We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Had the most fantastic wedding there....”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Buffelsdrift Game Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 11 December 2013

We visited in April and arranged to have our wedding there on 16th November. The whole slick operation went into overdrive that transformed the place into one special venue....

The heavens had opened the night before and there was real worry that things might have to get changed..... until in walked Beadri (manager of the lodge) with an Irish Coffee to soothe the bride to be nerves.... Everything ran like clockwork....

The food was excellent, the venue clean. The staff are all very friendly and I have never seen a miserable face whenever I have been there. Buffelsdrift are so accommodating that no request is too much..... they even arranged that we could have our photo taken with the elephants....

Thank you so much Beadri and your team on the day. I hope you get lots of bookings and are blessed with many, many years of good fortune.

Room Tip: Any on the dam / water is good and if its hot then the tents either side of the swimming pool. All b...
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buffelsdrift, Manager at Buffelsdrift Game Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 13 December 2013

Thank you very much for your review. It was a privilege to have you and Michelle as a wedding couple at Buffelsdrift Game Lodge – Just as the raindrops started to fall as you walked on the bridge to the Chapel it was like a blessing from Above... The cherry on top was the colourful rainbow when you had the special moment with the balloons traveling to the sky….
You are a wonderful couple and we wish you all the best for your future together.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (900)
There are newer reviews for Buffelsdrift Game Lodge
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

545 - 551 of 900 reviews

Reviewed 11 December 2013

This was a wonderful way to introduce my hubby to game viewing and game lodges / reserves. 2 nights was the perfect amount of time there. The accommodation was amazing, service was incredible and the food was delicious. As a non-red meat eater I was a bit limited in my choices on the menu, but what was available to me was fabulous. Thank you so much to the team for making our stay so memorable, in all the right ways. Great place for a romantic stop during our honeymoon.

Room Tip: We had tent 9 which was right on the water and was the last room on the water's edge. Secluded a...
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JenniferLScholtz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 December 2013

We did the elephant feeding with the 3 Zambian elephants, which was a great experience.
We we explained a lot by the rangers and enjoyed getting so close to these giants.
Definetly a must-do activity when in the area.
Later we had dinner at the lodge. Outstanding quality of food (home made bread and one of the best ostrich fillets I had in SA). Good wine selection with reasonable prices.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Miriam C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 December 2013

This game lodge combines a central restaurant, bar, lounge, curio shop and reception with about 25 high end tented accomodation that are the equivalent of 4 or 5 star hotel rooms. Hard wood flloors, large bath, open shower, comfortable beds, air conditioner all within a large tented structure.
The game drive was interesting and we saw most expected wild life including a lonely rhino, giraffes, gnus, springboks, waterbuck etc. Missed the buffalo. Food in the restaurant was good with excellent service. My ostrich fillet was tough but that happens.

Excellent service with golf carts to run you out to your tents and to the parking area. Another example of excellent service was that when we were having breakfast on the balcony we saw a large turtle and big carp fish around where we were sitting. When we discussed this with our waitress she volunteered to bring some chopped up bread for us to feed the fish, weaver birds and turtles. Fun!

One minor complaint is that when we checked in we were asked if we wanted to go on a game drive in the evening and in the morning but we were not told that there was an extra charge. We would have agreed to the charge but it would have been good to know. We thought it was in the package. Always good to be clear.

So it is not cheap, no South Africans to be seen mostly northern Europeans especially Germans enjoying the atmsophere. But a memorable experience

Room Tip: Near the water though this is noisy in the mornings from the water birds and hippos
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank laings
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 December 2013

Unfortunately I did not have the pleasure to overnight at the resort but have done a Game Drive or Safari that I enjoyed but I had the pleasure to have dined there a few times and this is a MUST DO when ever you in the OUDTSHOORN area, even if you just make a stop to have a beer. Entrance is free so you welcome to drive in and go enjoy a meal or drink. The setting is unbelievable beautiful with the outside deck build around a very large dam where you can see Hippo, lots of very large fish in the ware and maybe a Elephant or two.
But lets get back to the food, for lunch you must try a ROOSTERKOEK, out of this world. You can actually try any thing on the menu. Dinner is some thing else the BUFFET is EXCELLENT as well as the ALA CARD menu, you can try the Venison and Ostrich any time.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank diantours
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 November 2013

When we went to dinner, a hippo appeared across the dam. On our way back to our "tent", a wildebeest was scratching his horns on a bush. The next day a tortoise made his way lazily down the walking path. On our bush drive we saw water buffalo and giraffes (and many deer-like creatures). The food is exquisite. The tents are lavishly appointed, and the beds are very comfy. It IS NOISY at night. You are on a game-reserve and the animals call out to one another. They provide ear plugs, but we slept just fine without. If you are thinking about it, just go.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank traveler2012155017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 November 2013


Even after reading the various reviews , we really didn't know what to expect.
Well, we only spent 1 night there but going on an elephant ride was a lifetime experience.
The day before we fed the 3 elephants who are looked after by a team of lovely guys who make your stay so memorable.
Everyone's accommodation is similar to a normal and nice hotel bedroom and ensuite but under canvas, in your own detached floorboarded tent protected by a wooden frame. The bed was great and the mini bar full.
Most of the tented lodges abutt the lake frequented by lots of birds and 5 or so hippos.
My wife used the bath and for me it was the outside but private attached shower.
We dined at the restaurant which was fine.
There are other activities to do at Buffelsdrift but we didn't have time to try any.
We'll be back

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank phil946443
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Oudtshoorn hotels
4.2 mi away
Hlangana Lodge
Hlangana Lodge
#1 of 9 in Oudtshoorn
492 reviews
9.9 mi away
De Zeekoe Guest Farm
De Zeekoe Guest Farm
#5 of 49 in Oudtshoorn
908 reviews
15.7 mi away
Madi-Madi Karoo Safari Lodge
Madi-Madi Karoo Safari Lodge
#9 of 49 in Oudtshoorn
181 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.7 mi away
Old Mill Country Lodge & Restaurant
8.7 mi away
Chandelier Game Lodge & Ostrich Show Farm
3.4 mi away
Berluda Farmhouse & Cottages
Berluda Farmhouse & Cottages
#4 of 49 in Oudtshoorn
296 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Buffelsdrift Game Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Buffelsdrift Game Lodge

Address: Cango Caves Road | P.O.Box 268, Oudtshoorn 6620, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Oudtshoorn
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 49 Speciality Lodging in Oudtshoorn
Price Range: £94 - £256 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Buffelsdrift Game Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Buffelsdrift Game Lodge is a sprawling game farm situated in the foothills of the Swartberg Mountains in the Cango Valley, Oudtshoorn. Only 5 hours drive from Cape Town and less than an hour's drive from George Airport. This game farm is located 6.5 Km outside of Oudtshoorn, en-route to the Cango Caves. Pristine bushveld, lush vegetation and a 5 hectare dam provide a haven for twenty-two game species and more than 217 bird species. In May 2004 this beautiful Nature Reserve became part of the 6th South African World Heritage Sites offering a wealth of endemic plant species. It is our aim to bring the highest quality of service to our guests and to this end we try to anticipate their every need.Buffelsdrift Game Lodge offers 9 waterfront, 16 luxury and 4 family tents each one with en-suite bathroom and private outdoor shower, air-conditioning, mini-bar, digital safe, tea / coffee making facilities and a game viewing deck. We can accommodate a total of 66 guests in our 29 tents either with twin or king size beds. A lookout lounge is situated next to the reception with a large round stone fireplace in the middle, overlooking our dam with the Swartberg Mountain Range in the distance. A charming wedding chapel is situated on the edge of a natural water hole with a wide wooden deck as entrance. The deck is an extension to the A la carte restaurant which creates a beautiful space for wedding guests to take their seats and witness the couple exchanging their wedding vows. Conferencing at Buffelsdrift Game Lodge is quite unique. Our fully equipped conference hall is situated right next to the dam, and also extends onto the deck connecting to the restaurant. Activities offered are Bush Safaris (game drive), Meerkat Safaris, Elephant Excursions and Star Gazing. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Buffelsdrift Game Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Buffelsdrift Game Hotel Oudtshoorn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing