We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Found a peace of Heaven!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Thorntree Country House
Ranked #31 of 78 Oudtshoorn B&B and Inns
Reviewed 29 January 2012

What a warm welcome from owner Louis. His staff is well trained and always friendly. A place where I felt Immediately home from home. 3 course dinner is for the very hungry ones. If one had too much to eat find out about running routes in the area. Louis seems to have endless knowledge about activity options and even gave me lift to a running race at 5.30 am! Really prepared to go the extra mile to make stay special.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Frogy007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (110)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

52 - 58 of 110 reviews

Reviewed 1 September 2011

Good points:
Good location for the wildlife ranch and Ostrich farm
Beautiful location
Friendly staff and owner (and cat)
Good breakfast
Tasty evening meal, reasonably priced
WIFI connection in bar and restaurant

Bad points:
Rooms need a good spring clean
Rooms need a refurb - e.g some of the windows close but there is a gap (ok in summer, not so good in winter)

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pinkcat123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2011

We arrived at Thorntree late one winter afternoon. This guest house is very nice, with wonderful gardens and I expect it's even nicer in the summer when you can sit out until late. Dinner was great - it's the first time I've ever eaten ostrich. the staff were attentive and we even had the car washed before we left!

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Flanders4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2011

We arrive at Thorntree and there was no-one to meet us so we wondered what our stay was going to be like but all I can is, that from that point forward it was wonderful. The hotel is out of Oudtshoorn centre so some people may not like that but as evening meal can be taken here then its not a major issue especially as the meals were fantastic - just what was needed after exploring the Swartberg pass and the Caves. Louie and Tanya have a great team who are very helpful and looked after us really well. The rooms are simply but very big and have everything you need. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and would highly recommend it to other travellers.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KathMacca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 April 2011

One of the best places I have stayed during my trip to South Africa. I was very impressed by the room we were assigned, it was very comfortable and big, everything was taken care of in every detail, the furniture was amazing and so was the bathroom, big and very African style. We also had a great dinner in a lovely atmosphere. There is a pool and I guess it must be very relaxing, no noises and just nature and green. I would describe everything at Thorntree absolutely perfect.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank EverydayMilan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 November 2010

We spent one night here during a garden route tour.

The manager, Louis, was very friendly. The rooms are very nice chalets, which you access through the beautifully-landscaped gardens. Beds are a good size, as is the bathroom.

The place is geared up to tour groups rather than individuals, and we were the only people staying there, which felt quite awkward when we were having dinner in the evening, with one member of staff standing by until we left to go to bed.

The downside is it's out of town - as we were on a tour, so didn't have our own transport, that meant we were at the hotel from 4pm until 8am with nowhere else to go, so we did feel a little trapped. If you have your own transport it wouldn't be a problem.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lotsahols2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 October 2010

The views from this hotel are superb the rooms are in buildings of 4 rooms and surrounded by gardens. A log fire blazed in the lounge. The rooms were well appointed but the hotel is well out of town and you will need your own transport if you wish to explore the town

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Antiquesam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Oudtshoorn hotels
6.2 mi away
Hlangana Lodge
Hlangana Lodge
#1 of 9 in Oudtshoorn
503 reviews
1.7 mi away
De Poort Country Lodge
De Poort Country Lodge
#16 of 78 in Oudtshoorn
62 reviews
0.9 mi away
Die Fonteine
Die Fonteine
#21 of 78 in Oudtshoorn
118 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
De Opstal
De Opstal
#20 of 78 in Oudtshoorn
343 reviews
2.9 mi away
Surval Boutique Olive Estate
Surval Boutique Olive Estate
#8 of 78 in Oudtshoorn
340 reviews
0.9 mi away
Berluda Farmhouse & Cottages
Berluda Farmhouse & Cottages
#4 of 50 in Oudtshoorn
298 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Thorntree Country House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Thorntree Country House

Address: Cango Caves Road | R328, Oudtshoorn 6620, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Oudtshoorn
Hotel Style:
Ranked #31 of 78 B&Bs / Inns in Oudtshoorn
Price Range: £90 - £94 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Thorntree Country House 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Thorntree Country House is a luxury 4 star establishment offering exclusivity in natural peaceful surroundings. Situated on route to the Cango Caves, Cango Ostrich Show Farm and Swartberg Pass, this is the ideal base from which to explore the Little Karoo or just to enjoy life. Owner run and managed, ensuring quality service and personal attention. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your The Thorntree Country House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing