We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“REVIEW ON EXCELLENT MEAL AT THE RESTAURANT”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Buffelsdrift Game Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
258 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
“REVIEW ON EXCELLENT MEAL AT THE RESTAURANT”
Reviewed 8 June 2014

We did not stay in the Lodge but were able to make a booking to eat at the Restaurant, it was definitely one of the more memorable meals that we had on this particular trip. It was a cool evening but we were well looked after and the Manager managed to seat us in the Chapel area which extends into the lake. Service was excellent and we thoroughly enjoyed our meals. A great feeling of Africa as there are 4 hippos in the lake and whilst we did not see them because the sun had set we certainly heard them. Portions were ample and quality excellent and best of all was the bill as it was below what I was expecting. If visiting Oudtshoorn then do yourself a favour and eat here

Room Tip: When eating in the Restaurant if the weather is good ask to be seated in the Wedding Chapel, lovely...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank StephenXXXXX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

845 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    526
    228
    55
    30
    6
See reviews for
246
434
22
19
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (119)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 May 2014

Having previously visited Buffesldrift in 2009, we were excited to be staying there again this year. However, we were disappointed. The lodge does not offer the same tranquility as before and maintenance on the tents needs to be done. Our tent was not in a very good condition with torn plastic at most windows and broken zippers. It was very cold and wet when were were there and due to the torn plastic, the cold drafts seep in everywhere, forcing us to switch on the air-conditioning to warm up the tent. The air-con is very noisy and as everyone else also had theirs on, instead of nature sounds and birds, all one could hear was noisy air-conditioning units. The family in a tent close to us were there with two small children and as the walls are so thin, they were also making a terrible noise, yelling and screaming all day long. This was very unpleasant. Both the game drives we were booked for, was also cancelled due to the weather, which was another disappointment. The restaurant is still ok and the food was good. I would think twice before visiting Buffelsdrift, If it is peace and serenity you seek, do not go there.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JoMdP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buffelsdrift_GL, Manager at Buffelsdrift Game Lodge, responded to this review, 21 May 2014
It is always a pleasure to have our guests return to Buffelsdrift Game Lodge and relive the wonderful experience in the heart of the Klein Karoo. We would like to apologize for the maintenance of our units not being up to standard. Our maintenance team is currently busy fixing and upgrading the tents. We will also look into the air-con units. The layout and positioning of the tents were designed by a landscape architect, ensuring privacy to each unit. It is difficult to control sound, but we are in the process of building two family units at the end of all the units, ensuring peace of mind to the parents as well as other guests travelling as a couple. All our activities are weather permitting; unfortunately we can plan everything except the weather. We are also disappointed that the game drives were cancelled due to the weather. This was only due to our safety precautions. We always out the safety of our guests first. We are glad that you enjoyed the restaurant and we hope to welcome you back for an experience that will inspire you to keep on visiting our Lodge.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Western Cape, South Africa
Level Contributor
43 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 May 2014

We stayed there 1 night and it was really awesome, we arrived in the late afternoon, it was pouring with rain, the staff were great and quickly transported our luggage to our tents. We had a huge dinner and breakfast which was very well prepared. I went on the game drive in the early morning , it was cold but they supplied us with blankets and coffee so it was great. The staff were all very helpful and it was an awesome experience. I will definitely recommend my travellers to this lodge.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Brenda D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stellenbosch, South Africa
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 May 2014

We had the pleasure of being introduced to this stunning lodge when travelling at the end of April to Oudtshoorn and surrounds. We were booked by live4africa.com. What a surprise. From the first friendly greeting at the gate, driving slowly into the property, to being met by a friendly staff member with a golf cart as your coach to reception and your luxury tented accommodation, in the parking area (vehicles are not allowed in the camp), to the friendly staff at dinner, ready to serve you, we felt very special. At reception you are greeted with a welcome drink, the host explaining all the activities end options available at the lodge

Your coach awaits with your personal driver to take you to your luxury tent (he turned out to be our guide later on the game drive. We booked in at around two o'clock with just enough time to explore the tent and a little "siesta" in the sun on the deck chairs overlooking the dam right below the tent, listening to the hippos in the distance. The game drive leaves at four in the afternoon (and seven the next morning). The tent is well equipped with a king size bed, en suite bathroom and outside shower for the adventurous and a table to write your memoires. The tent even has a little stoep at the entrance with two chairs and a table overlooking the dam. Everything was perfect.

The game drive is informal with a sometimes too enthusiastic guide, but his passion rubs off. We saw Wildebeest, Njala, Waterbuck, Zebras, Buffelo, Giraffes and a Rhino among others. Be prepared for sun-downers at the most beautiful spot overlooking the bush. When you are finished with the game drive you are treated to the best good for value food at the restaurant, I would recommend the lamb neck and or ostrich fillet. One more treat was in store for us on our second day there where we went to feed the elephants, what an emotional experience. The well trained staff make you feel safe the whole time in the presence of these gentle giants. Buffelsdrift is great for a a family with small children as it is safe a safe environment to introduce them to the safari experience. It is good value for money, even for the ordinary South African out there looking for a luxury lodge experience close to Cape Town. We had a wonderful stay. The peacefulness and beauty of the Klein Karoo is indescribable ....go and experience it for yourself ...you wont be sorry !

Room Tip: The luxury tents are right on the waterfront. Ask for number 8 and 9.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DeonLouw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
29 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 May 2014

Stayed in December 2013 for 1 night on our way to Kynsna. What a great place. Loved the tented room, the outdoor shower, and had great views from the terrace.

Great welcome from Staff at reception and generally everyone was great and helpful.

Their red velvet cake is the best :) I would def. stay here again.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mstraveller101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 May 2014

We went for a day trip to Buffelsdrift and was welcomed by the friendly and helpful staff. Feeding the elephants was a memorable experience and do try the venison roosterkoek! The views are breathtaking and a must-visit for anyone passing through Oudtshoorn.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Swys2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lancashire
Level Contributor
38 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 May 2014 via mobile

The waterfront tents are amazing with the outside shower and a view of the water from the bath! We sat on the terrace and soaked up the sun for a few hours whilst reading a book and watching the hippos, plus I had a dip in the pool which was lovely. We had dinner on the restaurant terrace which was good although I would say go for the location and accommodation rather than a dining experience.

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank julesneily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Oudtshoorn hotels
4.2 mi away
Hlangana Lodge
Hlangana Lodge
#1 of 9 in Oudtshoorn
478 reviews
15.7 mi away
Madi-Madi Karoo Safari Lodge
Madi-Madi Karoo Safari Lodge
#8 of 46 in Oudtshoorn
175 reviews
9.9 mi away
De Zeekoe Guest Farm
De Zeekoe Guest Farm
#4 of 46 in Oudtshoorn
887 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.0 mi away
Riverside Lodge
Riverside Lodge
#2 of 46 in Oudtshoorn
308 reviews
9.2 mi away
Thabile Lodge
Thabile Lodge
#1 of 46 in Oudtshoorn
449 reviews
3.4 mi away
Berluda Farmhouse & Cottages
Berluda Farmhouse & Cottages
#5 of 46 in Oudtshoorn
278 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Buffelsdrift Game Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Buffelsdrift Game Lodge

Property: Buffelsdrift Game Lodge
Address: Cango Caves Road | P.O.Box 268, Oudtshoorn 6620, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Oudtshoorn
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 46 Speciality Lodging in Oudtshoorn
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Buffelsdrift Game Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Buffelsdrift Game Lodge is a sprawling game farm situated in the foothills of the Swartberg Mountains in the Cango Valley, Oudtshoorn. Only 5 hours drive from Cape Town and less than an hour's drive from George Airport. This game farm is located 6.5 Km outside of Oudtshoorn, en-route to the Cango Caves. Pristine bushveld, lush vegetation and a 5 hectare dam provide a haven for twenty-two game species and more than 217 bird species. In May 2004 this beautiful Nature Reserve became part of the 6th South African World Heritage Sites offering a wealth of endemic plant species. It is our aim to bring the highest quality of service to our guests and to this end we try to anticipate their every need.Buffelsdrift Game Lodge offers 9 waterfront, 16 luxury and 4 family tents each one with en-suite bathroom and private outdoor shower, air-conditioning, mini-bar, digital safe, tea / coffee making facilities and a game viewing deck. We can accommodate a total of 66 guests in our 29 tents either with twin or king size beds. A lookout lounge is situated next to the reception with a large round stone fireplace in the middle, overlooking our dam with the Swartberg Mountain Range in the distance. A charming wedding chapel is situated on the edge of a natural water hole with a wide wooden deck as entrance. The deck is an extension to the A la carte restaurant which creates a beautiful space for wedding guests to take their seats and witness the couple exchanging their wedding vows. Conferencing at Buffelsdrift Game Lodge is quite unique. Our fully equipped conference hall is situated right next to the dam, and also extends onto the deck connecting to the restaurant. Activities offered are Bush Safaris (game drive), Meerkat Safaris, Elephant Excursions and Star Gazing. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, HRS and Cancelon so you can book your Buffelsdrift Game Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Buffelsdrift Game Hotel Oudtshoorn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing