We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Pleasant stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Thylitshia Villa Country Guesthouse
Ranked #10 of 75 Oudtshoorn B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
A TripAdvisor Member
“Pleasant stay”
Reviewed 23 March 2014 via mobile

We really enjoyed our stay here which was very personable and hospitable. The owners really make a special effort and make you feel as if you are friends staying in their home. We would definitely come back.

Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

259 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    199
    48
    5
    3
    4
See reviews for
65
133
2
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Mirfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
119 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 March 2014

We arrived a Thylitshia in the afternoon and were greeted by Sara, who showed us to our room and offered a glass of wine. The room was spacious and the bathroom even more so, we could have held a party in it. We also had a terrace with table and chairs .The decor and fitting in both were delightful and both were very clean. The toiletries in the bathroom were top notch as were the towels and bed linen.
We booked to eat at the hotel as the owner, Gerrit, cooks ostrich steaks to die for or so he told us and indeed he does.We went down to the terrace at 7.30 and had a drink with the owners and a friend of theirs then at 8pm we went in for dinner. The starter was tomato soup, the best I've ever tasted followed by and ostrich steak that was so tended you could cut it with a fork. served with a special sauce and then a dessert of strawberry tart, All Delicious.The gardens and pool are a delight. There are 3 cats and a lovely Jack Russel dog which are friendly but only if you want them to be they are not intrusive. We loved our stay and will return if we are ever in that area again. The owners bough the house 2 years ago and it is a work in progress although I don't know how they can improve it.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Margaret H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
43 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 March 2014

Stayed for 2 nights and we were made very welcome by Lollies when we arrived. He recommended a restaurant in Oudtshoorn which was very good, the town is a fair distance from Thylitshia though. The rooms are nice but have a lot of bits and bobs in them. The second night we ate at Thylitshia and the ostrich was excellent with Lollies being a good host and chef. It was very relaxed and comfortable and overall we really enjoyed our stay here and would recommend it. Nice gardens to relax in after sightseeing

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Frances21London
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rehovot, Israel
1 review
Reviewed 10 March 2014

We’ve stayed there for 3 nights and it was the best place we’ve stayed at during our 1 month honeymoon! (we got there by mistake and were supposed to stay just 1 night, it was so good that we stayed for 2 more nights!)
From the moment we got there it felt like home. We felt very comfortable and welcome. Our room (#1) was designed perfectly by Elriza with a lot of good taste, soul and attention to details. The dinners were just perfect! Wonderful Homemade food, Lollies made us the best steaks we had in south Africa! The garden and the pool were lovely and relaxing.
Lollies and Elriza love what they are doing and you feel it from the moment you meet them.
Highly recommended, I wish we could have stayed more!!!

Thank you for a great stay!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Moran g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newbury
2 reviews
Reviewed 28 February 2014

Our small group stayed here for 2 nights and were made to feel extremely welcome by Lollies. The rooms are lovely, with small patios facing onto a beautiful garden with pool. The area is quiet and relaxing, and the hosts cannot do enough for you. Lollies is a mine of knowledge on the local area and full of great suggestions of where to go and visit. Both breakfast and dinner were excellent. I recommend a stay there when visiting Oudtshoorn.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BromleysNewbury
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ashford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 February 2014

We stayed 2 nights in Thylitshia and had a most enjoyable and relaxing time. Very comfortable room, huge and very modern bathroom, delicious dinners and lovely breakfasts, beautiful garden and swimming pool, and Lollies was a very caring and attentive host. And our hire car was washed every morning - amazing! We would love to return one day!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gerrit G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston
Level Contributor
55 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 February 2014

The owners, new in 2012, were super friendly and did everything they could to make our experience enjoyable. We loved the dinner as it was good food, and very convenient of course. They gave great recommendations for what to do in the area and the location was perfect. The place was quiet and relaxing away from the Oudtshoorn city, but close enough to get there in 15 minutes. The room was a little small/tight with all the furniture and there wasn't much space to put clothes away, but everything else was great.

Room Tip: Rooms closer to reception have better wifi
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gumchain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Oudtshoorn hotels
8.3 mi away
Hlangana Lodge
Hlangana Lodge
#1 of 9 in Oudtshoorn
4.5 of 5 bubbles 473 reviews
2.6 mi away
Mooiplaas Guesthouse
Mooiplaas Guesthouse
#7 of 46 in Oudtshoorn
4.5 of 5 bubbles 327 reviews
7.8 mi away
88 Baron van Reede Guesthouse
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.3 mi away
La Pension Guest House
La Pension Guest House
#3 of 75 in Oudtshoorn
5.0 of 5 bubbles 515 reviews
2.8 mi away
De Zeekoe Guest Farm
De Zeekoe Guest Farm
#5 of 46 in Oudtshoorn
4.5 of 5 bubbles 879 reviews
11.5 mi away
Surval Boutique Olive Estate
Surval Boutique Olive Estate
#7 of 75 in Oudtshoorn
4.5 of 5 bubbles 318 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Thylitshia Villa Country Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thylitshia Villa Country Guesthouse

Property: Thylitshia Villa Country Guesthouse
Address: | 20km from Oudtshoorn - direction Mossel Bay, Oudtshoorn 6620, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Oudtshoorn
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 75 B&Bs / Inns in Oudtshoorn
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Thylitshia Villa Country Guesthouse 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Thylitshia Villa is a beautiful newly renovated Vintage Geusthouse in the countryside of Oudtshoorn. This cosy 4 star guesthouse is a haven of peace and tranquillity, set in the captivating Olifants River Valley. It is perfectly situated for exploring Oudtshoorn, the ostrich capital of the world. Set in a peaceful garden abundant with bird life and a panoramic view if the Swartberg Mountains.Creating an an abience of French Vintage charm and warmth, 8 en-suite bedrooms are luxuriously and elegantly decorated,while thoughtful touches and attention to detail ensures a special romantic stay.All rooms have a private entrance onto their own private patio with breathtaking views of the beautiful gardens, swimmingpool and the valley.Relax with the sound of chirping birds and shimmering fountain.Pampered luxury, dedication to personal service and elegant hospitality-all this is Thylitshia Villa Guesthouse.We extend to you an invitation to a country escape which will create memories that will take a lifetime to fade..... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Thylitshia Villa Country Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing