We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Superb Dinner”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Thylitshia Villa Country Guesthouse
Ranked #10 of 74 Oudtshoorn B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Knysna, South Africa
Level Contributor
29 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Superb Dinner”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2013

Stayed over for two nights during Klein Karoo Klassique festival. Thanks Lollie and Elriza for making our stay pleasant. Our room was recently renovated and provided all expected amenities. The room was clean and warm while the distant Swartberg mountains were covered in snow. We enjoyed one farm style dinner which was better prepared and tastier than what we were served at one of the top rated restaurants in Oudtshoorn the following evening. We will stay at Thylitshia again when visiting that part of our country

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ChristoW2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

256 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    197
    47
    5
    3
    4
See reviews for
65
132
2
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2013 via mobile

We stayed here on June 28 as a stop over from Cape Town to Bloemfontein. I wish we could have stayed for the whole week!! The rooms were adorable - clean and beautifully decorated. The property was lovely and the kids had a ball playing with the dog and visiting the lambs and ostrich. The food was amazing - we even liked the Ostrich steaks. But, the best part was getting to know the hosts who were wonderfully accommodating and very gracious.
We stayed at several different B&B's during our trip to South Africa and this one was my favorite!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sandy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town Central, South Africa
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2013

We would not hesitate for a second to recommend this "home away from home" guest house. From the minute we arrived, our children felt at home and thought we were visiting old friends. The warm hospitality of this delightful family goes way above expectation. The villa is decorated with a very stylish vintage feel...warm colours and beautifully thought out moto's painted in gorgeously decorated cosy corners. You almost feel cheated if you have not sat down in every comfy spot and allowed yourself to unwind. Amazing meals prepared by the lovely Elriza and Lollies who cater for your every need, superb location and excellent value for money.....what more could you ask for? Thanks guys for an outstanding stay!!!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lisa N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beaufort West, South Africa
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2013

Lovely, well appointed country house, close to all the sights of Outdshoorn and the Swartberg. Lollie and team are friendly and hospitable hosts. The ostrich fillets were delish thanks Lollie.

Highly recommended for a country stay

Room Tip: The garden rooms are beautiful
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nicky R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town Central, South Africa
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2013

A truly refreshing break-away from Cape Town city-life. Service was efficient & friendly and the owners were warm and welcoming! Meals were exquisite, created by the owner, himself with care and pride! Decor is fresh with a vintage touch and inspirational wall-hangings & paintings in all apartments! Complementary port & chocolates sweetened our stay even more. Only 10 mins drive from Oudtshoorn, I will definitely visit again.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bronwyn d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape St Francis, South Africa
Level Contributor
89 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 May 2013

Our hosts Lollie and Elzira are enthusiastic and determined to make their B&B one of the most sought after in the area and despite only being there for a little over a year they have improved the establishment enormously and will go from strength to strength

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Guy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town Central, South Africa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 May 2013

My husband and I have just had a beautiful experience, being spoilt and pampered during our two day stay at this immaculate guest house, where nothing was too much trouble for our delightful hosts. We appreciated the many unexpected ways in which they expressed their warm hospitality. The attention to detail is reflected in the comfortable, stylish accommodation, perfectly maintained surroundings,as well as the exquisitely prepared and presented meals. The genuinely kind and caring ambiance made our visit a truly uplifting experience. We enjoyed the sophistication of the guesthouse, combined with the interest of being on a working farm.Lollies and his wife Elriza, have combined their many gifts and skills to perfection!

Room Tip: all rooms are lovely
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Almarie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Oudtshoorn hotels
8.3 mi away
Hlangana Lodge
Hlangana Lodge
#1 of 9 in Oudtshoorn
4.5 of 5 bubbles 466 reviews
2.6 mi away
Mooiplaas Guesthouse
Mooiplaas Guesthouse
#7 of 47 in Oudtshoorn
4.5 of 5 bubbles 324 reviews
7.8 mi away
88 Baron van Reede Guesthouse
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.3 mi away
La Pension Guest House
La Pension Guest House
#3 of 74 in Oudtshoorn
5.0 of 5 bubbles 509 reviews
2.8 mi away
De Zeekoe Guest Farm
De Zeekoe Guest Farm
#5 of 47 in Oudtshoorn
4.5 of 5 bubbles 862 reviews
11.5 mi away
Surval Boutique Olive Estate
Surval Boutique Olive Estate
#8 of 74 in Oudtshoorn
4.5 of 5 bubbles 304 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Thylitshia Villa Country Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thylitshia Villa Country Guesthouse

Property: Thylitshia Villa Country Guesthouse
Address: | 20km from Oudtshoorn - direction Mossel Bay, Oudtshoorn 6620, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Oudtshoorn
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 74 B&Bs / Inns in Oudtshoorn
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Thylitshia Villa Country Guesthouse 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Thylitshia Villa is a beautiful newly renovated Vintage Geusthouse in the countryside of Oudtshoorn. This cosy 4 star guesthouse is a haven of peace and tranquillity, set in the captivating Olifants River Valley. It is perfectly situated for exploring Oudtshoorn, the ostrich capital of the world. Set in a peaceful garden abundant with bird life and a panoramic view if the Swartberg Mountains.Creating an an abience of French Vintage charm and warmth, 8 en-suite bedrooms are luxuriously and elegantly decorated,while thoughtful touches and attention to detail ensures a special romantic stay.All rooms have a private entrance onto their own private patio with breathtaking views of the beautiful gardens, swimmingpool and the valley.Relax with the sound of chirping birds and shimmering fountain.Pampered luxury, dedication to personal service and elegant hospitality-all this is Thylitshia Villa Guesthouse.We extend to you an invitation to a country escape which will create memories that will take a lifetime to fade..... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Evoline ltd and Agoda so you can book your Thylitshia Villa Country Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing