We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great place to stay” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of La Plume

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Oudtshoorn
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
La Plume
Ranked #9 of 77 Oudtshoorn B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Great place to stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 January 2008

We stayed here for 2 nights on our honeymoon. We thought that the rooms were excellent - massive with traditional furniture in them that felt very much in line with the area.
There were very nice gardens and swimming pool. The staff were very friendly and helpful.
The lodge is out of the main town but just a short drive away.
My only complaint was the food, the breakfast was OK but below par of all the other places we have stayed at. Evening meal was below average e.g soggy veg, and so I would not reccomend eating there. We went to a cocktail bar and restaurant in Oudtshoorn that the hotel reccommeded and that was great (can't remember the name but it had advocado in the title).

  • Liked — very big rooms with smart decor
  • Disliked — food
  • Stayed December 2007, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jo7236
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

421 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    278
    101
    29
    10
    3
See reviews for
73
268
9
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Leeds UK
Level Contributor
34 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 December 2007

A fantastic place to stay! Our room is huge and beautifully appointed, as it the bathroom. The estate and gardens are well kept and provide a supremely relaxing environment to spend a couple of chilled out days in the sun. The evening meals and breakfasts are excellent and the hosts very helpful indeed. This review is being written courtesy of La Plume's wireless internet! La Plume is close to Oudtshoorn and its various attactions, and is only a 10 minute drive away. Very happy visitor!

Stayed December 2007
Helpful?
1 Thank Alex T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marlborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
164 reviews
140 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 165 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 November 2007

We have just spent 2 enjoyable days at La Plume. Our bedroom was very comfortable in an old fashioned way, with a beautiful bathroom. Sadly the water pressure was a bit difficult to get right in the shower, alternating between freezing cold and boiling hot with nothing in between.
The breakfast was reasonable, with a buffet restocked with hot food as needed. The evening meal was excellent, but be warned;the menu stays exactly the same every night so if you are staying for more than one night it gets a bit repetative!La Plume is about 5 miles out of Oudtshoorn, so it would be a bit of a trek to look for somewhere else to eat
The staff were helpful and attentive. I liked the small touches- fresh lavender on the pillows, and having our car washed for us.
All in all a very pleasant place to stay

  • Liked — comfortable bedrooms
  • Disliked — water temperature adjustment in the shower
  • Stayed October 2007, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Levoyageur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
28 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 April 2007

My family (including a 4 and 6 year old) walked into the family lodge at La Plume and it took us about five minutes to decide to ask to extend our stay another night. The family lodge had two large bedrooms, each with a separate sitting room and bath and a small, but useful kitchen. The rooms were tastefully furnished with antiques and flowers. The baths featured a 6 foot long tub and a separate shower. We got up in the morning to find that our car had been washed. All of this was under US $140 a night. Take advantage of the fixed price dinners they offer (I think the price was something like 120 ZAR). The food was delicious and about as good as the highly touted Jemima's in town. The staff was very pleasant. It is about 10 km out of town, on a working farm, but it made the stay all the more restful. Outdshoorn is a pretty quiet town but it is easy enough to use it as a base for some of the activities in the surrounding area (Swartberg Pass, Cango Caves, etc).

  • Stayed March 2007, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TravelhoundPortland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 March 2007

La Plume Guest House, Oudtshoorn
The Bougainvillea lined driveway was just a foretaste of the welcome on the lawn that awaited us with refreshments as we got out of the car.
Our room was a delight in its ambiance and furnishings, with views over the swimming pool and countryside. It could have been a honeymoon suite.
Service and the meals were excellent, including help with luggage, without asking on arrival and departure.
We would hope to return sometime.

Stayed February 2007
Helpful?
5 Thank GoldenCrinklies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wiltshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
198 reviews
123 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 249 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 November 2006

We drove from Hermanus to get here, and the main road to Oudtshoorn is a bit uninteresting to say the least. When we saw the signs to La Plume, we realised it was some way out of town and the road seemed to be taking us into the middle of nowhere. However, when we arrived, it was like an oasis in the desert....lovely grounds, swimming pool, fantastic room with big bathroom and private terrace, and a very welcoming drink on arivall from really friendly staff. We quite soon realised that we would have to eat there to save driving into town, but this was no problem as the food was really first class and good value.

Very close to an ostrich farm, which is good for a couple of hours.

  • Liked — The rooms and the food....
  • Disliked — Amount of insects - it's close to a farm.
  • Tips/Secrets — Ask for one of the rooms away from the main reception
  • Stayed October 2006, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank hotelscout
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
north carolina
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2006

This place is magical, from the free drink on arrival to the candles and soaps filling the bathroom, this place is great. Hard to find but once there you do not want to leave. Each room designed with antique furniture and the staff is incredible, there is no where else better in Outdshoon then Le Plume, they will do anything to make you visit special!

Stayed June 2006
Helpful?
5 Thank PickyWorldTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Oudtshoorn hotels
8.9 mi away
Hlangana Lodge
Hlangana Lodge
#1 of 9 in Oudtshoorn
4.5 of 5 bubbles 456 reviews
3.5 mi away
De Zeekoe Guest Farm
De Zeekoe Guest Farm
#5 of 47 in Oudtshoorn
4.5 of 5 bubbles 844 reviews
3.5 mi away
Mooiplaas Guesthouse
Mooiplaas Guesthouse
#6 of 47 in Oudtshoorn
4.5 of 5 bubbles 316 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.4 mi away
88 Baron van Reede Guesthouse
7.8 mi away
La Pension Guest House
La Pension Guest House
#3 of 77 in Oudtshoorn
5.0 of 5 bubbles 500 reviews
12.0 mi away
Surval Boutique Olive Estate
Surval Boutique Olive Estate
#8 of 77 in Oudtshoorn
4.5 of 5 bubbles 293 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Plume? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Plume

Property: La Plume
Address: | Volmoed Road, Off the Route 62, Oudtshoorn 6620, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Oudtshoorn
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 77 B&Bs / Inns in Oudtshoorn
Hotel Class:4 star — La Plume 4*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
La Plume is a Boutique Guest House on a working ostrich, alfalfa and cattle farm with spectacular views of the Swartberg Mountains and the Olifants River Valley. A warm welcome awaits you at this charming 1902 Victorian homestead with its tranquil surroundings where Karin has combined old-warm charm with modern comforts to ensure extraordinary service and personal attention. Our attention to detail, colour and texture is a contribution to the art of gracious living. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
La Plume Guest House Hotel Oudtshoorn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing