We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very clean,beautiful gardens”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Altes Landhaus Country Lodge
Ranked #14 of 75 Oudtshoorn B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Bury St Edmunds, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Very clean,beautiful gardens”
Reviewed 14 November 2013

We arrived late afternoon to be warmly greeted and shown to our room which was very spacious and immaculate. Our hosts were very helpful and nothing was too much trouble. We only stayed one night but would happily return again.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tim H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

191 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    139
    37
    8
    5
    2
See reviews for
11
157
1
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Port Elizabeth, South Africa
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 October 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for one night on honeymoon. We stayed at this location to break our journey to knysna. The accomodation is set in a remote area however the gardens surrounding are fantastically maintained with a nice pool area. There was only one other couple staying at the location on the same night. On checking in we were greeted by a bunch of swallows that had based themselves in a nest in the hall way of the house!!! Land lady did not seem too preturbed by this and simply laughed it off. We were asked at 3pm did we intend eating in the restaurant that night and as the accomodation is quiet a distance from oudstoorn we decided to dine on site. However we were told we had to place our order for the dinner which was at 7.30pm there and then which we thought was extremely odd. The room we stayed in was well furnished but was extremely cold.

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Engynumber2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zug, Switzerland
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 October 2013

We got there in the afternoon and wanted to ask if they still had availability for one night. We were given a short, rude reply that sounded like "why the heck did you disturb my peace". Well, we certaintly won't disturb your peace ever again. Found great and extremely friendly accommodation at Montana Lodge, right next door.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Karin6300
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 May 2013

On our arrival the first thing we were greeted with was' you're the only people staying so we have closed the kitchen so you'll have to travel a 30 kilometre round trip to get food, although we will give you breakfast'. Our thoughts were that wether there are two or twenty we are paying 5* prices so should get 5* treatment. We were shown to our rooms which were very nice then given a key to the 'lounge' as again because we were the only people staying the one member of staff who was there could probably not be bothered to open it!! It smelt damp and wasn't very inviting so only used the fridge to store wine as with having to drive for our evening meal we couldn't drink. The breakfast they did supply us with looked like the cooked meats had been lying around for days and on ordering a full English it was running with grease so not sure who cooked it but it was disgusting, on our second morning we only had toast and made a quick exit. All in all a very disappointing stay.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank susanvass1954
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 10 May 2013

A most wonderful experience for my partner (Helena & I) staying at Helen Meyer's wonderful country lodge in Oudtshoorn, SA January last, even though it was for only one night, she made us so welcome, everything was absolutely wonderful, the room, the view, the pool, the weather & of course the sumptuous food, dinner & breakfast were magnificent, it being a small world Helen re-counted her time spent in North London during the 70's & all of us remembered those days, events & locations very well (well we both live in that part of the world) overall I/we would recommend this wonderful place to stay, our one regret, we didn't stay long enough, next time, we will!!

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Simon H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 March 2013

Wonderful old country house in superbly landscaped gardens. Our room was large and well appointed, with a lovely terrace on which to relax with a glass of wine after a day of sightseeing.
The restaurant does not do justice to the high standards of the lodge, with the menu being limited, which presents challenges when staying more than 1 night.

Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank 979steve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kildare
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 March 2013

I was a bit disappointed when arriving in Outshoorn after Plett. Its a big contrast with Oudtshoorn having a frontier town type vibe. However that didn't last long and we totally enjoyed our two nights in Oudtshoorn.

Altes Landhaus is an exceptional property with lovely rooms, food and a genial and friendly host in Helen. They were really nice to us on our honeymoon and we couldn't have hoped for a nicer place to say. We ate in the restaraunt one night and the local cuisine was possibly the best food we ate in SA and that is saying something.

Loads to do in Oudtshoorn such as the Ostrich farm (who knew they were so interesting), the Cango Range (a fancy zoo!), the Swarberg Pass (amazing views though sadly was cloudy at the top when we got there) and the Cango Caves (beware the adventure route, it is a big challenge but very rewarding). We also had dinner in Kalinka in the town, 5 star food but really reasonable.

All in all, a bit surprise. Altes Landhaus is a perfect setting to unwind. Would love to go back someday.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Megafan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Oudtshoorn hotels
7.2 mi away
Hlangana Lodge
Hlangana Lodge
#1 of 9 in Oudtshoorn
485 reviews
11.7 mi away
Swartberg Country Manor
Swartberg Country Manor
#2 of 9 in Oudtshoorn
178 reviews
7.1 mi away
Rosenhof Country House
Rosenhof Country House
#6 of 75 in Oudtshoorn
302 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.5 mi away
Pictures Guest House
Pictures Guest House
#5 of 75 in Oudtshoorn
301 reviews
3.8 mi away
Buffelsdrift Game Lodge
Buffelsdrift Game Lodge
#3 of 46 in Oudtshoorn
860 reviews
12.5 mi away
De Zeekoe Guest Farm
De Zeekoe Guest Farm
#4 of 46 in Oudtshoorn
894 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Altes Landhaus Country Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Altes Landhaus Country Lodge

Property: Altes Landhaus Country Lodge
Address: | P.O. Box 1491, Oudtshoorn 6620, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Oudtshoorn
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 75 B&Bs / Inns in Oudtshoorn
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Altes Landhaus Country Lodge 5*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Altes Landhaus Country Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Altes Landhaus Country Hotel Oudtshoorn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing