We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic experience”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Buffelsdrift Game Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Stellenbosch, South Africa
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Fantastic experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 July 2013 via mobile

Kids loved it! Tent , amenities and setting incredible. Game drive , elephant ride out and staff all top notch! Would recommend to anyone. Noisy neighbours a problem - chinese tour group one night and noisy kids uncontrolled from cape town next.......despite that the only way to camp ( in style) and experience Oudtshoorn

Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Travellingpete6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

818 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    509
    219
    53
    31
    6
See reviews for
240
420
20
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (118)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
50 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 July 2013

Situated only a stones throw from OUdtshoorn on the Cango Caves road, Buffelsdrift combines the bush experience with luxury accommodation. The tented camp is positioned along the man-made dam/watering-hole ideal for sunset game viewing. Families and couples are catered for as well as events and functions. A small reserve with big appeal.

Room Tip: Waterfront tented camp for the full experience!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank theEXPEDITIONproject
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swellendam, Western Cape, South Africa
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 June 2013

We celebrated my husband's 50's birthday with our two kids. What a wonderfull experience for the whole family. We especially enjoyed the game drive with game ranger Lucius. The rest of the staff at the lodge was also very warm and friendly. Thanks Marone and Danielia! We hope to visit you again to experience the elephants!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alberto1999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Knysna
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 June 2013

Accomodation and Food where very good, but we had a wedding taking place in the afternoon, and a loud party starting after midnight.
We think, that functions and bush-loving guests shoud not be mixed up at a serene place in the wilderness.

Room Tip: Ask at the time of your booking, if there are any functions on !
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bernhard H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cape town
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 June 2013

Buffelsdrift is the perfect place to unwind and just be. We had a awesome stay with gorgeous views, stunning sunsets and warm hospitality. The food was well presented, on time and just delicious. It's the perfect place to just be and enjoy the smells and sounds of nature.

just perfect!!!

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank arno p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stellenbosch, South Africa
Level Contributor
293 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 June 2013

We were referred to Buffelsdrift Game lodge by close family. Wow, what a surprise to see and experience such a pleasant and well equipped operation so close to the town of Oudtshorn. The restaurant, the service and the food is excellent. The view over the dam magnificent! A highlight for us (especially my wife) was the game drive. We saw quite a number of game and got quite close to some of them making for an excellent photography opportunity. The game ranger was very knowledgeable and friendly. Our tended accommodation right on the dam was very well equipped and very comfortable. Well worth a visit.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Niel G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
124 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 May 2013

We stayed on 7th may, we had a lovely waterfront tent, which was clean and luxurious, the decking goes right over the dam with stunning views, we loved having a glass of wine, watching the hippos, elephants and deer. Only thing was the geese, the noise! But it didn't spoil our trip! We ate at the restaurant that night, which was very good, you can take in your own wine for a corkage fee, ( good value if a few people drinking it)
The breakfast was excellent, with plenty of variety and fresh omelettes made! And you can even get a latte or cappuccino.
Yes it's dark walking back, but you can get a lift if you want, they do supply a torch, but ours didn't work, when we asked for new one we were told that they were all not bright enough, so maybe they could look into that, we chatted with the owner and he seemed a lovely man. We loved our stay!!!

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dancehotsalsa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Oudtshoorn hotels
4.2 mi away
Hlangana Lodge
Hlangana Lodge
#1 of 9 in Oudtshoorn
4.5 of 5 bubbles 468 reviews
14.5 mi away
Swartberg Country Manor
Swartberg Country Manor
#2 of 9 in Oudtshoorn
4.5 of 5 bubbles 167 reviews
15.7 mi away
Madi-Madi Karoo Safari Lodge
Madi-Madi Karoo Safari Lodge
#8 of 47 in Oudtshoorn
5.0 of 5 bubbles 168 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.0 mi away
Riverside Lodge
Riverside Lodge
#2 of 47 in Oudtshoorn
4.5 of 5 bubbles 300 reviews
9.9 mi away
De Zeekoe Guest Farm
De Zeekoe Guest Farm
#5 of 47 in Oudtshoorn
4.5 of 5 bubbles 866 reviews
3.3 mi away
Le Petit Karoo Ranch
Le Petit Karoo Ranch
#13 of 74 in Oudtshoorn
4.5 of 5 bubbles 178 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Buffelsdrift Game Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Buffelsdrift Game Lodge

Property: Buffelsdrift Game Lodge
Address: Cango Caves Road | P.O.Box 268, Oudtshoorn 6620, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Oudtshoorn
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 47 Speciality Lodging in Oudtshoorn
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Buffelsdrift Game Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Buffelsdrift Game Lodge is a sprawling game farm situated in the foothills of the Swartberg Mountains in the Cango Valley, Oudtshoorn. Only 5 hours drive from Cape Town and less than an hour's drive from George Airport. This game farm is located 6.5 Km outside of Oudtshoorn, en-route to the Cango Caves. Pristine bushveld, lush vegetation and a 5 hectare dam provide a haven for twenty-two game species and more than 217 bird species. In May 2004 this beautiful Nature Reserve became part of the 6th South African World Heritage Sites offering a wealth of endemic plant species. It is our aim to bring the highest quality of service to our guests and to this end we try to anticipate their every need.Buffelsdrift Game Lodge offers 9 waterfront, 16 luxury and 4 family tents each one with en-suite bathroom and private outdoor shower, air-conditioning, mini-bar, digital safe, tea / coffee making facilities and a game viewing deck. We can accommodate a total of 66 guests in our 29 tents either with twin or king size beds. A lookout lounge is situated next to the reception with a large round stone fireplace in the middle, overlooking our dam with the Swartberg Mountain Range in the distance. A charming wedding chapel is situated on the edge of a natural water hole with a wide wooden deck as entrance. The deck is an extension to the A la carte restaurant which creates a beautiful space for wedding guests to take their seats and witness the couple exchanging their wedding vows. Conferencing at Buffelsdrift Game Lodge is quite unique. Our fully equipped conference hall is situated right next to the dam, and also extends onto the deck connecting to the restaurant. Activities offered are Bush Safaris (game drive), Meerkat Safaris, Elephant Excursions and Star Gazing. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Buffelsdrift Game Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Buffelsdrift Game Hotel Oudtshoorn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing