We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Thylitshia Villa Country Guesthouse
Nearby Hotels
Queens Hotel(Oudtshoorn)
US$147
US$103
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$175
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hlangana Lodge(Oudtshoorn)
US$83
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$137
US$82
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
86 on Langenhoven Bed & Breakfast(Oudtshoorn)(Great Value!)
US$62
US$58
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$175
Agoda.com
View Deal
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (304)
Filter reviews
304 results
Traveller rating
236
56
5
3
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
236
56
5
3
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsostrich steakhighgate ostrich farmjack russelpersonal charmdelicious homemadeour room was spotlessly cleanwarm welcomesuperb dinnerfew kilometersone nightoff the beaten trackcourse mealwonderful hospitalityhome from homecar washdistant mountainsguest house
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
119 - 124 of 304 reviews
Reviewed 7 February 2014

My daughter and I stayed for one night and felt as if we were at a dear friend's home. Lollies prepared an awesome ostrich filet dinner with his own "special sauce" and the meal was followed by a strawberry dessert that hi daughter made. Everything was fabulous. We then had a tour of the kitchen. Family photos hung on the fridge and Lollies entertained us with info about his daughters. He was a joy. The evening was wonderful and I loved waking up with a field of sheep out my back window. It's not fancy, just a nice home away from home.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Elizabeth & Dau... B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 February 2014

We stayed 2 nights in room no. 3 in Thylitshia Country House. Thanks to Lollies and his entire family team we enjoyed a very nice stay. We had a beautiful room, with lovely decoration, a wonderful tranquil garden and a pool under shadow spending trees. Any time all our wishes have been services immediately. Their home made cake, home made Biltong, home made sherry and sausages give a certain unique experience and taste. The breakfast offers beside a fresh fruit salad also yoghurt, eggs any style and home made sausages. The ostrich cutting filet was an excellent experience - smelting on the tongue - with a perfect red wine sauce.
On our departure day our car was freshly showered - what a nice gesture.
A small paradise and a real hide away to enjoy with a passionate service - when ever we will be back to Oudtshoorn we will come back.

  • Stayed: January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ann-Kathrin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 January 2014

We were not given the room we expected. The owner is doing a fair bit of modernisation, but still more to do.
Our room was spotlessly clean, but dark with outdated brown furniture. Too much "stuff" around - we put all the cushions under the bed.
The first nights dinner is provided unless you ask otherwise. We suggest you check the menu and price before agreeing as we felt the price was high for what we got. (Tinned tomato soup).
But the accommodation itself was not expensive. You pay for what you get?
As the owner was not at home when we arrived, we were greeted by a rather surly "guest?" instead and were taken to our room by one of the kitchen staff.

Room Tip: Look carefully at the rooms on offer before booking. Room 6, which we had, was quiet but dark.
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stephen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for four nights and five days and I honestly wish that I could have stayed longer! Lollies and Elriza are wonderful hosts and you can't help but admire absolutely everything in their tastefully decorated house. The food is great and so is the relaxing atmosphere. Would definitely recommend it

Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
Thank Roxanne L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 December 2013

What a pleasure and restful end to a 10 hour journey
Clean, pleasant comfortable and friendly & most of all dog friendly

The proprietor really goes out of his way to welcome and settle you
Highly recomended

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Friedray
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews