We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
La Plume
Nearby Hotels
Queens Hotel(Oudtshoorn)
US$147
US$103
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
86 on Langenhoven Bed & Breakfast(Oudtshoorn)(Great Value!)
US$62
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$175
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$137
US$82
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hlangana Lodge(Oudtshoorn)
US$83
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$175
Agoda.com
View Deal
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (504)
Filter reviews
504 results
Traveller rating
335
122
33
11
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
335
122
33
11
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsostrich steakostrich farmfarm tourguest houseattention to detailone nightantique furniturebeautiful dining roomcomplimentary portcolonial stylewelcome drinkroll top baththe main housegarden routelong drivea fantastic place to stayseparate shower
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
210 - 215 of 504 reviews
Reviewed 14 August 2013

On a road trip through South Africa we decided to stop in Oudtshoorn. Our travel agent chose this guest house for us which at the end was a quite good choice.
Located on a small hill this colonial-style hotel oversees the wide land of Oudtshoorn. You profit from this nice view especially with a fresh South African beer on the terrace.
Be aware that the hotel is approximately 25km outside of the town. However it is close to several ostrich farms. And that's why you are in this region.
Arriving in the afternoon, the welcome procedure was standard. We signed the paper, took the key, the lady showed us the room and that's it. So nothing surprising.
The room was big and clean. Also nicely decorated.
Especially the sink was interesting as the cold and the hot tap were on the opposite side......
After making ourselves comfortable we went for dinner. This establishment has a buffet arrangement (when there are enough people – otherwise à la carte) which was good. You choose both starter and main course from the buffet. As it is a small hotel you do not need to be afraid not having enough when arriving late. It is also refilled.
Overall, we had a good stay at this hotel. Breakfast the next day was standard for South Africa (Bacon and eggs, etc.) Nothing special though.
During our check-out at the end we friendly asked the owner if she could make a call for us as we were not sure about the next destination.
Looking a bit upset (why?) she subsequently gave us the telephone and left. Great service - according to the motto: the guests paid, now it is time they leave!

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Patrick F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2013

Wow! what a place! The attention to detail in this lodge is amazing, everything is thought of, even down to flowers in the loo! The rooms are decorated in Ostrich baron antique style and therefore might not suit people with more modern tastes, but the idea is to relive the glory of the feather bardon days and this it does with aplomb! the staff were great and nothing was too much trouble, down to a full briefing on what was avaialble to see and do in the area. Evening meals were stylish and again attention to detail was great. the menu is limited, but i doubt many people stay for more than two or three nights anyway. we found the fine dinning experiance far more rewarding than the thougt of driving into town.The guest house is ideally situated for those who do NOT want to stay n a busy town, but prefer to experiance the quiter farm lifestyle. this establishment rates as one of the best we have stayed in anywhere in the world!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Arthur M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Corlu N, General Manager at La Plume, responded to this reviewResponded 1 September 2013

Dear Arthur M

Thank you so much for the beautiful review on La Plume Guest House - we really appreciate the time and effort you have put into this detailed review. It is always nice when people appreciate our efforts!

Hope to see you again in Oudtshoorn!

Kindest regards
Corlu

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2013

Wow, what a place, the guest house was extremely clean and sumptuous. Decor excellent, breakfast good but the evening meals could be more varied. Sitting on the balcony over looking the valley with a glass of wine was divine, pure heaven! Main town of Oudtshoom was about twenty minutes away but still this was one of our favourite stop over at which we spent two nights during our two week holiday.

Room Tip: Ask for room facing the main road the view is fantastic even when the sun is setting.
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bob2415
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2013

We stayed in La Plume for one night during our honeymoon to break up the Journey between Stellenbosch and Knysna. The setting is beautiful and the room was lovely.
La Plume however is a good 20 minute drive from Oudsthoorn and the nearest bars and restaurants. We didn't like the look of the menu on offer in La Plume so had to travel a while to find somewhere to eat. The options in Oudtshoorn were fairly limited too.
We had a few interactions with the staff and I have to say that I did not find them particularly helpful or friendly.
This is definitely not a place for anyone who prefers livelier areas or nightlife. We found it quite boring and if we had booked a second night there, we would have cancelled it.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank johnnyjfinn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2013

Very beautiful guest house, extremely clean and comfortable. The location is absolutely 'wow' and the place makes you feel like royalty. We are strict vegetarians the staff went out of their way to ensure we have sufficient, simple yet very tasty food to eat. Small touches made our stay beyond comfortable and the smiling faces of the staff was a real luxury.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PurnimaS1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews