The rooms and bathrooms are small but perfectly functional and the beds comfortable. Our room was on the side and we could see the road, however we were not bothered by traffic noise even though we had the windows open at night. The hotel has an old world charm and is keen to promote the visit of the UK royal family in 1947. There is a lovely lounge with stuffed chintzy sofas adjacent to the 1st floor dining room. Breakfast is taken in the downstairs restaurant which opens onto the small courtyard. Food is very good with plenty of choice. The pool is in an area of rather unkempt garden at the back of the hotel with only 6 loungers and no parasols. WiFi in the hotel is hopeless not only for those using ipads but also on the main computer in the lounge.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jennywrenSussex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alie K, Owner at Queens Hotel, responded to this review, 25 March 2014
I am the new General Manager of this splendid Colonial Masterpiece. We are currently busy with the upgrading of the Hotel and have introduced various measurement to ensure minimal discomfort to our hotel guests. The complete hotel has been repainted on the outside. The pool area is up for upgrading this coming winter, (June - August) The new internet connection with uncapped access have been introduced on 3 March 2014 . I trust that the new arrangement is a huge improvement.

Regards,
Alie Killian
Director and Genral Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 March 2014

This Hotel dates back to the late 1800's but still offers up to date facilities and service. The bedrooms are a little dated, but clean and functional and mine looked out over the courtyard garden, which was very pleasant. My bedroom had a gas mask in a glass case positioned in the very large wardrobe! Hopefully a leave over from a bygone age! (I didn't need to use it by the way!). However, there was a problem with my airconditioning which resulted in the clothing I had left lying beneath the unit getting extremely wet, due to the leaking water. The staff, however, did take away my 6 items of clothing and within an hour I had them back dried and pressed. But beware of this, as I believe there was a problem in other rooms at the same time with the airconditioning malfunctioning. However, all in all, a lovely place to stay although the swimming pool area could do with a little TLC.

Room Tip: Ask for one overlooking the garden, as some overlook a tin roof!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jacqueline D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Henco20, Marketing at Queens Hotel, responded to this review, 15 November 2014
Thank you for the kind review - we have had challenges with our air conditioners but most have subsequently been replaced. Hope to see you again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kent
Level Contributor
19 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 February 2014

Stayed here for 1 night, rooms nice and cosy (don't expect massive rooms as this is an old hotel).
Four of us had a fantastic meal on the balcony and a desert to die for. You can tell these are home made the ice cream was great. Can not fault our stay here. Thank you

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mikemaidstone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hull
Level Contributor
33 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 February 2014

Stayed one night as part of our tour. Spent 2 worrying hours as a case had been put in an empty room which didn't help! Especially as no one apologised! As we were there on a Sunday the area was very quiet. We had a bigger room and bathroom than most and quite liked the faded charm especially in the communal rooms. Ate in the restaurant and dinner was lovely and very good value.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Barbara G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Oudtshoorn hotels
0.1 mi away
Turnberry Boutique Hotel
Turnberry Boutique Hotel
#3 of 9 in Oudtshoorn
4.5 of 5 bubbles 285 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hlangana Lodge
Hlangana Lodge
#1 of 9 in Oudtshoorn
4.5 of 5 bubbles 456 reviews
1.3 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Oudtshoorn Riempie Estate
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Oudtshoorn Inn Hotel and Conferencing Centre
16.0 mi away
Swartberg Country Manor
Swartberg Country Manor
#2 of 9 in Oudtshoorn
4.5 of 5 bubbles 163 reviews
0.2 mi away
Gumtree Guest House
Gumtree Guest House
#5 of 77 in Oudtshoorn
5.0 of 5 bubbles 541 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Queens Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Queens Hotel

Property: Queens Hotel
Address: 5 Baron van Reede Street, Oudtshoorn 6625, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Oudtshoorn
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 9 Hotels in Oudtshoorn
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Queens Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Colonial elegance, modern convenience The Queen's Hotel is an oasis of colonial elegance and wired modern convenience in the heart of Oudtshoorn - the capital of the beautiful semi-arid Klein Karoo. Finished in 1880, this grand dame of South African hoteliery has recently been restored to her full original beauty and continues to offer sumptuous accommodation, service and dining that is reminiscent of a bygone era but driven by dynamic modern hotel management. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Queens Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Queens Hotel Oudtshoorn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing