We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect retreat”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
De Zeekoe Guest Farm
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 18 July 2012

We enjoyed a night in Oudtshoorn and had wanted it to be a bit longer. A very friendly welcome and lots of information on what can be done in the area. The place has a very homely feeling, with many home made things. We had a rainy day but could enjoy dinner and breakfast. The farm is a bit out of town as you would expect, but instead offers the rural peace and quiet.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AlvinZug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (907)
There are newer reviews for De Zeekoe Guest Farm
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

519 - 525 of 907 reviews

Reviewed 17 July 2012

There is nothing that you could ask for more at De Zeekoe, all the little details are there, from local sherry to electric blankets. The staff are welcoming and friendly, dinners are awesome with lovely views. Perfect for a stopover or a few days to see the local sights.

Room Tip: Most rooms have lovely views, if travelling with children ask for a bigger room.
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travelbabe40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PaulaOudtshoorn, Owner at De Zeekoe Guest Farm, responded to this reviewResponded 18 July 2012

Good day Travelbabe40,

Thank you for you review and we hope you will visit us again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2012

As a base for the meerkat experience - fine. As a hotel/guest farm - abysmal. The room was truly awful, the food in the restaurant extremely poor and the welcome and departure well below standard. Very disappointing, as are the dismissive and complacent management comments of the less favourable reviews of their customers' experiences. Enjoy the meerkats but consider staying somewhere else, although the choice is somewhat restricted.

Room Tip: Don't stay in the bridal suite!!!
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gary L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2012

I can only imagine the one bad review was from another competitor in the local area who is having trouble keeping up with the standards at De Zeekoe. My husband and I stayed here on our way though The Garden Route. Our only mistake was we should haved booked two nights instead of 1 . Customer service excellent, as we travelled in Sth Africa winter they also went to the trouble of supplying cosy blankets for our laps if req during meal times and lovely romantic fires too. Also timed electric blankets for the evenings and offered hot water bottles if req!!! Food can only be described as Fine Dining 5 * !!!!! Helpful staff who made my 50th bday so special with their attention to detail. Owners really friendly and very informative, I will definitely visit again for longer and also in summer to enjoy their beautiful garden/ pool too. Don't miss out on an amazing peaceful place :)

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GitaTaylor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 11 July 2012

Good evening Gita,
Thank you for your positive review. We do strive to do our best and appreciate all the feedback as it is vital for our success and growth. Looking forward to welcome you to De Zeekoe Guest Farm in the near future. Warm wishes Kristy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2012

Really not sure where Sassy Sue was, it can't have been the same place we stayed on 7th June. We booked direct from the De Zeekoe web site, knowing it was a farm location - and everything went smoothly from there - in fact, exactly as it says on the tin. We were welcomed on arrival by Paula herself as the normal receptionist was on a day off. The rooms all seem to be beautifully appointed, we almost got to choose ours ourselves because the boys had been allocated a double rather than a twin. Sorted straight away. The rooms are nicer than some top class hotels we've seen - very clean and comfortable, even in the klein-karoo mid-winter, with some nice feminine finishing touches to the presentation - and all for the price of a B&B. The winter chill in the big dining room was being combated by a huge feature gas fire and Paula herself served us a lovely dinner. The wine we chose was excellent. It was great to be able to eat good food on site and not have to go out in search of something nice. In the morning we were away before the crack of dawn to see the meerkats who were feeling lazy in the cold weather, so we didn't return until well after 10am. Magic, Paula has kept breakfast open for us. Africaans may be her first language but hey, what a lady, so keen to please, and lovely to speak to in English as well!! We checked out late by the way - no problems. Did I mention Meerkats? What an entertainment Devey Glinister provides. Our only regret about De Zeekoe is that we didn't have time to stay longer. Well done Paula.

Room Tip: Speak to Paula.
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Martin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 5 July 2012

Hi Martin
Thank you for your positive feedback .
We at De ZEEKOE always strife to make our customers stay as memorable as possible .
Regards
Paula Potgieter(owner)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2012

We stayed at De Zeekoe Guest Farm and highly recommend it! It's unbelievable that there's a single negative review about this wonderful place. Owners Paula and Pottie Potgieter are excellent hosts, more than willing to share their knowledge of the area, which leads to some wonderful experiences.

We loved the large, beautifully-appointed plush rooms, which open up to a huge balcony overlooking the majestic Outeniqua Mountains. With dusty plains reminiscent of a game reserve, guests can enjoy spotting over 250 species of birds or the not-to-be-missed Meerkat Adventure Tour, an undoubted highlight. We also saw the more rustic, but no less luxurious self-catering cabins, set against one of the farm dams, perfect for a romantic getaway, a nature escape or for those seeking solitude and quiet reflection.

Paula is very eco-conscious, which means they have a natural swimming pool, solar panels and an organic veggie garden. It was definitely one of the highlights of our trip through South Africa!

Room Tip: Choose the cabins if you're an outdoorsy, keep to yourself kind of person, or looking for a real...
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mlhandrews
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 5 July 2012

Thank you for your feeedback .

We are even more inspired by positive reviews like yours ,will keep up the good work .

We love to share our African experiences and our knowledge of the country with our guests .

Enjoy the ride !

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2012

A short stint to Oudtshoorn let my daughter and me to De Zeekoe again. It is an old favorite so it was an easy decision. Two years ago we spent a family weekend here. This time we had a chance to stay in one of the new rooms, beautiful bathrooms with outside shower! - pity that it was way too cold! (middle of June) I had a good steak for dinner and my daughter had home made chicken pie and finished it all !!! For breakfast we had a great variety and good coffee for me and pancakes for her.
We will be back and I hope it will not be another two years.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cascade_Manor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Oudtshoorn hotels
5.6 mi away
Hlangana Lodge
Hlangana Lodge
#1 of 9 in Oudtshoorn
492 reviews
9.9 mi away
Buffelsdrift Game Lodge
Buffelsdrift Game Lodge
#3 of 49 in Oudtshoorn
897 reviews
4.9 mi away
Riverside Lodge
Riverside Lodge
#2 of 49 in Oudtshoorn
320 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.8 mi away
Thabile Lodge
Thabile Lodge
#1 of 49 in Oudtshoorn
454 reviews
16.7 mi away
Rietfontein Ostrich Palace
Rietfontein Ostrich Palace
#10 of 49 in Oudtshoorn
153 reviews
13.8 mi away
Old Mill Country Lodge & Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to De Zeekoe Guest Farm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about De Zeekoe Guest Farm

Address: Route 328, Oudtshoorn | P.O. Box 226, Oudtshoorn 6620, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Oudtshoorn
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 49 Speciality Lodging in Oudtshoorn
Price Range: £47 - £274 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — De Zeekoe Guest Farm 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Only 7km outside Oudtshoorn, in the Garden Route, surrounded by the famous Swartberg and Outeniqua mountains, is one of the world's 17 "hot spots" with 3 overlapping flower zones. Surrounded by variety attractions like ostrich farms, longest wine route in the world (R 62), Cango caves, Wildlife ranch, waterfalls and museums, makes this the ideal destination for a visit or a stay over in the Klein Karoo. This owner managed, 3000 hectare working lusern farm, is malaria free, and child friendly. De Zeekoe offers a unique in the world opportunity to walk with Wild Meerkats (Meerkat adventures) and to be part of the shy 5 experience!From self catering to luxurious accommodation. De Zeekoe offers the following:• Wild Meerkat tours, home to the "shy five"• Accommodation: From Standard to Superior rooms ( 21 ) Rooms with views of mountains and gardens; 4 Waterfront cabins ; 3 x Private cottages with own pool. Wheelchair friendly rooms• Restaurant with fresh farm produce and free range meat• Cocktail Bar * Biking - bikes to rent• Community project with local school• Fishing - own equipment• Hiking• Going green with recycling , solar panels etc• Birding ( 162 species ) - private bird tours• Canoeing• Self guided walks• Massage relax zone - pre book• Swimming pool ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your De Zeekoe Guest Farm reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
De Zeekoe Guest Farm Hotel Oudtshoorn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing