We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stunning Location & Sunsets”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Thorntree Country House
Ranked #31 of 79 Oudtshoorn B&B and Inns
Reviewed 24 February 2014

We stayed 2 nights at Thorntree en-route through the Klein Karu to Franschoek ~ Fabulous! Very welcoming and attentive service, very good food, beautiful location and garden. Helpful advice on local places to visit; Ostrich Farm, Swartberg Pass and Karusa Vineyard ~ excellent Viognier and Pinotage to die for! Many thanks to Louis, Tanja & Team for a very enjoyable stay and for looking after us so well.

Room Tip: All rooms good but for privacy perhaps choose one away from the swimming pools or for convenience cl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bill C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (112)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

38 - 44 of 112 reviews

Reviewed 26 January 2014

We came here during our ZA-roundtrip for one night. The staff was really kind and helpful. The romms are very generous and clean. The meal (ostrich) was very tasty. Unfortunately, we came here in winter time, so we couldn't try the pool. You habe a great view when the sun goes down. Come here and become happy.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank senfi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 January 2014

Thorntree hotel in my opinion does not offer very good value for mones: The rooms were dark and not very clean. I perceived their decoration and the furniture as comparatively cheap. The pool is very small and the deck chairs were broken. The personnel was not very helpful in planning activities around Oudtshoorn and overall not very welcoming. They have a dog, in case you are allergic.
The breakfast offered wasn't very generous as you only received one slice of toast or one cup of tea and had to ask for every extra item. In addition the quality wasn't very very good as the toast was cold, for example. The dinner offered was ok, although on the expensive side and it did not change very much from one day to the other, so if you stay here - do not plan to eat here more than one night.
Positive remarks: The B&B has a very nice garden and is well-situated to visit Oudtshoorn by car. In addition, it is an old farmhouse so it feels very individual.
However, overall I think you can find better places to stay in Oudtshoorn.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 204World_Traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 December 2013 via mobile

Our host came out to meet us on our arrival and was very helpful in calling the ostrich farm up the road to inform them that we would be visiting as we were running a little late for the last tour. The views of the mountains from the cottage are breathtaking. The cottage is well equipped and nicely decorated. Braai facilities are also available. Sadly, the cottage was dirty; windows were not clean, the stove plate was extremely filthy and thus the reason for my 3 star rating which otherwise would have been a 5 star.

Stayed: December 2013
Thank Qkslvr1236
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 December 2013

With the personal welcome on arrival by the owner himself and the smiling faces of the staff, we felt at home immediately. The rooms were spotless, clean and even a welcome canister of Sherry in each room. The view overlooking the mountains from the dining room and terrace from the accommodation blocks is absolutely stunning.
Louis, the owner, is also the chef and cooks a mean ostrich steak. To my taste this is the best steak I have ever eaten, cooked to perfection with all the trimmings and other accompaning dishes.
The breakfast is also out of this world. You have a choice of a farm house or continental breakfast. My recommendation is to go for the farm house breakfast, with eggs to order.
Take time to enjoy the fabulous garden, which compliments the tranquility of the surroundings. They even have two pools to choose from. One is a salt water pool and the other a normal chlorine treated pool. You can order a resfreshing drink, served to you at the pool, fantastic.
We stayed for two nights and everyone agreed that this was one of the highlights of our tour.
Value fir money? Most definately. Even the prices of the wines and other drinks are very reasonable and not a rip-off like some other guest houses.
Service seems to be their motto. Well Done. We will be back.

Room Tip: The Three rooms, nos 1,2 and 3 we found to very good. Although these rooms date back to the 1800'...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RoundaboutTours
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 December 2013

We stayed one night and found our room clean and comfortable. The owner Louis was around waiting for a tour bus to arrive and was happy to chat. We chose to skip the large dinner as we had a very good late lunch earlier and so I drove into Oudtshoorn to get a pizza. The staff were helpful in calling and giving me instructions to find the pizza place.

Very friendly dog, beautiful gardens and great breakfast. Good base for visits in the area.

Room Tip: high up to get a view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank laings
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2013

We spent two nights here as part of Garden route tour, arriving after the long drive in a minibus from Cape Town. The welcome was very warm. The rooms were characterful, very clean and comfortable. The garden setting with the two small pools (one with chlorinated water, the other with salt water) was very relaxing. Due to everywhere in Oudtshoorn being fully booked because of the festival, we ate in Thorn trees both evenings. The Ostrich steak was superb (but you'd expect that at Oudtshoorn), on the second evening we tried the babotie (not sure about the spelling)- delicious, the waitress taught us how to eat it!
Would recommend but, ideally, you need your own transport as it is quite along way out of town.

Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank PaulLP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Oudtshoorn hotels
6.2 mi away
Hlangana Lodge
Hlangana Lodge
#1 of 9 in Oudtshoorn
524 reviews
16.8 mi away
No photo provided
Backpackers Oasis Shanti
#26 of 54 in Oudtshoorn
61 reviews
2.5 mi away
Buffelsdrift Game Lodge
Buffelsdrift Game Lodge
#4 of 54 in Oudtshoorn
975 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Old Mill Country Lodge & Restaurant
7.1 mi away
Turnberry Boutique Hotel
Turnberry Boutique Hotel
#4 of 9 in Oudtshoorn
326 reviews
6.5 mi away
Baron's Palace Hotel
Baron's Palace Hotel
#71 of 79 in Oudtshoorn
31 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Thorntree Country House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Thorntree Country House

Address: Cango Caves Road | R328, Oudtshoorn 6620, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Oudtshoorn
Hotel Style:
Ranked #31 of 79 B&Bs / Inns in Oudtshoorn
Price Range: £92 - £93 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Thorntree Country House 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Thorntree Country House is a luxury 4 star establishment offering exclusivity in natural peaceful surroundings. Situated on route to the Cango Caves, Cango Ostrich Show Farm and Swartberg Pass, this is the ideal base from which to explore the Little Karoo or just to enjoy life. Owner run and managed, ensuring quality service and personal attention. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your The Thorntree Country House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing