We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Felt Like Home”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Thylitshia Villa Country Guesthouse
Ranked #11 of 75 Oudtshoorn B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Felt Like Home”
Reviewed 5 September 2013

Firstly would like to thank Lollies and Elriza for the warm welcoming we received. Felt like meeting up with old friends. What I loved most about this guest house is the peacefulness and so relaxing. The hosts went out of their way to make us feel comfortable. The decor is so beautiful, I love the vintage style. This will not be my last trip, to fellow travelers be sure to spend 2 nights or more when booking cause one night is not enough. Thank you again for the mouth watering supper Lollies.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Melissa.Swanepoel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

263 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    203
    48
    5
    3
    4
See reviews for
67
134
2
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Humansdorp
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 September 2013

This place should have 7 stars! The rooms are beautiful, the complimentary toiletries of the highest quality and much more than what can be expected for the price. The owners are friendly and helpful and we had a fantastic meal. If you want to feel special stay here! But booked twice as long as you plan to because it is with difficulty that one leaves these people and their beautiful home.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank carinewhite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clanwilliam
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 September 2013

A lovely couple, excellent decor and hospitality, a super place to relax and enjoy the peace and quite. Food was excellent, the service was superb and the couple are extremely helpful about what to do in Oudtshoorn. A wonderful stay and I recommend it!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Belinda L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paarl, Western Cape, South Africa
1 review
Reviewed 18 August 2013

We recently had the pleasure of staying at the beautiful Thylitshia Villa. The moment we arrived we were welcomed with warmth and genuine care.

The hosts & owners, Lollies & Elriza, goes out of their way to make their guests' stay as carefree and comfortable as possible.

The fantastic dinner Elriza prepared was delicious, the pumpkin cake the best we've ever tasted and the lamb - SO succulent and tender! Lollies even gave my husband seconds after he saw how much he enjoyed it! ( I must get that pumpkin cake recipe ;) )

The room is tastefully decorated, like the rest of the guest house, and the bathroom is spacious with special touches added - bath salts, candles & bathrobes. You also don't have to worry about Oudtshoorn's chilly winter, for they've got a heater in the room and electric blankets.

I can highly recommend staying at Thylitshia Villa when you visit Oudthshoorn. You're every need will be taken care of.

Thylitshia Villa is ideal for any occasion, whether you want a romantic getaway, catch up with friends or family or if travelling for business. A home away from home.

Thank you Lollies, Elriza & Staff (And the friendly pets that made us even feel at home even more) for your great services, attention to detail, warm hospitality and all round loveliness.

We'll definitely be back!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank IlzeNelMarais
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2013

This lovely little guesthouse is actually on a working farm just outside Oudtshoorn on the Volmoed Road (off the Mossel Bay road) with stunning views of the Swartberg Mountains in the distance. It was purchased not too long ago by a lovely couple who were previously farming in the Willowmore district and has been totally renovated. The week end was a mini reunion for members of my family who are scattered all over the country. We were looked after with true Karoo-style hospitality even though neither Lollies nor Elriza have any prior experience in running guesthouses. We were very comfortable and immediately fealt at home. We decided to have dinner on our 1st two nights there which turned out to be a brilliant decision. Beautiful home-style meals are served for dinner and the slow roasted lamb was the highlight of the stay. We even stayed for a Sunday braai before we checked out and went our separate ways. This property is truely home from home and nothing is too much of an effort for the owners. I cant wait to visit again. Next time it will be in Summer to take advantage of the wonderful pool area. Thank you both for a very successful week end.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RhinoAfrica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Knysna, South Africa
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2013

Stayed over for two nights during Klein Karoo Klassique festival. Thanks Lollie and Elriza for making our stay pleasant. Our room was recently renovated and provided all expected amenities. The room was clean and warm while the distant Swartberg mountains were covered in snow. We enjoyed one farm style dinner which was better prepared and tastier than what we were served at one of the top rated restaurants in Oudtshoorn the following evening. We will stay at Thylitshia again when visiting that part of our country

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ChristoW2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2013 via mobile

We stayed here on June 28 as a stop over from Cape Town to Bloemfontein. I wish we could have stayed for the whole week!! The rooms were adorable - clean and beautifully decorated. The property was lovely and the kids had a ball playing with the dog and visiting the lambs and ostrich. The food was amazing - we even liked the Ostrich steaks. But, the best part was getting to know the hosts who were wonderfully accommodating and very gracious.
We stayed at several different B&B's during our trip to South Africa and this one was my favorite!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sandy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Oudtshoorn hotels
8.3 mi away
Hlangana Lodge
Hlangana Lodge
#1 of 9 in Oudtshoorn
489 reviews
2.6 mi away
Mooiplaas Guesthouse
Mooiplaas Guesthouse
#7 of 47 in Oudtshoorn
335 reviews
7.5 mi away
Gumtree Guest House
Gumtree Guest House
#4 of 75 in Oudtshoorn
562 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.2 mi away
Rietfontein Ostrich Palace
Rietfontein Ostrich Palace
#9 of 47 in Oudtshoorn
153 reviews
1.6 mi away
De Denne Country Guest House
De Denne Country Guest House
#13 of 47 in Oudtshoorn
215 reviews
2.8 mi away
De Zeekoe Guest Farm
De Zeekoe Guest Farm
#5 of 47 in Oudtshoorn
901 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Thylitshia Villa Country Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thylitshia Villa Country Guesthouse

Property: Thylitshia Villa Country Guesthouse
Address: | 20km from Oudtshoorn - direction Mossel Bay, Oudtshoorn 6620, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Oudtshoorn
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 75 B&Bs / Inns in Oudtshoorn
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Thylitshia Villa Country Guesthouse 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Thylitshia Villa is a beautiful newly renovated Vintage Geusthouse in the countryside of Oudtshoorn. This cosy 4 star guesthouse is a haven of peace and tranquillity, set in the captivating Olifants River Valley. It is perfectly situated for exploring Oudtshoorn, the ostrich capital of the world. Set in a peaceful garden abundant with bird life and a panoramic view if the Swartberg Mountains.Creating an an abience of French Vintage charm and warmth, 8 en-suite bedrooms are luxuriously and elegantly decorated,while thoughtful touches and attention to detail ensures a special romantic stay.All rooms have a private entrance onto their own private patio with breathtaking views of the beautiful gardens, swimmingpool and the valley.Relax with the sound of chirping birds and shimmering fountain.Pampered luxury, dedication to personal service and elegant hospitality-all this is Thylitshia Villa Guesthouse.We extend to you an invitation to a country escape which will create memories that will take a lifetime to fade..... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com and Ebookers so you can book your Thylitshia Villa Country Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing