We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Lodge with great service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Altes Landhaus Country Lodge
Ranked #13 of 77 Oudtshoorn B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 18 May 2014

Unfortunately we had bad weather when staying in this country lodge.
It has amazing big and comfortable rooms.
The garden very beautiful and well kept . A nice and WARM swimming pool.
Very nice welcome by Helen and her team and dogs.
We enjoyed a nice dinner with great wines. Just a pity the weather was wet and cold.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marina C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (212)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

122 - 128 of 212 reviews

Reviewed 16 April 2014

Having stayed at the Rosendal Winery for the last two nights, our next destination was Altes Landhaus Country Lodge.

Set in some 37 hectares, this boutique hotel is a typical old colonial ranch. Huge rooms, exceptionally well appointed, beautiful gardens and views that can be stared at for hours.

Our room was equally huge, with a separate sitting area and a bathroom that was a delight. To top it all, a decanter of complimentary sherry was waiting for us on arrival.

If there's anything to niggle, it would be the evening meals. Bear in mind we'd just arrived from an hotel where the chef had worked in many top Michelin Star restaurants so any cooking would be under scrutiny. In comparison it's home cooking, yet the salads are quite excellent.

The staff and owners are so attentive and delightful. Nothing was too much effort, and if we were using Wi-Fi other than in our room, fresh tea and coffee was presented at no charge.

A glorious time.

Room Tip: If using GPS, ensure you choose the Altes Landhaus Country Lodge. There are others with similar name...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GreatPapaBear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2014

We arrived, after a long drive and unfortunatley not good weather but were made very welcome by Helen and her team.

Our room (booked as a honeymoon couple) was vast with a verandah over looking the gardens. There were somne lovely touches - and one of the smallest but made such a difference was a vacuum flask of iced water.

We did not eat only because we had broken our long journey with a late lunch and we could not eat any more. Breakfast was excellent.

Sadly for us the weather broke and we had torrential rain - the first we understand for 4 months - so we did not visit the local caves or farm.

We would recomment for a quiet break on route

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Norfolk27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 March 2014 via mobile

We stayed here only 1 night during our road trip but wished we had stayed longer. The rooms were well appointed & very tastefully decorated, with a fabulous bathroom & shower. The gardens were stunning & the service was friendly and helpful. They even cleaned our car. Food was also lovely. The only thing that would have improved things was if the owner had let me depart with one of her fantastic Rhodesian Ridgeback dogs!
Highly, highly recommended but be aware that it is outside town so if you want bright lights, this is not for you. I will be returning.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
1  Thank DeirdreW1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 February 2014

We were booked in here by Trailfinders after options were fully booked. How lucky! Our suite was exquisite - we have never enjoyed such luxury even in apparently 5 star "international" hotels and our meals wonderful. It is a small country house and all the meals are effectively cooked to order - under those circumstances, I have no problem deciding in advance what I would like to eat - rather like at home! That said, when we did arrive back from a long trip to the Caves, over the Swartberg Pass and Prince Alfred, we ordered our dinner from the menu shortly before sitting down, and that was no problem, If, like us, you are "doing" Cape Town, the Garden Route and an Eastern Cape safari, stay here at least 3 nights (we only did 2). You can easily spend two days exploring the area, and an extra day "chilling" in the wonderful grounds, and by the exquisite pool at Altes Landhaus would be well deserved!

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MikJen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2014

.............words which truly reflect the delights of Altes Landhaus Country Lodge. Add to that the exquisite, lush, almost tropical gardens and you have the perfect South African holiday destination. Unfortunately, we were only booked to stay for two nights but the welcome and service we received from Helen and her staff was outstanding and made us wish we were there for longer. Our spacious room, the honeymoon suite, complete with its net-draped, four poster bed, luxurious bathroom and every facility you could wish for, afforded two quiet and comfortable nights. Sipping afternoon tea on the verandah we felt like a couple of tea planters viewing the extensive, luxuriant gardens. The house and surrounds are just beautiful with a mix of interesting African and collector's artefacts, wicker chairs positioned in quiet little places enabling one to sit and enjoy the gardens and a spacious, partially open dining area where breakfast and dinner may be taken. On our second night, we were the only guests staying so arrangements were made by Helen to have us collected and driven to a nearby restaurant where we dined. The Lodge is only a short drive from the Kango Caves and in the nearby village is an excellent ostrich farm which is well worth a visit. Altes Landhaus is definitely to be recommended.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Richard P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 January 2014

We returned for a second time and were warmly greeted by Helen the owner. This hotel is one of the cleanest hotels we have ever stayed in . The suite was outstanding and the gardens were as beautiful as ever. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and look forward to returning soon.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sharon B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Oudtshoorn hotels
7.3 mi away
Hlangana Lodge
Hlangana Lodge
#1 of 9 in Oudtshoorn
515 reviews
11.7 mi away
Swartberg Country Manor
Swartberg Country Manor
#2 of 9 in Oudtshoorn
204 reviews
7.2 mi away
Rosenhof Country House
Rosenhof Country House
#5 of 77 in Oudtshoorn
329 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.2 mi away
La Plume
La Plume
#6 of 77 in Oudtshoorn
474 reviews
8.2 mi away
La Pension Guest House
La Pension Guest House
#2 of 77 in Oudtshoorn
554 reviews
12.5 mi away
De Zeekoe Guest Farm
De Zeekoe Guest Farm
#5 of 52 in Oudtshoorn
950 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Altes Landhaus Country Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Altes Landhaus Country Lodge

Address: | P.O. Box 1491, Oudtshoorn 6620, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Oudtshoorn
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 77 B&Bs / Inns in Oudtshoorn
Price Range: £102 - £139 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Altes Landhaus Country Lodge 5*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com and HotelsClick so you can book your Altes Landhaus Country Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Altes Landhaus Country Hotel Oudtshoorn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing