We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely location let down by the service”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of La Plume

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Oudtshoorn
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
La Plume
Ranked #8 of 74 Oudtshoorn B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Farnborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
85 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Lovely location let down by the service”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 January 2014

The only slightly disappointing stay during our South Africa trip was the stop in Oudtshoorn. The staff here were very 'efficient' but not anywhere near as friendly as other hotels. We were keen to see ostriches and as we were staying on an ostrich farm that offered tours we thought we would take the opportunity to go on the farm tour. Unfortunately we came away from this tour feeling a little ripped off, the over priced tour ended up being a 30 minute drive along the main road looking at the fields from the car and not really getting to see ostriches.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank James R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

430 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    283
    104
    29
    11
    3
See reviews for
76
274
9
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
St Albans, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 January 2014

We arrived here at 9 pm, after a long long drive from Cape Town. We were hungry and grumpy to have missed the ostrich dinner, which my husband and I had been thinking about all day. However, our grumpiness soon faded when we saw our beautiful room (think antiques and colonial, bursting with character) and were met by a lovely member of staff. I'm afraid I've forgotten his name, but he was an absolute star. He told us to relax in the lovely gazebo and returned with wine, a toasted sandwich and dessert. It was literally the most welcomed meal of our entire trip! It was like he knew exactly what would make us feel better. He was the star of the show really. He also recommended a visit to the cango wildlife ranch, which was a highlight of our trip.

You can't go wrong with La Plume in my opinion.

And my husband has just reminded me that although we were there for only one short night, our car was washed for us! Another example of great service.

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank drfi007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Corlu N, General Manager at La Plume, responded to this review, 10 January 2014
Dearest drfi007

FINALLY!!! Someone who sees me for what i really am: an absolute star!!! LOL!!! ;-)

Thank you so much for your kind words and the lovely review - much appreciated! My Gran always used to say: "It's easy being nice to NICE people!" It was an absolute treat having you here and we are eagerly awaiting your return visit (perhaps with a slightly earlier check-in? Just kidding. My main concern is only that our guests arrive safely, regardless of the time!).

Thank you once again, but I must add that I work with a really special bunch of people who all take pride in their work - and if the guests are happy, we are happy!!!

Kindest regards,
Corlu (aka "The Star")
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 December 2013

What a magical place la plume was! It Décor, calm environment and staff are prefect host for person visiting oudtshoorn. It is very close to oudtshoorn ostrich farm. La Plume is an elegant Guest House where you are always guaranteed a memorable stay. After a long drive from cape town to oudtshoorn, it was home away from home feeling.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ABBI1982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Corlu N, General Manager at La Plume, responded to this review, 10 January 2014
Dear ABBI1982

Thank you so much for your kind words - much appreciated. I'm very happy to hear you had a memorable stay with us: that is our aim after all!!

The sign at the front door says it all: "mi casa es su casa" - if this was your home away from home, remember that you are ALWAYS welcome to come home again!!!

Kindest regards
Corlu
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
59 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 December 2013

As soon as our car pulled up, we were greeted at our car door and walked over to our bungalow. We were asked if we would like coffee, tea or a glass of red or white wine, which we could enjoy on the verandah at the main house. The view of the vineyards was spectacular. Our room was comfortable and beautiful. It looked straight out of a magazine. Overall it was the perfect place to stay after a long drive on the garden route.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank brianonthego
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Corlu N, General Manager at La Plume, responded to this review, 10 January 2014
Dear brianonthego

Thank you so much for your positive review - we appreciate each and every comment! If ever in South Africa again: You know where to find us!!!

Kindest regards
Corlu
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WA
Level Contributor
50 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 December 2013

What a truly beautiful place la Plume was. Magic! The décor and surroundings were like you had step into a house magazine. You could not fault this establishment. From the rooms to the staff to the surroundings to the buildings were all outstanding. Was looked after the moment my feet touched the ground. My room was really, really beautiful. I was a princess for one night. The bed was amazing and so big. Alas there was only me in there! The food was fantastic from the main meal to breakfast. What a choice. You must experience this and the views and space around you were pleasant. So clean too. Furnishings in the main building were awesome from a time in the past. Every thing was well looked after here. Visit La Plume Gusesthouse if you are travelling past!

Room Tip: Every room is a great room
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 696HelenS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Corlu N, General Manager at La Plume, responded to this review, 10 January 2014
Dear 696HelenS

What a pleasure to read a review like this: Thank you so much for your detailed - and much appreciated! - review. (One Thank You is not enough!)

It really means a lot to us if our hard work is rewarded this way. (We read the reviews to the whole staff and then they ooh and aah! And then it's back to work...)

I trust you had a memorable trip through South Africa and that you will return one day to post a picture of Jimmy (the other donkey) as well!!!

Kindest regards
Corlu
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Knysna, South Africa
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 December 2013

La Plume is not a Hotel, Guest House or B+B it is a OVERNIGHT EXPERIENCE. After a long days drive you arrive at this piece of Paradise to be greeted by wonderful professional friendly staff that check you in, take you to your room with the luggage following on your heels and when they open the door of your mansion what a surprise, the beautiful old anteeks combined with lovely linen.
A bathroom the size of a house, air con, rosepebels in the toilet and shower and many more.After you checked inn they invite you to a WELCOME DINK of your choice at no extra cost on your bill.
That night you go for dinner in the old farm house, what an experience. It is a set menu with a choice of Karoo Lamb, Ostrich steak or Chicken.
Now this is where the problem starts and the answer is, stay for two nights, one night ostrich and the next evening Karoo Lamb and then make sure you have a late Breakfast because this is just as good. I have never heard of any of my tourist complaining about any thing at La Plume but never want to leave the next day.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank diantours
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Corlu N, General Manager at La Plume, responded to this review, 17 January 2014
Dear diantours

Thank you so much for your wonderful, detailed review of our guest house. We really appreciate your kind words!! But the proof of the pudding lies in the eating: we are waiting for your two night stay!!!

Kindest regards
Corlu
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peterborough
Level Contributor
61 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 November 2013

Probably our favourite stop on a recent South Africa trip where we stayed in many outstanding properties. We were met at our car by the flamboyant manager and a porter and taken directly to our room before being invited onto the veranda of the main house for a welcome drink. All very friendly and helpful.

We stayed in Golden Floss which frankly was breath taking. More of a small house than a guest bedroom. The bathroom with its central tub was bigger in itself than any other room I have ever stayed in. The room was furnished with a fabulous collection of well chosen antiques. Just beautiful.

We arrived mid-afternoon and were directed to a nearby Ostrich farm for their last tour of the day. I got to ride one which was an experience I never thought I would share with Bernie Clifton and returned to La Plume only to consume one (well a steak at least) at that evening's delightful dinner. The breakfast was also superb.

We stayed for just the one night but I would happily have stayed a week here in that amazing room and lazing by the lovely pool.

Nearby Oudtshoorn has many excellent attractions. The Cango Wildlife Ranch is particularly recommended.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Seacombe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Corlu N, Manager at La Plume, responded to this review, 22 January 2014
Dear Seacombe

I can see a lot of time and effort went into your beautiful review of our guest house - believe me when i say it is much appreciated!!

I'm really glad you have enjoyed your stay with us - after all, that is what this business is all about!! Thank you for mentioning so many things in detail, it is a great comfort to us that some people actually see and appreciate the hard work the staff is doing on a daily basis: we thank you for that!!

I hope the muscles weren't too stiff the next few days (after riding the ostrich!!!) and that you were able to enjoy the rest of your holiday in our beautiful country!

Until next time!!

Kindest regards
Corlu
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Oudtshoorn hotels
0.4 mi away
Hlangana Lodge
Hlangana Lodge
#1 of 9 in Oudtshoorn
4.5 of 5 bubbles 466 reviews
5.2 mi away
De Zeekoe Guest Farm
De Zeekoe Guest Farm
#5 of 47 in Oudtshoorn
4.5 of 5 bubbles 862 reviews
0.2 mi away
88 Baron van Reede Guesthouse
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.2 mi away
Mooiplaas Guesthouse
Mooiplaas Guesthouse
#6 of 47 in Oudtshoorn
4.5 of 5 bubbles 324 reviews
0.7 mi away
La Pension Guest House
La Pension Guest House
#3 of 74 in Oudtshoorn
5.0 of 5 bubbles 509 reviews
1.2 mi away
Earthbound B&B
Earthbound B&B
#4 of 74 in Oudtshoorn
5.0 of 5 bubbles 523 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Plume? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Plume

Property: La Plume
Address: 109 Baron van Rheede Street | Volmoed Road, Off the Route 62, Oudtshoorn 6620, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Oudtshoorn
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 74 B&Bs / Inns in Oudtshoorn
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — La Plume 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
La Plume is a Boutique Guest House on a working ostrich, alfalfa and cattle farm with spectacular views of the Swartberg Mountains and the Olifants River Valley. A warm welcome awaits you at this charming 1902 Victorian homestead with its tranquil surroundings where Karin has combined old-warm charm with modern comforts to ensure extraordinary service and personal attention. Our attention to detail, colour and texture is a contribution to the art of gracious living. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
La Plume Guest House Hotel Oudtshoorn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing